We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a relaxing family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a relaxing family vacation”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Recently spent a week here with our 2 kids (tween and teen) and would recommend it and would return. Would really rate it 4.5 with reasons mostly due to location- not much to walk to around the hotel except the four seasons and a little trek from the hotel rooms to the beach which makes it a little cumbersome to fetch things and use the restroom, and our teens were not very excited about the pool area though it seemed fantastic for both younger kids and has an adult only pool.

CHECK IN- lovely lobby and staff upon arrival. The bonus at check-in was they had an iPad that they used to show us the views and locations of different rooms on the property and showed us our options- nice touch and helps to not have to guess/potentially change rooms. They also didn't have rooms available in north tower for us due to renovations, so threw in our rollaway bed for free.

PARKING- pretty convenient to self park and plenty of room under the garage when we were there- go past the tight outdoor spaces and turn right into the garage.

ROOMS - I would give these a 5. The suite set up was perfect for our family of 4, and the hotel even gave us a rollaway free of charge so our kids slept separately. Twice a day room service was appreciated so the sofa sleeper was put up during the day and then nicely made again in the evening. The balconies are large and our ocean view was beautiful and enjoyed several times /day. The bathrooms are huge with nice shower and tub, separate toilet, plush towels, and kept very clean, and even a nightlight.. There are 3 single closets to use all with lighting. The mini bar area with fridge and micro served us well to have breakfast, snacks, and drinks bought from the Safeway about 10-15 minutes away. Bring some DVD's for nighttime entertainment.

Beach/pool- from the hotel rooms the beach is a 5-7 minute trek down a small incline (but very close to the villas). The umbrellas are checked out at the beach hut and put up where you want by the beach guys along with as many chairs/tables you want ( tip the beach guys, they do a good job and they were very appreciative- hint hint). The umbrellas/chairs are free, but keep in mind if you leave for more than an hour then your name is removed and your spot is up for grabs- this happened to other families twice while we were there, so don't plan on going to get your spot early and then leaving for a few hours. There is an option for all day set up for a fee, I think $75. Also, the front row goes early and can be filled by those who pay, but we were lucky on 2 occasions to get down there by 8-9 am and get front row. The beach is public, so others can and will set up in front of you, but the front row is still nice for watching kids. Boogie boarding was enjoyed by all, even on red flag days it was ok for my kids if they stayed closer to shore. We rented boogie boards for the week at a place in Kihei (much much cheaper then renting from the hotel). Snorkeling just off the beach is great if the surf is not high/ churning, but then it is too murky. My husband had 1 good day while we were there and saw a sea turtle.
We didn't use the pool much, but there is a small slide, a basketball hoop, and 2 hot tubs and a very small kiddie pool, this area tended to be very crowded, had to get chairs early if you want shade and the cabanas are reserved for a fee.

Food- we only ate breakfast buffet once but the food was plentiful (at $100 for 1 meal, I would only do this if it were included) otherwise we had stuff in our room either from the market/bakery downstairs or from Safeway and ate with a great ocean view on our balcony. We enjoyed going to the on site market for lunch with good salads, sandwiches and pizza that we also ate on our balcony. The pool cafe was decent, good variety of foods and good service, nothing special. We ate at Ko one night- our kids are not seafood eaters so it was not an ideal menu for them and while the service was fantastic, our food was just good. Ok for a night, but had better meals around the island.
The lobby bar was a great place for sunset cocktails!

The grounds were kept absolutely beautiful.
There is a small game room with ping pong, fussball, and Xbox games for the kids.

Overall, this hotel was a great stay for a relaxing week and I would recommend it without reservation as long as you don't mind the walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Ocean view was nice ( there is also deluxe ocean view, but not sure it is worth the extra price for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travelingagain08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,215
    804
    256
    107
    42
See reviews for
1,707
1,686
51
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
M-Town
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent place! I've been meaning to get this review done awhile ago. This place has been the best Hotel Resort we've ever stayed at. The scenery is beautiful, the staff is professional, and everything here was top notch. Beautiful scenery!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldWidePlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belle mead
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just finished a 7 night stay at the Fairmont Kea Lani. What a fabulous resort. We arrived late, but the staff greeted us with smiles and we were escorted to our room. We were in room 301 which was one of the Kilohana signature suites. The room was very spacious and newly renovated. The bathroom was large and had everything you needed. My favorite part of the room is the wrap around balcony. The views were incredible. I took a nap every afternoon on the lanai listening to the ocean below. Almost every morning we ate at the breakfast buffet. Very tasty and great service. My son has several food allergies and they were very aware and made sure he was safe. The concierge was extremely helpful. They really enjoy what they do and were very happy to help and provide information on any question. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We walked through several other hotels on the island, and the understated elegance of the Fairmont was the best! Thanks to all the reviews I read, for this was the reason we chose this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Corner suite - great view with lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaV348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We're so pleased to learn that you had a fabulous stay and enjoyed our signature Kilohana Suite (the views are unmatched!). Thank you for you comments on our with our allergy program. We do take food allergies very seriously, so it is incredibly rewarding to know that you and your son felt safe. Please know that your compliments will be shared with our concierge team. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I just returned from a 6 night stay and I love this resort. I've been on 3 trips to Hawaii and it is my favorite resort. It's in a great upscale location on Maui. The view from this resort is fantastic. The view from our 7th floor balcony was amazing. Other pro's include:
A beautiful beach
Good snorkeling nearby
All of the rooms are suites (very nice for families)
Nice restaurants
Amazing service!!!
Aloha spirit prevalent throughout the resort
3 nice pools
Live music nightly
Beautiful grounds

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hesetmefree238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your terrific review. It’s wonderful that you enjoyed everything the resort has to offer, from the phenomenal views, to the personalized service. We are truly honored to be your favorite resort in Hawaii and can’t wait to welcome you back again soon! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I LOVE this hotel. Everything was perfect as expected. Their beach has the finest & whitest sand, 7 nights were just too short! We stayed at a different hotel for our honeymoon, stopped by the Fairmont & came back to Maui the year after so we could stay there. Amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife, two young children and I recently spent a week here. The Fairmont Kea Lani did just about everything right. There's an obvious culture of customer service excellence going on here. We travel quite a bit and have been to Hawaii three times in recent years, so I feel qualified to make that judgement. Here a eye a few bullet points in pro/con style:

Pros

-property is beautiful. We were blown away by the beauty before we even got to our room
-we had the one room suite, and it was designed PERFECTLY for families. Quite large, very upscale bathroom, very modern video and audio equipment. They even give you a a free case full of connector cables that came in very handy. I was able to utilize the iPad with the equipment without any problem
-ample pool space with a water slide. My kids couldn't get enough if it
-all staff seem eager to go out of their way to help you (see above comment about the culture)
-the bell and valet staff, in particular, is probably the best I've ever experienced. Their speed and attention to detail was phenomenal. Our departure process was a work of art. Not only did the gentleman pick up our bags (7-8 of them!), pack them beautifully in our car and park it right out front, but he proactively gave us a few pointers about returning our rental car and navigating the airport. His input did end us both time and effort. I only wish I had taken note if his name! But the truth is, we had 2-3 interactions with the bell/valet staff each day, and they were all of this quality. That staff could give seminars to other resorts on how to do this right.

Cons

-the pool wait service seemed a little understaffed. There were times we had to wait too long for a drink. I heard similar comments from others in our group. Having 3-4 more staff during peak times seems like an easy solution
-there is no true oceanfront dining option available. You can, however, get this in Kihei just up the road
- the fitness center is a bit small and light on equipment for a resort of this size. Lots of treadmills, ellipticals, etc. A few light dumb bells but not much else.

The Pros far, far outweigh the Cons here. Overall a superb resort with fantastic attention to detail. The people running this place truly "get it", and that's very refreshing. We would book here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BLS876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
A sincere thank you for your thoughtful review. There is no bigger accomplishment than to learn that you truly felt the “aloha spirit” from our staff. We will be sure to pass your wonderful comments along,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed there in May 2013 with my family. It was 4 of us and we got the beach front villa. It had a huge living room on the ground floor, with a furnished kitchen and a huge fridge. The living room had a big TV with a Nintendo Wii attached and a PS3. There was a room on the ground floor with 2 twin beds and a TV and a nice big bathroom. The master bedroom on the first floor had a nice walk-in closet and a nice big bathroom.

The pools are clean and the staff is great. The pool bar is awesome and is a great place to watch some sports while in the pool and enjoy a few Mai Tai's.

I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: The sea front villas are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spuhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Aloha! We’re thrilled you had the opportunity to experience one of our 2-bedroom villas. It truly is a vacation experience unlike any other. Please visit again soon - we'll be happy to pour you a tall Mai Tai upon your return! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing