We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good family resort”
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed here for two weeks with our two children under 5 years old. The rooms are all suites, but ours did not have a kitchen. The pools are nice as well as the beach. I don't think there were any kids programs specifically, but an entertainer came on Sundays and there was a small pool and waterslide for kids available. Food was very expensive on site and we took exception to some of the extras they charged to our room while we were there ($30 a day for a cot, charges for self-parking, etc.) However, with a little complaining, they removed some of the more superfluous charges. Still, the location is beautiful, the hotel is well maintained, the staff are very nice and everything is done very nicely. It's not quite as swanky as the Four Seasons next door, but then it costs a lot less. It's also not as noisy and expensive as the Grand Wailea, although for older kids I would recommend that hotel also.

  • Liked — The location and the hotel's beautiful building and pools
  • Disliked — Nickel and diming the customer with extra charges.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jacknmacksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,167
    795
    248
    105
    41
See reviews for
1,662
1,668
51
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2008

This hotel experience was perfection! The location was great, the staff was the nicest, most helpful staff I had ever encountered. There was no detail too small. The rooms were gorgeous (we had an ocean view), the food fabulous (if a bit over the top price wise) and the amenities were delightful. i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a wonderfully memorable experience (so long as you had a high budget for the trip).

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — the cost (but still a great experience)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Based on reviews on Trip Advisor, my husband and I decided on the Fairmont Kea Lani over the Four Seasons. We were a bit disappointed in that this Fairmont in Maui does not compare to the Fairmont Orchid on the big island. But, this is Maui and the standards are lower.

Overall, we were very happy but a few things we thought were lacking were: no pool table in the lobby lounge, no ping pong tables on the grounds, and no hammocks to relax in. Our biggest disappointment was the lobby lounge, no atmosphere whatsoever and the lounge at the Four Seasons was simply wonderful with great drinks and pupus. Also, while our room was extremely BEAUTIFUL and very large, we were put in the K floor which is somewhat dingy and lacking in decor. The ice machine was also broken on that floor but quickly fixed after I called the front desk. Overall, a nice stay. The breakfast buffet was your average hotel buffet with somewhat slow service, Ko restaurant had a delicious banana lumpia desert but the hostess there was misinformed in food ingredients - my husband has a nut allergy and the Ciao Caffe was good but pricey. My only complaint were the large number of very noisy kids running around at all hours. We will definitely chose the Fairmont Orchid and the big island OVER coming back to Maui again.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank traveling*chococat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed here and at the Four Seasons Wailea on Maui. We liked the Fairmont better. From the open air feel of the entire hotel and the gorgeously maintained property to the friendliness of the staff make this place a true haven and a great place to relax and get away from everything.

The level of service was incredible. You are greeted with orchid leis for the women and nut leis for the men, along with some pineapple orange and guava juice to drink while you check in. Since our room was not ready, the front desk staff provided us with a hospitality suite that we only used for 5 minutes before our room was ready. The staff always said aloha with a smile and will go out of their way to help you. Once concierge staff member in particular was extremely helpful (her name is Missy and she is amazing! She made us reservations at a restaurant, booked us on a snorkel tour of Molokini, provided us with towels for the tour, as well as a laundry bag to keep our wet clothes in! All in a matter of minutes!)

The adult pool is one of the nicest pools I have ever been to. While we were there, there was hardly anybody using it, so oftentimes, we felt like we had it to ourselves.

The food was also very good on the property. Caffe Ciao has been replaced with an Asian fusion restaurant named Ko, which was delicious.

The room itself was beautiful. We had an ocean view suite (room 338), and we did not want to leave!

While, compared with the Four Seasons, the Fairmont may not have had some of the same amenities (e.g., no L'Occitane products, no sunscreen at the towel station), we thought that the hotel was a lot quieter than the Four Seasons. We much preferred the Fairmont.

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — Charging $10 to use the business center (unless you sign up to be a President's Club member - which is free, but still...)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vth888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

The Fairmont was absolutely perfect! We have just returned from a wonderful stay with four children, ranging from 3 to 13. The Fairmont was really wonderful in every way! We stayed in a two bedroom villa....highly suggest this route! It was fantastic having our own kitchen and laundry area, and I would definitely do it again! We had family staying at the Four Seasons, and although it is lovely, the grounds nor the rooms were as nice as those at the Fairmont! We cannot say enough about how great it was!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhpTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont for the last 3 nights of our honeymoon, and it was heavenly.

We had a beautiful ocean view and enjoyed eating breakfast on the balcony each morning while watching the ocean waves breaking on the shore.

The open air reception area is clean and inviting, the grounds were immaculate, and the staff was EXCELLENT. Cheerful, helpful, and hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Truly outstanding.

We had a delish dinner at Nick's Fishmarket right on site, and enjoyed the pools, beach, and walkway to the other beaches. The Fairmont is a bit smaller than some of the other nearby hotels, but we liked it that way. It felt less hectic and crowded.

Just a note...to do most of the guide book activities, you have to travel a bit away from the Wailea area. So rent a car...or, in some cases, the Fairmont shuttle can take you.

Would highly recommend the Fairmont Kea Lani. We can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — view from the room; service from hotel staff; hot stone massage at the spa by Leni
  • Disliked — have to leave after only 3 nights
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We just came back from Maui last week after being in Hawaii for 2 weeks. We stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani for 5 nights at the end of our trip. The Hotel is in south Maui in the Waliea area. This area is much nicer than the Northern area and it appeared to be less crowded as well.

We had a partial ocean view suite which was great for the three of us. With only one child; a 10 yr old boy, the suite was sufficient. The suite is nice but not the most luxurious. The bathroom is great and the shower is very large and doorless. I have noticed that some have written that the suites are showing their age and that is probably a fair statement. However ,the resort and suites are clean and are what you would expect from the Fairmont.

We found the front desk staff and the valets very friendly and willing to do anything for their guest. The hotel also provides local transportation within the Waliea area from the hotel, 24hrs a day, free of charge. The main pool is large and has a one water slide. There was also an adult pool close by.

At first sight the beach area is small but I did not feel crowded at anypoint. If you walk down the beach path toward the Four Seasons and Grand Waliea the beach is much larger.

We would definetly stay here again and loved the hotel, the staff and the Waliea area. We ended our trip with dinner at Spagos during sunset which was awesome.

  • Liked — Resort grounds and bathroom in suite
  • Disliked — In room TV was out of date
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smnlefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
464 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing