We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“great place to stay..”
Reviewed April 17, 2004

We loved everything about the Kea Lani. We were there in August 2004 for 10 nights. The rooms are expensive but every 5th night was free.
They're also all suites so the kids can have their own space to sleep and watch TV. They could use a fast food resturant specially for families; they had a hotdog stand which was very handy when we were at the pool for hours. Serving chilled pineapple slices and handing out cold towels by the pool were really nice touches. The service and people working there were great.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,215
    804
    256
    107
    42
See reviews for
1,707
1,686
51
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2004

You can't go wrong here.

Breakfasts are incredible, grounds & pools were immaculate. Have stayed there 3 times now over a period of 6 years, and each time the service is as consistent as the last.

Helpful?
Thank misdemeanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2004

Great hotel. Terriffic staff, large & well-maintained rooms. We were delighted w/the hotel choice, but had a few words on restaurants - Longhi's was a disappointment (the ahi tuna was like a thin veal pane - scallop w/ a greasy nut crust). Roy's was the best and Nick's (at the resort) was great. Try to keep the food simple and don't faint at the prices!

Helpful?
Thank enghien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2004

Clean, light, airy, and beautiful hotel complex with all suite rooms, a real bonus. Rooms are large and well done. Staff, from front desk to bellhops, were good and some were great. Great grounds and pool complex. Small beach that had been a bit washed away by storms, but so was Grand Wielea and others. If you're big beach people, as we are, a short drive south to Big Beach is the thing to do. Get Maui Revealed book! Nick's Restaurant, in the hotel, was the best one we went to. Did go next door to Four Seasons for dinner, where the table was great, the food was average, and the waiter absolutely snooty!

Helpful?
3 Thank billinsugarloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2004

We just returned from 2 weeks in Maui. The first week we stayed at the Grand Wailea and the second at the Kea Lani. The Kea Lani has EXCELLENT service!! Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. The housekeepers did an OUTSTANDING job, the poolside attention was super and the concierge picked out some fabulous restaurants. We will definitley return there. It is smaller than the Grand Wailea and doesn't cater as much to the conference crowd....and if they do, they are smaller conferences. It is a much more restful resort. We have travelled a lot and found this to be a first class resort.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 23, 2004

The whole family loved it. What fun. We just returned from spring break and we had a great experience at the Fairmont Kea Lani. The staff was excellent and service was great. What we found important was the activity vendors the Fairmont recommends. From sailing, snorkling to surfing lessons, each vendor was professional and insured a great time.
My 8 and 13 year old kids loved it. It was important that the kids and adult pools are kept separate and enforced. The hotel is undergoing room remodeling but we never heard or saw it. It is a beautiful resort.
We will return.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2004

Just returned from 7 nights at the Kea Lani. Very nice! Great place for children, lots of room to run around and play, the suites are great, huge bathrooms and lanis, beautiful but less formal then the Four Seasons. However if I was on a romantic vacation or honeymoon would probably do the Four Seasons instead. Be sure to ask for a recent renovated room. Service was wonderful, truly aloha spirit. Polo Beach was great, some erosion but still plenty of sand and snorkeling was good, but even better further down the coast. We had the beach in front of the Makena Surf condos and Big Beach to ourselves in the mornings.
Worth it to get up early and snorkel before the crowds and the wind picks up. Beach access and parking all along the shoreline. Watch out for currents- can be very strong. We are strong swimmers but still several days did not venture out too far due to currents and wind, earlier the better! The "Fishbowl" is great snorkel spot for kids but parking fills up fast. The Shave Ice and Fish Taco guys in their van right where Wailea becomes Makena a nice stop on way back from snorkeling. Highly recommend Paragon Sailing Charters, second year we have gone out with them. They really sail-not just put the sail up for show. Very uncrowded boat- not the cattle call you see on some of the other boats and they always seem to find lots and lots of whales! I think the whales must like that they are sailing not motoring. Cafe Ciao Deli at the Fairmont a great pinic and breakfast stop. We made several meals from their salads and cheeses and fabulous desserts.
Sarrentos on the Beach was the best meal although Nick's a close second place. (same owners) Food and service out of this world! Even though fine dining don't hestitate to take the kids- very nice children's menu- many steps above the standard chicken fingers and fish sticks and the staff was just wonderful with children. Polo Grille not so good- food is average but prices very high- but it is nice to just lay by the pool and have them bring it to you. Long's Drugs and the main Maui Dive Shop have good selection of beach toys and floats and much lower prices than buying from the pool/beach concession. Best purchase we made was a shortie wet suit for our 8 year old- kept him snorkeling without getting cold and good for boogie boarding too. Enjoy your stay- we certainly did- can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KKDFCARLSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing