We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week of relaxation: SUCCESS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife, my mother, and my six month old son just returned from a successful week long visit to Maui, where we stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani. We're new parents and the purpose of the trip was to relax and have some family time.
The resort is very large, and perfectly manicured - it's a joy to walk around. I don't think the resort was at capacity when we were there because there were always places near the pool to sit at. The cabana rental system did not seem to be successful because they were largely unused and took up some of the best spots. Also, the sand at the beach was probably the nicest I've ever walked in.

Upon check-in, my wife felt that she was aggressively pressured to move to a better room/view, but not offered a good deal to do so. "You've already prepaid for your stay, so what does it matter if you to pay more now?" Befuddling logic.

We found our room to be large enough for us all to be comfortable the entire trip. The bathroom was especially huge, with double sinks, a large bath, and a shower.

The cleaning staff was especially great - super fast, and really nice to our baby. We liked them. Part of the reason we chose the resort was that we were travelling with a baby. The only criticism I have was that the crib provided was not suitable for a small baby. I'm 6 foot 1 and could not set the sleeping baby down properly, because the walls of the crib were so tall. Every time we tried to put the baby down it would be woken up. We asked for an alternative but there wasn't one.

Parking at the resort was, at times, a war zone. The spots are all about a foot too small, and it was very common to see inconsiderate parkers completely blocking other vehicles in. Walk through the parking lot and you'll say "That person isn't getting into their car... neither are they..."

We had a lot of fun by the pools, and found the 3-5pm happy hour to be well worth getting drinks poolside, or snacks at Ko. Ko is simply delicious - I loved everything from there, especially the Poke bowl, and the wine list on the iPad.

We took advantage of Ciao Cafe daily for coffee and light snacks at reasonable-for-a-resort prices. They have some good dinner options like pizza and pasta that we'd take to our room.

The complimentary laundry and dryer was great - and the Ciao Cafe sells detergent and dryer sheets for just a couple bucks.

Overall - we loved our stay, and I would eagerly return. Just remember to get the insurance on your rental car - you're going to get banged in the parking lot.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zombieshakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Aloha! It's wonderful that you enjoyed the beauty of the hotel grounds, the spaciousness of your suite and the many dining options. However, we are sorry to learn that some aspects of the resort were disappointing. Please be assured your comments and feedback are valuable to us and will be shared with our team to help support our continuous improvements. Best wishes to you and congratulations on parenthood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,865 - 2,871 of 4,733 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

The treatment at this hotel was fit for a king! The room was perfect, comfortable, and well-stocked with every amenity - both in the kitchenette and bathroom. The multiple pools were clean and service to them was pretty fast. Plenty of fine dining AND casual eats. They have a really fun swim-up bar, a clean hot tub, close walk to the beach, a free shuttle to everywhere in town, and THANK GOD for the adults-only pool.

Room Tip: Worth it to upgrade to one of the ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smokey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The Fairmont Kea Lani on Maui is the most welcoming and comfortable luxury resort to experience. Hotel staff never fails to surprise with exceptional service, anticipating guests needs. For those returning, each time, from all areas of the hotel, the staff remembers and calls you by name. Very special place. And the spacious suites (the entire hotel is suites) are second to none. It's no surprise the Kea Lani has become the destination of choice. Absolutes fantastic. I can't wait to see the new spa!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Maui4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June and it was one of the best trips we had. The location of the hotel is convenient. Not too far from things and not too close either. The kids loved the waterslides and the grounds were well kept. Of course everyone was super nice and super friendly. We love Hawaii and the Fairmont!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hongjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Despite some minor wrinkles, we left the hotel feeling positive. The rooms (all suites of the same size, so different pricing is related mainly to location/view) have a great layout and a pleasing feng shui -- there is an efficient and pleasing use of space. The public space and grounds are also very nice: we check out neighboring properties (Four Seasons, Waldorf Astoria, Marriott) and found the Fairmont to be the most aesthetically pleasing and the least crowded/congested. Bottom line is we were glad we chose this property.

There were some minor wrinkles, but they pale in comparison to the positives. We had a two night stay and housekeeping was impeccable; on our 5 night stay (six days later) housekeeping wasn't as attentive ... the room was clean, but there were some minor lapses. As well, the lobby bar was disappointing (waited 45 minutes for snacks and then learned the waitress forgot to put in the order) and Nick's Fishmarket (not owned/operated by Fairmont) was inconsistent. Our one experience at Ko (owned/operated by Fairmont) was very positive. Our two visits to The Polo Beach Grill were both very positive.

As a place to say (the room and property), this appears to us to be the best choice in this area of Maui both in terms of accommodations and also in terms of value for one's money.

FYI, there is an Avis Car Rental counter in the lobby. It seems one can get a better price if booked in advance before arrival than to wait until one is here (my rental was $25 less per day) -- check you credit card company and/or your frequent flyer program for discount codes.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor to avoid sounds from above; consider avoiding mountain view rooms gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to write such a nice review. While we are very happy to learn your stay was a positive one, we apologize that the service level in certain areas was inconsistent. We strive to provide high quality service in every area and we are sorry we fell short in some areas. Please know that your comments will be shared with the team and appreciate your role in improving our standards. Best wishes and warmest aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel many times, dating back to the early 90's when it first opened (pre Fairmont just the Kea Lani).

Always an excellent place to stay.. It is more subdued and quiet and I prefer it to the other excellent neighboring hotels where I have also stayed (4 seasons, Grand Wailea, etc).

A major reason I like it as opposed to the Grand Wailea is that it has a smaller and more elegant feel and I'm not really into the mega pool with thousands of kids.. So if you've got a family of kids and pool goers you may prefer the Grand Wailea (although mine enjoyed the Kea Lani just fine).. For adults and couples with no kids, this is a more pleasant experience than those hotels..

Usually have booked Delux ocean views... Garden rooms are likely to have an obstructed view or behind the polo condos.. So I'd recommend the ocean view rooms...

Normally I visit in the shoulder season (October) and usually there is some construction going on, but I'm fine with it and usually slightly reduced room rates.

It's a resort so you are going to pay dearly for everything.. .parking is $25 a night, restaurants are expensive but it's no different than the comparable hotels. So I won't complain...

Dining Tips: Skip the hotel restaurants.. There are a number of great places to eat (and much cheaper) in the vicinity.
For breakfast there are a couple of good places at the Wailea shots a nice walk or short drive away. Also in Kihei there are several good breakfast joints..

For dinner, Joe's is my favorite.. And at one of the golf courses the Red Bar... Also a variety of tourist restaurants at the Wailea shops.(Tommy Bahamas, Cheesburger and Pradise, Ruth Chris etc..).. All much cheaper and better than the hotel restaurants...

In short you can't go wrong with the Kea Lani... especially for couples..

Room Tip: The Deluxe ocean views are the best.. Avoid the garden views as you are liable to stare at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the Kea Lani.

When you arrive after your long trip from the mainland and airport (didn't the chickens at the airport make you laugh?, they did me) you are met by a smiling face, a tube rose lei and tasty juice to quench your thirst, the check-in process is seamless (I did check on mine the week of our trip, which might have helped) and the staff is egar to get you to your room so your vacation can start. As you walk to the property it takes your breath away, it is beautifully landscaped and if your lucky enough to arrive at sunset as we did, you might just stand there and literally feel all the stress from getting to this point just fade and the Island takes over providing a picture post card backdrop you will never forget.

This was our second stay in this Island paradise Resort. I can't imagine any view would be awful unless you were looking directly over the parking lot and each room is a suite which is a rare find. I will say If you can afford the Signature Kilohana Suite, do it. We were on the 6th floor in room 602 on the right side of the property which overlooked the Villa's, Resort beach front, the most extraordinary sunsets and fantastic sunrises. The left side of the very large wrap around Lani looked back over the resort property and pools which at night was also a tropical paradise picture. Day or night we were very pleased with our room and relaxed and believe it or not the crash of the ocean can be heard clearly, even that high up. The drawback? It is a bit of a walk to this room from the elevator so if you have a condition that prohibits a generous walk the room might not be for you. The air conditioner had a few issues while we were there but the maintenance staff responded very quickly and was genuinely concerned that our expectation's were met.

The other great thing is that even if you don't have any Island excursions planed you will not be disappointed in this Resort because you can get up order room service or attend a delicious breakfast buffet with many local dishes and fresh fruit (cost 35.00 but worth it and not much more than you would spend eating out. Plus if you came all this way it wasn't for the dollar menu at McDonalds). Then take the Resort offered Cultural Canoe experience, it was one of our favorite activities and we didn't even have to leave the resort ( make sure to book this as early as you can, only 4 passangers ride at a time). Then since your a little damp, go to one of the many pools and swim, take in the beauty, visit the gift shop and maybe have an appetizer and cocktail at the swim up bar. Go up and have a shower in your giant bathroom and eat at Nick's or Ko', but because of our view we choose room service on our Lani. This year I purposely, left 3 days open just to enjoy our room, view and the property. It says a lot about the property and staff in my opinion if you choose to stay in your resort while in Hawaii.

Other than the great staff, cleanliness of our room, the property and great views we were lucky enough to watch a pod of Humpback Whales breech directly from our Lani on the last night before heading home. Yes, there are cheaper places to stay on Maui but once you experience the Kei Lani you will always be looking for away to get back to this piece of paradise.

Thank you Fairmont Kei Lani, your comitiment to providing a tropical oasis is greatly appreciated. If I could make one suggestion, it would be to leave one bar and the Jacuzzis' open for those that have excursions for dinner cruises or daytrips to Honolulu. When you return to the Resort it would be nice to partake in a cocktail after a long day of Island fun or even a dip in the Jacuzzi. I understand the Resort is not trying to create a party atmosphere but most guest we encountered or spoke with between 9-11 felt the same. The bar revenue alone could most likely cover running the jets a little later on the Jacuzzi. Nobody wants to come back from a long day and go across the street for a nightcap. Next time we will be proactive and stock our room but really the Luna bar or outdoor bar would be nice late night. Just a suggestion.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up will give you a better room and ground level floors on the right side of the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mechele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your fantastic review! We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed all the resort has to offer especially our signature Kilohana Suite. We appreciate your thoughtful advice and information for our future guests and pointing out everything that makes our resort so special. Please know that all of your suggestions will be shared. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
523 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $478 - $2,123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing