We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure bliss!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pure bliss!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Fairmont Kea Lani is heaven on earth. Upon entering the lobby you see the ocean through the lounge as well as much of the property in the foreground. You’re welcomed with a traditional lei and glass of juice, which is a nice touch.

We interacted with the bell staff, front desk staff – and greeters all within the first few minutes of our arrival and they were all cheerful and pleasant.

We arrived early and our room wasn’t ready but we were given a key and able to go change and relax in another room before heading poolside were we waited for our room.

Once we arrived to our room – wow. Definitely worth the wait!! We were in a deluxe ocean view which overlooked the pool(s) and straight onto the ocean. The room was very large, and décor was lovely. The bathroom was a great size and to top it off the bed was oh so comfortable!

We were able to take advantage of the Lānai on a number of nights and watch the spectacular sunsets!

Other than patio furniture being dragged by the guests on their Lānai over us, we heard no other noise from other rooms, above – or beside. And no noise from the hall, which was great.

Our first night we went down to the lounge for a drink and some appy’s and our server, Jessica, was phenomenal! Because of her serves (and friendliness) we went back three more times during our stay. The first night she recommended a sushi roll that wasn’t on their menu and I’m so glad she did – probably one of the top sushi dishes I’ve ever had. If you like sushi, the Oishi Sushi is an absolute must!!!

After two nights we moved to our other room (which was planned) and it was just as nice. The only issue was one day I had a pretty bad headache after being on the water all morning and was trying to sleep when we heard this intensely loud commotion from above. It went on for about 40 minutes before we called down to the front desk – they looked into it and called back about 15/20 minutes later to advise they were installing a new broiler above us. The timing was horrible and I wasn’t able to nap, the headache actually got a lot worse but stuff happens – the next day all was wonderful again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,110
    786
    242
    102
    41
See reviews for
1,611
1,651
51
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife, my mother, and my six month old son just returned from a successful week long visit to Maui, where we stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani. We're new parents and the purpose of the trip was to relax and have some family time.
The resort is very large, and perfectly manicured - it's a joy to walk around. I don't think the resort was at capacity when we were there because there were always places near the pool to sit at. The cabana rental system did not seem to be successful because they were largely unused and took up some of the best spots. Also, the sand at the beach was probably the nicest I've ever walked in.

Upon check-in, my wife felt that she was aggressively pressured to move to a better room/view, but not offered a good deal to do so. "You've already prepaid for your stay, so what does it matter if you to pay more now?" Befuddling logic.

We found our room to be large enough for us all to be comfortable the entire trip. The bathroom was especially huge, with double sinks, a large bath, and a shower.

The cleaning staff was especially great - super fast, and really nice to our baby. We liked them. Part of the reason we chose the resort was that we were travelling with a baby. The only criticism I have was that the crib provided was not suitable for a small baby. I'm 6 foot 1 and could not set the sleeping baby down properly, because the walls of the crib were so tall. Every time we tried to put the baby down it would be woken up. We asked for an alternative but there wasn't one.

Parking at the resort was, at times, a war zone. The spots are all about a foot too small, and it was very common to see inconsiderate parkers completely blocking other vehicles in. Walk through the parking lot and you'll say "That person isn't getting into their car... neither are they..."

We had a lot of fun by the pools, and found the 3-5pm happy hour to be well worth getting drinks poolside, or snacks at Ko. Ko is simply delicious - I loved everything from there, especially the Poke bowl, and the wine list on the iPad.

We took advantage of Ciao Cafe daily for coffee and light snacks at reasonable-for-a-resort prices. They have some good dinner options like pizza and pasta that we'd take to our room.

The complimentary laundry and dryer was great - and the Ciao Cafe sells detergent and dryer sheets for just a couple bucks.

Overall - we loved our stay, and I would eagerly return. Just remember to get the insurance on your rental car - you're going to get banged in the parking lot.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: The fairmont is a leader in eco-friendly practices
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zombieshakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Aloha! It's wonderful that you enjoyed the beauty of the hotel grounds, the spaciousness of your suite and the many dining options. However, we are sorry to learn that some aspects of the resort were disappointing. Please be assured your comments and feedback are valuable to us and will be shared with our team to help support our continuous improvements. Best wishes to you and congratulations on parenthood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The treatment at this hotel was fit for a king! The room was perfect, comfortable, and well-stocked with every amenity - both in the kitchenette and bathroom. The multiple pools were clean and service to them was pretty fast. Plenty of fine dining AND casual eats. They have a really fun swim-up bar, a clean hot tub, close walk to the beach, a free shuttle to everywhere in town, and THANK GOD for the adults-only pool.

Room Tip: Worth it to upgrade to one of the ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The Fairmont Kea Lani on Maui is the most welcoming and comfortable luxury resort to experience. Hotel staff never fails to surprise with exceptional service, anticipating guests needs. For those returning, each time, from all areas of the hotel, the staff remembers and calls you by name. Very special place. And the spacious suites (the entire hotel is suites) are second to none. It's no surprise the Kea Lani has become the destination of choice. Absolutes fantastic. I can't wait to see the new spa!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Maui4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June and it was one of the best trips we had. The location of the hotel is convenient. Not too far from things and not too close either. The kids loved the waterslides and the grounds were well kept. Of course everyone was super nice and super friendly. We love Hawaii and the Fairmont!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hongjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
321 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Despite some minor wrinkles, we left the hotel feeling positive. The rooms (all suites of the same size, so different pricing is related mainly to location/view) have a great layout and a pleasing feng shui -- there is an efficient and pleasing use of space. The public space and grounds are also very nice: we check out neighboring properties (Four Seasons, Waldorf Astoria, Marriott) and found the Fairmont to be the most aesthetically pleasing and the least crowded/congested. Bottom line is we were glad we chose this property.

There were some minor wrinkles, but they pale in comparison to the positives. We had a two night stay and housekeeping was impeccable; on our 5 night stay (six days later) housekeeping wasn't as attentive ... the room was clean, but there were some minor lapses. As well, the lobby bar was disappointing (waited 45 minutes for snacks and then learned the waitress forgot to put in the order) and Nick's Fishmarket (not owned/operated by Fairmont) was inconsistent. Our one experience at Ko (owned/operated by Fairmont) was very positive. Our two visits to The Polo Beach Grill were both very positive.

As a place to say (the room and property), this appears to us to be the best choice in this area of Maui both in terms of accommodations and also in terms of value for one's money.

FYI, there is an Avis Car Rental counter in the lobby. It seems one can get a better price if booked in advance before arrival than to wait until one is here (my rental was $25 less per day) -- check you credit card company and/or your frequent flyer program for discount codes.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor to avoid sounds from above; consider avoiding mountain view rooms gi...
See more room tips
Green Features: This property is better than the Four Seasons on Maui and the Four Seasons on Lanai. In addition to the usual practices around towels and linens, it is the only property that uses compostable cups/glasses and if I recall correctly gives food wastes to local farmers to feed pigs.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to write such a nice review. While we are very happy to learn your stay was a positive one, we apologize that the service level in certain areas was inconsistent. We strive to provide high quality service in every area and we are sorry we fell short in some areas. Please know that your comments will be shared with the team and appreciate your role in improving our standards. Best wishes and warmest aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel many times, dating back to the early 90's when it first opened (pre Fairmont just the Kea Lani).

Always an excellent place to stay.. It is more subdued and quiet and I prefer it to the other excellent neighboring hotels where I have also stayed (4 seasons, Grand Wailea, etc).

A major reason I like it as opposed to the Grand Wailea is that it has a smaller and more elegant feel and I'm not really into the mega pool with thousands of kids.. So if you've got a family of kids and pool goers you may prefer the Grand Wailea (although mine enjoyed the Kea Lani just fine).. For adults and couples with no kids, this is a more pleasant experience than those hotels..

Usually have booked Delux ocean views... Garden rooms are likely to have an obstructed view or behind the polo condos.. So I'd recommend the ocean view rooms...

Normally I visit in the shoulder season (October) and usually there is some construction going on, but I'm fine with it and usually slightly reduced room rates.

It's a resort so you are going to pay dearly for everything.. .parking is $25 a night, restaurants are expensive but it's no different than the comparable hotels. So I won't complain...

Dining Tips: Skip the hotel restaurants.. There are a number of great places to eat (and much cheaper) in the vicinity.
For breakfast there are a couple of good places at the Wailea shots a nice walk or short drive away. Also in Kihei there are several good breakfast joints..

For dinner, Joe's is my favorite.. And at one of the golf courses the Red Bar... Also a variety of tourist restaurants at the Wailea shops.(Tommy Bahamas, Cheesburger and Pradise, Ruth Chris etc..).. All much cheaper and better than the hotel restaurants...

In short you can't go wrong with the Kea Lani... especially for couples..

Room Tip: The Deluxe ocean views are the best.. Avoid the garden views as you are liable to stare at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing