We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sized rooms, superb staff and excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed at the Farimont for a week following Christmas. The suite sized rooms are great with the fridge and microwave a welcomed addition, especially with the pricey breakfast buffet. All of the hotel staff we encountered were friendly and very helpful. The service really makes this hotel even better. We arranged for several activities via the concierge, all of which were great. The location right on the beach is very nice with the 1.5 mile beach walk a good spot to run/walk on. The rooms are "ocean view" not "ocean front" which is not a big deal but worth noting. Pool and beach staff were very helpful in securing chairs for us.
I would return to stay here in the future. It is quite pricey but worth the expense. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the resort’s spacious suites and the exceptional service you received from our staff. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,715 - 2,721 of 4,604 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were so happy with this hotel and its staff. Everyone was so warm & friendly. The room was superb; a suite with 2 TV's, a mini fridge and even a microwave. My husband and I really appreciated having double sinks and the tub was large & great (something that really makes the room for me!) Even though we requested a mountain view room, we still had a view of the ocean. Keep an eye out for humpback whales! The beach and pool area are simply lovely. We don't have kids so it was nice to have the option of an adult pool. The beach is paradise. Its located in a good part of Maui, close to everything. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phanie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

It begins as soon as you step out of the car. Friendly smiles from the staff greeting you and making you feel as though they really are interested in your having a great time. From the lovely woman who greets you with tropical fruit punch, to the valet, to the bellman. We had purchased a garden room, but because we signed up for the Presidental Membership (which is free), they upgraded up to a "preferred ocean view". It was really awesome. This is not our first trip to Hawaii, so we were here just to rejuvenate and we were able to do so at this place. Rooms are huge and well appointed. The only complaint is that there wasn't much policing of the adult only pool and we found children in there a few times (which isn't the intent of the design of the property).

Room Tip: Sign up for the free Presidental membership. Gives you Free Wi-fi. Take advantage of the free yoga c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachdoll_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! It’s outstanding to learn that had a relaxing stay and that our staff’s friendly, warm service, added to your vacation experience right from the start. Please know your feedback regarding the monitoring of the adults-only pool is very important to us and has been communicated to our Beach & Pools department. We truly hope to welcome you back again in the future. Mahalo and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Very impressed by the rooms. Much better than we were expecting. Service was friendly and well meaning but they were clearly overloaded during the peak Holiday week. Service improved markedly when the guest count dropped. Very much a family oriented hotel. Great pool for kids (and grown ups that like water slides.). Pool / beach felt very crowded during peak week (but was similar to the four seasons.) would not recommend if you were looking for a quiet couples getaway.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank ifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Having spent 5 glorious days at the Fairmont Orchid on the Big Island, we arrived at the Kea Lani to find a very UNEVEN RESORT PROPERTY. Certainly not up to Fairmont standards. Even tho' the property was not even 1/2 full we were given a poor garden view room for which we had to pay an additional $40 per day. God only knows what our original $330.00 per room was going to be? When we arrived in our room we had a broken TV, a broken Toilet and broken A/C. And beware that in this property (unlike the Orchid), if your reservation is thru Expedia or any other 3rd party you will be unwelcome. Even as the mgmt attempted to make our repairs, no effort was made to change our room or upgrade us for the inconveniences. My husband and I are first class world travelers and so we are still amazed at how this property continues to get rave reviews. It certainly doesn't deserve them. The only thing that saved our 3 days in Maui was the amazing service and food at the 4 Seasons Spago (next door)! Absolutely outstanding! We never dreamed that the same rate we had at the Orchid (Ocean front Rm) would bring us such a lesser accommodation at the Fairmont Kea Lani. Don't expect a Fairmont experience at this Fairmont.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

We deeply apologize that your recent experience was so disappointing. Please be assured that the channel a guest books through has absolutely no impact on his/her room assignment or level of service at our resort. We truly regret that your expectations were not met and are sorry for the frustration you experienced. Your feedback will be shared with the key departments. We hope you will visit us again so we can provide the experience you deserve and the high quality of service we are known for. Mahalo and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It is very busy time of year to be here but everyone is very nice and well organized. We come here at least one time per year the walking path is great and views are great! We always stay here because of the rooms being suites and the area by the pools is large enough you can always get a place to sit. This time we didn't rent a car and it worked out great the shuttle took us every where we needed to go. Planning our next trip back.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmm628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I recently returned from a trip to Maui where we stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani. Although there are more famous resorts on the island this one was perfect for us.We spent a total of 11 days there and it couldn't have been more delightful.It was close to everything. I played golf twice while I was there and the courses were fantastic.Getting tee times was no problem at all as the hotel did all the work;. The food was a bit pricey but not out of line with food prices else where on the island. All in all, I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is going to Maui.

Room Tip: I would think that quests would want a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HalJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $500 - $1,633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing