We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience, Highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience, Highly Recommend”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was amazing from start to finish. The rooms are beautiful (and much larger than rooms at the Four Seasons next door) and most have great views. The concierge and staff in general were extremely friendly and helpful, taking an interest in knowing all of their guests. The beach is by far one of the best beaches in that section and the restaurants are incredible.

We went there on our honeymoon which was wonderful but also noticed a lot if families.

Definitely take advantage of daily activities and salt water pools.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Snavin527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,213
    804
    256
    107
    43
See reviews for
1,705
1,687
51
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The lobby and the surrounding areas are astonishing and offer a great view into the ocean. The friendless and professionalism of the staff shows that the staff training is very good.

The rooms are big, the two double double bed was enough space to sleep with a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teens). The living room offers enough space for a family to sit and watch TV and a working desk for office needs. The balcony is also huge and offers a great Mountain view or Sea view. A small downside is that the carpet in the room is quite dirty and should be changed soon. We realized it because we use to walk around bare footed and then in the bathroom we saw how black our foot sole became.

The bathroom is huge and the shower area is hidden but so well organized that no water splashes out into the main bathroom area. The bath tub is also great. A big plus is that the bathroom is accessable from the living room and from the bedroom. But a small minus is that that there is only one bathroom, might be a tight for a family of 4.

Pools are a bit small but there are 3 of them to choose from. If you plan to stay the entire day at the pool think about renting a Cabanna for 150$.

The beach is also in an private atmosphere and offeres great sunset experiences. From the beach you can walk along and walk to the other Wailea hotels like Four Seasons, Grand Wailea and the Marriott.

The location has all its benefits being in Wailea and close to all Wailea related locations. With Kihei (next bigger town) in 10 min driving distance you find all needs like a 24-hours grocery shop (safeway - Walmart similar big shop) and the all existing ABC Store (in Waikiki area you find them every 200 meters). With a big free parking there is no stress of parking. Anyway a car is recommended in Maui to get around.

The restaurants are great but a bit expensive (but it is normal for a 5-star hotel in Maui). The breakfast buffet is also ok, have seen better ones in South East Asia but no complains at all.

Overall it was a great experience in Maui and would certainly return. The price-performance ratio is a different thing but in general Hawaii is a much more expensive location than South East Asia for example. So one should consider those facts before comparing hotel vs. hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang_FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We left Maryland with our car buried under snow and our mile long road almost impassable. Got to the Fairmont Kea Lani after more than ten hours flying, arriving in the dark after midnight. Next morning tip toed out to our balcony and thought it must be a mirage of a picture perfect Hawaii.

Our stay was sublime, the details of the hotel are conveyed in other reviews, but our take-away was the gracious hospitality of the Hawaiian staff. They seemed as delighted to see us as we were to be there.

The hotel is expensive. The food was great. Our dinner at Ko was memorable, including delicious purple mashed potatoes with coconut cream, incredible steak, Hawaiian style. Good wine list.

We arrived back at Dulles airport where it was 19 degrees with a stiff wind. Big snow coming in two days. But in between these storms it was like we went to heaven, and we didn't want to leave. We will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mastdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. There is truly no greater compliment than knowing you were touched by our staff's aloha spirit. We work hard to provide our guests with exceptional service and memorable experiences, so it is extremely gratifying that was accomplished. Stay warm in Maryland and please visit us again soon. Best wishes and mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We went to the Fairmont for our 10 year wedding anniversary. The hotel gave us an upgraded ocean view room and had a special treat for us in our room when we arrived. We absolutely loved our stay. It's such a beautiful hotel and the staff were great. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if we went back to Maui.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoryVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a lovely, traditional, all-suite beach hotel in Maui. It is well-suited for families. The service, concierge and food are all excellent, as are the facilities, pool and beach access. Fairmont Club members get free wifi, which is good. There is a resort fee though. Suites are roomy, bathrooms well appointed and bed is comfortable. There is a big balcony with two sliding doors from the living room and bedroom alike. My only beef is that the furniture in the living room looks like something out of that 70s Show - not attractive. With some of the newer properties on the island, Fairmont should rethink the design and remodel. Otherwise, a great resort for family stays.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hegira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Aloha! Thank you for your review. We're very proud to learn that our staff's excellent service and cuisine added to your recent vacation. Please be aware that the $30 daily resort charge bundles many popular amenities including high-speed Internet, overnight parking, daily snorkel equipment and more, making it a great value for guests (if all services were purchased individually they would total approximately $100/day). As many reviews have noted, we are also in the process of a suite renovation. Looking forward to welcoming you back next time to a refreshed guestroom. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Recently stayed here and asked for a front facing room , instead got partial view at the side of the hotel.

Rooms- Rooms are large but overpriced in my opinion. Decor is old and needs work,and doesnt have a cosy feel to it .

Food- Very expensive, breakfast 60 dollars per couple, dinner insane prices. Although food was expensive i was happy with the quality of the food so ok i suppose.

Beach- supplied suncream and after sun which i thought was a great idea.

In i came back to maui , probably wouldnt stay here again

Room Tip: ask for a room that is centered towards ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin_morrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for your review. We certainly very much regret your disappointment with the suite view that you were assigned for your recent stay with us. Please be aware that when guests visit as part of an organized event, room categories are decided upon by the organizer prior to arrival. We’re sorry to learn that you were disappointed. As many reviews have noted, we are in the process of further updates for our remaining suites. This will be the final stage of a $70m enhancement program across the resort, which will result in a new, refreshed look throughout. We hope you will consider visiting again in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We spend a week at the Fairmont. Our stay was very pleasant. The place is organized and clean, service was excellent, staff knowledgable and friendly.
The food was really good too. They have an adult pool that is nice and quiet if you are traveling without children. The beach was great and not overcrowded.
I will go back anytime.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing