We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our GO-TO Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our GO-TO Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is truly one-of-a-kind. The atmosphere, as soon as you enter the hotel is what you alway picture in your mind that Maui would be like. Pool-Beach-Food-Rooms are all excellent...but the staff makes the hotel the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Wow, Allan, we are truly flattered to be called one-of-a-kind! It’s fantastic that you had such a wonderful experience and that the hotel was everything you imagined. It is very rewarding to learn that the friendliness of our staff contributed to your vacation. Thank you again and warmest aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,994
    771
    234
    101
    41
See reviews for
1,534
1,600
49
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We arrived at the Kea Lani for Spring Break after a very long and exhausting winter in Chicago! This hotel is incredible from the minute you get there to the minute you leave! The grounds of the hotel are absolutely stunning and the way the hotel is situated, it is high up and you look out to the Pacific from every view! The way the grounds are manicured is incredible! Restaurants were fabulous, pools were fabulous, and the walks poolside along the beach up to Kihei were jaw dropping! Saw three whales playing in the water just off the coastline! I can't wait to have the opportunity to go back. Our favorite meal of the entire trip was a Nick's Fishmarket. Love the staff and service...this one is memorable!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Aloha Kay! Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Kea Lani for your spring break vacation. We work hard to provide our guests with exceptional service and memorable experiences, so we are extremely pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay. What a treat to see whales playing right off the shore! Please come visit us again soon. Mahalo and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We love the Fairmont at Kea Lani, Maui! It is a great location and the property offers all that you will need for a wonderful experience. The staff is very attentive! We will return when we are in Maui!




  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your wonderful review, Tami. We’re thrilled you had an amazing experience and enjoyed all the resort has to offer. Mahalo for your kind comment regarding our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Polo Beach right off the hotel is a great spot for both snorkeling and giving that if that is something that interests you. Had a wonderful, relaxing time. The only main challenge was that the pool cabanas get booked up far in advance so it is hard to find a good spot that is covered near the pool. I wish someone told me to reserve the cabanas ahead of time, as I burn easily and prefer some coverage from the sun. Otherwise, great service and vacation!

Room Tip: Ask if you can get an ocean front... the view is super relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cameleon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Aloha cameleon12. It’s outstanding to learn that you had such relaxing vacation with us. However, we apologize that a poolside cabana was not available for you during your stay. Please be assured that your feedback will be shared with the team to better communicate cabana rentals to guests prior to their arrival. We truly hope to welcome you back again in the future. Mahalo for your review and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have stayed at the Kea Lani several times over the past 18 years. It has aged a bit, but the smaller resort, lack of crowds and personal service tops any of the other places we have stayed while in Maui. We've went as a couple and as a family with our kids. It's a peaceful, calm resort, exactly what we look for when we go on vacation. The Wailea area is quiet and serene. The beds are comfy and the rooms spacious with beautiful ocean front views. The breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of choices. The pool service is great with attendants coming around with complimentary cool towels, ice water and pineapple. Beach attendants carry complimentary lounge chairs and umbrellas to your desired spot. We highly recommend this resort and we look forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: Ocean front is worth the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Mahalo for your amazing review and for being loyal repeat guests! It's very gratifying to learn that The Fairmont Kea Lani is exactly what you are looking for when planning your family vacation to Maui. Thank you for recognizing our staff's high level of service and for recommending the resort to future guests. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon. Aloha and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We took a family trip (myself, husband and son age 16 and daughter age 9) Feb/March 2014. This place was spectacular from the moment we arrived. You will be greeted in the magnificently appointed lobby with lei's for the ladies and a Kuhkuhi nut necklace for the guys. You will be amazed by the stunning ocean view when you enter. This is a great place to watch the Maui sunsets as well. The bell hop will take your bags to your room and give you an overview of the hotel. Every person we encountered was so friendly and helpful. The concierge staff is outstanding and will help you with everything you can think of. If any of you are golfers feel free to leave your clubs at home because the Kea Lani has clubs that they will check out to you FREE OF CHARGE! My husband and son used new Taylor Made's the whole time we were there. Also, some of the golf courses in Wailea will give you a discount for being a Kea Lani guest so take advantage. While I'm on the subject of golf, I would like to recommend the David Leadbetter golf academy at Wailea Golf club which is very close to the resort. My husband and son did a mini camp there and enjoyed it immensely. They learned a lot about what they need to do to improve their game. Oh...and in the lobby near the elevator there is a sofa table with COMPLIMENTARY fresh water and fresh mango black iced tea to refresh yourself with!
Room: Our room was a King suite with a partial ocean view and was very roomy for the 4 of us. The bathroom is huge and gorgeous and features a walk in shower. The room was very clean and has nightly turn down service. Just so you know, the housekeepers turn on music in your room and turn on the some of the lights during turn down service. I didn't know about the service and the first night it gave us a bit of a scare because we thought someone was in the room!
Food: The food is very pricey at all the restaurants. The breakfast buffet cost us I think $116. It is a large buffet but pretty over priced. The deli is the place to hit if to save some money. You can order food poolside. Not cheap either. Room service is outrageous. My kids ordered 2 cookies and it cost $22! Good cookies though! The restaurants e.g Koi and Nick's Fish Market are beautiful and delicious. You can watch the famous Maui sunsets from them as well.
Grounds: The grounds are well manicured and clean. Nice sidewalk leading down to the beach. Beautiful flowers and trees.
Pools: I didn't go to the adult pool but the other pools were great. Never crowded. Great swim up bar and bar staff. My kids spent hours in the pool! The pool hut offers free sunscreen! Help yourself to the clean dispenser (I keep saying clean but clean is of utmost importance to me). This is spa quality sunscreen and is smells really nice.
Beach: Very clean and spacious. The "beach boys" will set up your chairs and put towels on them for you if you would like. They are there for the safety of the patrons as well. Never has a shortage of chairs or a spot to squat on. Nice waves for knee boarding, body surfing. You can see whales jump from your seat on the beach or by the pool during whale season! They were within half a mile or so of the beach. Spectacular!
Spa: Although I did not personally take advantage of it, members of our group did and raved about it. Expensive...yep but everything in Wailea is expensive.
I could ramble on forever about this resort because it really is spectacular and I want to go back every year. My kids had never seen the tropical ocean before and they fell in love with Maui and this resort. If only I could grow extra kidneys to sell on Ebay to finance it! So..if you can afford to stay at the resort you won't be disappointed. It is amazing! Oh...I forgot to mention that Patrick Monahan (lead singer of Train) was staying at this resort when we were there. I'm sure he stayed in one of the beachside villas which cost a fortune but he and his family and friends hung out in the pool just like regular people. You never know who you might see at this resort!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank chicaRosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Aloha, chicaRosy. Thank you very much for your very detailed review and all of the great tips for our future guests. It’s wonderful that your family enjoyed the all services and amenities of the resort, especially the use of the TaylorMade Golf Clubs (a benefit of being a Fairmont Presidents Club member - completely free loyalty program). We sincerely appreciate you recognizing the friendliness of our staff and will share with the team. We'll see you again very soon. Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Wonderful staff,. The rooms are suites with a bedroom and living area. The bathrooms are large with shower, tub and separate toilet area. Very comfortable. The food in restaurants is expensive, but the deli is wonderful and we were able to purchase our breakfast and lunch for very reasonable. The restaurants provide fresh and local fish and fruits and vegetables - very good food. The concierge was very helpful in planning extra curricular activities. You can't go wrong at this hotel! Enjoy!

The location is beautiful. Beach is lovely. Family and Adult Pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank K. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Aloha K.H. and thank you for your kind review. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the comforts of the suite, the location of the hotel and the fresh local cuisine. It’s so nice to know our concierge team assisted you in exploring all that the island has to offer – your kind comments will be shared! We hope that you will visit us again. Mahalo and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
23.6 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing