We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I like the location in Wailea and the overall design of the hotel as all rooms are suites. The pool and beach are a re large and there was no issue getting lounges and towels. The shuttle service was very convenient to go to the golf courses. The decor of the rooms is showing its age as it has not changed in at least 7 years. It was very noisy due to the abundance of children who seemed to be in the pool from before 7 AM to after 7 PM screaming at the top of their lungs. Food and drink service at the pool could have been better with better menu selection and faster service. The internet service was terrible, constantly cutting out and very slow to download text and e-mails. This is not a try "luxury" hotel experience which is what one would expect from a Fairmont Hotel, particularly given the room price which approached $900/night between the room charge, the resort charge and all the taxes added on.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank erich802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

We’re so sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent experience. We strive to provide attentive service and a pristine resort environment and apologize that we fell short for you. Please be assured that our previous room remodel was in 2010, and we are again updating all suites and villas this year. While some areas of the resort are typically more family-friendly, we hope you had the chance to enjoy our adults-only pool, which typically offers more of a quiet/serene environment. Thank you for your review and feedback. We hope you will consider returning so we can provide the luxury experience for which we are known. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,549 - 2,555 of 4,547 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having stayed in the Gold Rooms @ Chateau Whistler we had a certain expectation for this stay, unfortunately there was no comparison. Lobby Bar was worn out and dirty,kids laying in day beds with wet bathing suits, food mostly inedible and grossly overpriced. Won't be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
4  Thank Diane708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Aloha, Diane, and mahalo for taking the time to write your review. We sincerely apologize that our resort did not meet your expectations and that you left feeling disappointed. Please know that your comments are taken very seriously and have been reviewed with our leadership team. We hope you will give us another chance in the future to provide the luxury experience you deserve. Best wishes and warmest aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Beautiful hotel with spectacular views to the ocean. Excellent service with accommodating and attentive staff. Will go the extra mile to make your stay completely enjoyable. Certainly a first class Maui Experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
4  Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Recently had a one week stay, was very pleased about our stay. Fantastic setting, great rooms, great restos especially Nick's. Overall service level of staff excellent. Valet parking and shuttle staff very friendly, accomodating. Special mention to Yvette at the concierge counter. Very helpful, helped us planned a great day for a one day excursion to Hana. Perfect setting if you are looking for a large hotel, but not excessive compared to some of the neighbouring hotels. One opportunity for improvement would be a bit of entertainment at night, maybe one event for the week. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Aloha and thank you for your terrific review. It’s outstanding to learn that your expectations were exceeded during your recent visit. Thank you for recognizing Yvette - we hope your day trip to Hana was memorable. Please know that your suggestions about evening entertainment have been passed along to the team. Best wishes and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have stayed in many five star hotels. The Fairmont in Maui is at the very top. The location was truly Hawaiian. The staff were helpful and extremely friendly. And nothing but five star for the morning breakfast and fantastic view

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent 8 nights at the Fairmont Kea Lani, everything was perfect. It clearly is well managed. All staff were experienced, knowledgeable, worked well together and very friendly. There are both adult and children specific pools. The restaurants and bars are fabulous. There are many spots situated around the hotel to relax. Even though it's a large hotel, it feels more like a boutique establishment. All rooms are suites, there is complementary laundry (washer/dryer) on each floor, and parking is either self or valet. They've thought of everything.

Room Tip: Room with view- if traveling as a couple request room in building away from kiddie pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpro2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Aloha, travelpro2007! It's extremely gratifying to know that you had a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation. We’re especially pleased that our staff contributed to making it so memorable and that you enjoyed the many amenities of the resort. We can’t wait to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Wow! What is not to love about the Kea Lani? We loved our 6 day stay here in april 2014!

What we liked: Just about everything!
*It was our anniversary ajd my husbands birthday and our first time in maui. I'm a fairmont club membef which we highly recommend signing up for for free and some extra perks including an upgrade if available. We did not stay in peak season and were offered an amazing upgrade! We stayed in a fairmont signature suite ocean view top floor. Oh my, did this make our stay even more special!
All rooms are suites and our room was beautiful and we had a wrap around lanai that we used every morning and evening, with panoramic views of the ocean. More than made up for the lack of use of our previous lanai, ocean front, in kaanapali because of the allowed smoking on top and bottom floor lanais. So we were in absolute heaven here! Even without the wrap around lanai, the lanais are large with great views. Loved the large spaciousness of the suites, smelled wonderful-no musty smell being close to the beach. Loved that it had a microfridge, microwave, spa like bath, everything.

*ITS smoke free except for three designated areas they tell you about at check in in case younwish to utilize or avoid.

*check in was a breeze and a whirlwind. Bell and valet were expecting us and wisked us out of our car, took out our bags, and escorted us to check in where we were greeted with warm aloha spirit, fresh orchid and kukui nut leis, cold delicious fruit juice, fabulous upgrade (yeah for off season!), and about 5 minutes later we were in our gorgeous room.

*Interesting arabic type structure of the hotel. And all white. We actually thought the architecture and coconut palms and lush hawaiian landscaping blended well together. Better than expected.

*Loved the Koi ponds, pools, bridges over the pools. They were just lovely and lots of them. We enjoyed the swim up bar in a family pool by PoloGrill and took the slide down to the bottom family pool. The slide was better thanexpected, fun. The water, however, was freezing and we just could not get used to it. The adult only infinity pool however was comfortable warm. Loved this pool. One of the most beautiful I've seen and a deep azure blue. Pool side service was ok. Loved the offering of a cold scented towel and stations of sunscreen, after sun lotion, cold water, plenty of towels with no towel cards needed.

*LOVED Polo Beach and appreciated the activities center at the beach. A real plus is that staff will set up complimentary lounge chairs and umbrellas for guests. A nice 4S touch that leaves you feeling relaxed and pampered. You can also rent sups and kayaks, at a premium price of course. We were pleasantly suprised by an extensive reef between wailea and polo beaches for snorkeling or viewing sealife from a sup or kayak. Saw huge honu that would suddenly out of no where just casually swim by, awesome. But we were disappointed in the snorkeling having snorkeled at the big island before. No comparison! But to be fair, we did not get to snorkel a lot in maui due to weather. Loved our time on this beautiful beach!

*Loved the convenience of the Fairmont Shuttle to avoid parking hassles at nearby restaurants, resorts, and shopping. We tipped each time and was totally worth it as the drivers would show up within 5 to 10 minutes and had great aloha spirit, so carefree for us! They have several shuttle (nice gmc suv's, white of course) with 24/7 service.

*Loved the consistency of friendly, interested, professional staff most with great aloha spirit and really seemed to their jobs. This was not consistent with the previous hotel we stayed at in kaanapali which bills itself as the most hawaiian hotel. We would say that the Fairmont with its arabic archtecture far beat them out on a hawaiian feel because of their consistent aloha spirit.

*Went to Nicks and Ko's for happy hour. Loved the service and drinks at both. We thought happy hour food was far superior at Ko's. Polo Grill crab spring roll was suprisingly good. Drinks poolside were small, pricey, but good as long as you didn't have the female bartender that put so much ice in our blended drinks it really watered down what otherwise were delicious drinks.

*I went to the newly renovated Willow Stream Spa (I will review later) for the mud bar and specialty showers twice (for a small fee being a fairmont member and current guest). The mud bath is a simple process but I thoroughly enjoyed it and have never had softer skin and found my sunburns relieved.

*rooms were very quite even with several functions each evening. Beds co mfortable. Housekeeping great.

What we didn't like: not much.
I think I've addressed little nicks here and there but nothing that would keep us from going back as soon as possible! Our biggest complaint, and it really did annoy us and several guests daily each time were pool side, was the plethera of expensive cabanas (most empy) and the dearth of available complimentary poolside loungers (all full of course) so you are pressured to rent a near $200 per day cabana if you want a poolside experience. This doesmnot leave a guest already paying premium prices feeling relaxed and pampered. I really wish they would release whatever philosophy they have for this and pay more attention to this consistent criticism of guests. Really our only complaint, but its a big one.

Overall, we immensly enjoyed our stay and hope to be back next year. Btw, we thought the Kea Lani grounds and resort were more beautiful than the 4S and loved the peacefulness compared to the craziness of the Grande Wailea.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newlywed0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Aloha, newlywed0816 and thank you for choosing The Fairmont Kea Lani to celebrate two very special occasions! We greatly appreciate your thorough review and appreciate you sharing all the small details that make our resort unique, especially your visit to the Willow Stream Spa! We work hard to provide our guests with exceptional and memorable experiences, so we are extremely pleased to know that you were touched by our staff's aloha spirit. We apologize that the poolside rental cabanas had such a negative impact on your poolside experience , so please know your feedback will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Best wishes and aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
23.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $482 - $2,127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing