We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing honeymoon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited the Fairmont Kea Lani for the second half of our honeymoon in September 2012, and we can not say enough good things about what a beautiful place this is!! We were fortunate enough to book our room at a discounted rate due to the construction of their restaurant Ko, however when we arrived all construction was completed. I emailed the hotel ahead of time to let them know we would be there on our honeymoon, and they upgraded our room to a partial ocean view free of charge. Now, I would argue the partial ocean view aspect of the room, as all we could see were trees and a road from our window, but this did nothing to dampen our experience. We were given a free bottle of wine and dessert at Ko to celebrate our honeymoon, as well as a plate of chocolates in our room when we arrived. Beautiful and thoughtful touches!

The grounds at this resort are stunning, pools are beautiful. The restaurants are a bit pricey, and I can't say the food was that great. Our room was clean and spacious, with a beautiful bathroom with two pedestal sinks. The beach is wonderful, and the free beach chairs and umbrellas are a great bonus.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and hope to return one day for our anniversary!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,863
    742
    230
    99
    40
See reviews for
1,452
1,535
47
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel staying 4 nights. We had a perfect suite overlooking the property with an ocean view. The suite was big enough and had enough amenities to live there by the month! Clean comfortable quiet. Bathrooms are spacious, service, 3 swim pools, restaurants like Nicks, provide enough to do without ever leaving the property. The only reason this is not 5 start is that there is not as many retail stores or restaurants as the four seasons but in my book its definitely 5 starts!

Room Tip: All rooms are suites with separate bedroom and living room. Its just a matter of Which view you want...
See more room tips
Green Features: Since there is a water shortage the hotel asks that linens will be changed every 3 days unless otherwise requested.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for returning to The Fairmont Kea Lani. We are pleased that you enjoyed everything about the resort, especially the spaciousness of your suite. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes and aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We checked in yesterday for a 5 night stay at The Fairmont Kea Lani and so far I have not been impressed. We usually come to Maui once a year and have always stayed at The Ritz Carlton Kapalua, however this time we decided to split our two week stay in two and try the Fairmont which we had heard was very good for the first part of the trip and then move on to the Ritz for the last week.
When you pull up to the hotel the property is very nice, my interaction with the valet and bellman where great, both very courteous and polite just what you expect, then we where greeted by a lady with the leis and some complimentary fruit juice, up to this point all was as expected from everything I had heard about this hotel. When we finally proceeded to the front desk to check in we where politely greeted by one of the staff members who was not very personal, it felt almost like checking in through an automated self service kiosk or something, I asked where my room will be located that is when she went to get an iPad to show me, I asked if there was a possibility on changing rooms even if we had to pay something, she told me she had to ask her manager, so she went or talk to the manager and the manager came out from the back she looked who was checking in and decided that (I guess from the way we looked) she would charge me an additional $300 per night if I wanted another room and all this and the manager does not even come over to introduce herself but she just looks and walks away after giving the instructions, honestly did not know the Fairmont worked like that, and let me say not a good first impression.

In reference to the property itself, the rooms are not what I expected, beds not very comfortable, hallways look like of a lesser category hotel, really musty smell, many of the room finishes are not what we expected.

As I am writing this I am waiting for it to be a bit later in the morning here to see if could cut our stay shorter and just move to Ritz.

If you are undecided between the Ritz and The Fairmont, go for the Ritz. I have done a review here on Tripadvisor on the Ritz from our last stay there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sbconsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We recognize the importance of first impressions and are truly sorry that the service level you received was below the high standards we set for our staff. Please feel free to call the front desk and ask to be connected to General Manager, Charles Head so that we can ensure your issues are resolved immediately. Alternatively, you may email our Front Office Management team at keafrontofficemgrs@fairmont.com. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
197 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent a week in a villa, which has a great location near everything - the beach, the pools, the hotel. The resort is very high quality but unpretentious. The staff is very friendly, the housekeeping staff meticulous (mornings and turn down service) and the concierge staff world class. The layout of the amenities and facilities (pools, beach, views, grand lobby) is one of the best on Walilea. One night we ordered a ready-to-cook steak and lobster BBQ, with local salad greens and baked potatoes. Even though we ate at some fabulous restaurants, the BBQ dinner at our villa was one of our favorites. we will definitely we back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBarb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have been coming here for the past 6 years and we love it. We travel with 2 young boys (now age 6 and 8) and they thoroughly enjoy the hotel. They play in the pools - there are two pools, upper and lower. The hotel has a great kiddie pool if you have really young, small children. Breakfast is excellent and lunch by the pool is nice. We ate at Kai restaurant after the remodelling this year and it was very good. The service at the hotel is excellent. We keep coming back we love it so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swhitevancouverbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Aloha and thank you for choosing The Fairmont Kea Lani time and time again. We’re delighted that your expectations continue to be exceeded each time you visit and that you appreciate all of the resort's details. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back many more times in the future. Mahalo a mālama pono a hui hou! (Thank you, take care, and until we meet again!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani for the first four nights of my honeymoon. I cannot say enough good things about this lovely property. We were greeted with a 'congratulations' note and a plate of cupcakes in our suite (nice touch!) We stayed in room 205 which was recently renovated and the room was large, lovely and way beyond my expectations. This property was ideally suited for the Maui traveler - the free laundry on each floor was an added convenience. I would recommend this property to anyone. I have traveled a lot and I would rank this hotel among the nicest I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: ask for a room that was recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spunkykiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Wow! It’s truly a pleasure to know that you had an exceptional honeymoon at our hotel. We are so pleased to learn that the resort was perfect for your needs and that you would recommend it to other Maui visitors. Your compliments are greatly appreciated. Congratulations on your marriage and best wishes for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were celebrating our 20th and had been booked in another resort that was so disappointing that we checked out with no place to stay!
I was able to make reservations at The Fairmont Kea Lani, but after we arrived, I realized that right in the middle of our seven nights left, was one night completely sold out at the hotel! (It was my mistake since the reservations agent had clarified this on the phone, but in my upset state, it didn't compute...)
To the rescue came the Fairmont manager and Nicky, at the front desk, in the form of mercy for us and in the grandest scale imaginable - we were upgraded to a beautiful oceanfront villa for the entire stay!
Though that was an awsome act of kindness on their part, I still would have given them an excellent rating in all categories for service, cleanliness, excellent cuisine, and romantic settings... We were wined and dined in the style to which I am now accustomed!
Thank you again!

Room Tip: Due to the layout of the hotel, I don't think there's a bad room. Of course, the villa ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyKatlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Spa Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maui's southern shores at Wailea, Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort. Nestled on the pristine white sands of Polo Beach, this newly renovated Maui resort and spa is situated on 22 acres of lush tropical landscape and offers authentic Hawaiian cultural experiences in a truly spectacular setting. Resort amenities feature our award-winning 9,000 sq.ft. Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults only pool and two lagoon style activity pools connected by a 140' water slide, 24-hour fitness center and wellness classes, Kids Club, water sports and beach activities, championship golf and tennis nearby and boutique shopping. Savor a variety of island inspired favorites in the resort's four restaurants. Casual, family and fine dining options include a gourmet bakery & deli, extensive breakfast buffet, relaxed poolside fare, and our award-winning signature restaurant Ko. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing