We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kirkland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasure in Paradise”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just wrapping up a holiday visit to Maui and our second trip to the Kea Lani as a family. It was nice to see some the little improvements since we were here last. Our suite (602) had an outstanding view, the upgrade was worth the money as we had a 180 degree oceanfront view, especially cool for the fireworks on New Years Eve. The property must have been at full capacity, but that did not diminish the service at all. From housekeeping to room service, bellman or poolside, everyone was personable and quite friendly. Even with the number of people, we never felt crowded and had a very relaxing time. If you are even thinking about a pool cabana, make sure you book it at the same time as your reservation. The adult pool is totally chill and has several cabanas as well.

If you don't have a car, make sure to ask about the local shuttle at the bell desk, we used it to go to the shops and out to dinner as well.

We have already booked our next trip back and can't wait!

Room Tip: All of the rooms ending in 02 are suites with outstanding views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Aloha and thank you for returning to The Fairmont Kea Lani for the holidays! It's wonderful to learn that you had an amazing experience and especially enjoyed our signature Kilohana Suite - you can't beat the beautiful panoramic views! We truly appreciate your wonderful compliments of the high quality of service and are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Maui. Best wishes and aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,218
    806
    256
    108
    42
See reviews for
1,711
1,687
51
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Spent the week of Xmas at the Kea Lani.
Hotel was fabulous. Huge christmas tree in the lobby and poinsettias everywhere.
Santa came in to the beach on an outrigger on Xmas eve and gave out candies to the kids. Xmas buffet on the beach was very good.

Hotel is a little older, but very clean and well maintained. Room's are large with large bathrooms The grounds are immaculate.

2 of are party are Celiacs and the hotel has an amazing allergy program. Food was always prepared in a separate kitchen and delivered by a manager.

Beach is one of the best in Hawaii. Beach chairs and one umbrella per suite are included. all the other amenities are there to rent. Beach staff are fantastic.

Would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Ask for the south facing rooms in the north tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tack44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Aloha! It’s absolutely wonderful that you had such a memorial stay with us during the holidays! We know that vacationing with family who have allergies can be challenging and we couldn’t be happier to offer a program that ensures zero cross contamination. We appreciate your kind compliments and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future. Our very best for a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Loved everything about this property. Fabulous rooms, they are all suites with two rooms a foyer with a mini kitchen and huge lanai's with tables and chairs to watch the sunsets and chaise to relax in the sun in the afternoons. Three pools including an adult only pool where it is quiet and peaceful. Every hour pool server bring a mini snack like fresh pineapple on skewers, fresh strawberries, and cool towels. Restaurants are amazing with beautiful ocean views. Coffee in the lobby in the mornings. Free shuttle service will take you anywhere in a five mile radius for off property visits and dinners. Two sliding doors to the outside deck.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your terrific review. It’s outstanding that you loved the hotel - watching the sunset from your suite lanai is the perfect end to a Maui day! We appreciate you sharing your experience with future guests and look forward to your return soon. Mahalo and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here 6 Sept for 5 nights and had a beautiful time. We had a deluxe ocean view suite which was really spacious and had a beautiful view across the resort and onto the ocean ahead. I think it's worth paying extra for the view. The Farmont is right on a snorkelling beach but there's also three pools to choose from. We spent most of our time sipping cocktails by the adults pool which was located far from the other pools which meant peace and quiet. As we came in September it wasn't too busy so we always managed to get some deck chairs and an umbrella. Restaurants were good, not amazing. But you have a choice of a few which was good. It is very expensive however we found but then it's a resort. We did have dinner one night next door at Four Seasons which was quite good too. No kitchen facilities in room, but we had some light yoghurt and fruit breakfasts in our room.
Wailea is definitely the better place to stay in Maui - weather is much drier and the resorts are more luxurious. And be sure to rent a car as you can't get around maui easily without one.

Room Tip: Ocean view, ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton Gardens, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our first Christmas in the Islands. Maui and the Fairmont Kea Lani surpassed all our expectations. As a constant business traveler I often stay at higher end hotels and I am accustomed to great accommodations and services. That being said I went to Maui with great expectations.

The Fairmont Kea Lani blew me away. What a fantastic property. We were fortunate enough to stay in one of their three bedroom ocean front villas. Our party included 3 adults and 3 young adults between 16 and 23 years old. Everyone had a fantastic time. The food, accommodations, services were all first class. They even brought Santa in to the property on an outrigger canoe which included elf's that sure got the attention of all the woman on the beach.

This is a first class property located in the heart of island activity that everyone will enjoy. If you are in the area but not staying at the Fairmont, I would recommend you at least have dinner at their "KO" restaurant

Room Tip: To really make the trip special...book a Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allxring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Mahalo for spending the holidays with us! We are so pleased that your experience was memorable and that your expectations were exceeded. We're proud that our villas provide a such special resort experience and are delighted that you and your family had a fantastic stay. It’s also rewarding to learn that you enjoyed dinner at Kō. Thank you again, best wishes and a warm aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Fairmont Kea Lani two weeks before Christmas with dear family friends, our second trip to the Fairmont together and it was even more wonderful than the first visit... If that is possible! Our room was beautiful with a wonderful view, right on the grass which was perfect for the kids to play and the sunsets were amazing! All the staff at the hotel were so friendly and accommodating in every way... Our friend's son fell and cut his chin and had to get stitches and everyone was just amazing! So helpful and concerned, making sure to take him right away to the Urgent Care that was right around the corner to get fixed up right away! The employees were so caring and helpful, bringing him a darling stuffed animal sea turtle which he just loved and helped to take his mind off of everything which was so thoughtful! After they returned they brought all sorts of crafts and stickers and fun things to play with to the room since he wouldn't be able to swim for a few days. Again, just so thoughtful and above and beyond! Tim, especially at the pool was just wonderful! He truly made our trip so memorable knowing all seven of the kids names and always such a friendly smile and making each day at the pool so fun for everyone... Giving the kids scavenger hunts for flowers they could look for, timing them on the water slide, and on and on. The kids and all of us just couldn't get over how wonderful he was and again, just made the trip unforgettable with his thoughtfulness and smile and friendly, fun nature! The entire trip was amazing but the staff at the hotel just made it a place that we would return to again and again. It is a wonderful place for kids and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. We are all already talking about our next trip back and looking forward to it! Thank you everyone, for making it a dream visit to Hawaii and especially to Tim who was just amazing! If you are lucky enough to stay at the Kea Lani you will experience the true meaning of Aloha

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeFran6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you. We can't think of a better compliment than knowing you experienced the true meaning of aloha. We very much appreciate you sharing your friend’s son’s story and learning how well he was cared for by our staff. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back again soon. Best wishes and mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We chose this resort for our honeymoon stay in Maui from Dec 9th - 14th and couldn't be happier that we did. We had a partial ocean room on the 4th floor and it was gorgeous. Room was huge, bathroom was gigantic with 2 sinks, and beds super comfy. Definitely enjoyed the adult pool for a quieter pool experience. Little small touches like having suntan lotion available by the pool for use was a nice touch. Beach staff and setup was great as they setup the chairs and umbrellas for you.
The grounds were maintained magnificently with great variety and decor. Can't say enough good things about this resort. Only negative i can really think of is that the self parking spots are kind of tight and gets hectic. Small complaint on an otherwise near-perfect experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing