We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea(Wailea)(Great Value!)
$364
$319
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$488
$399
Waldorf.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$469
$409
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$699
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
$636
$589
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$799
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$600
$407
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$479
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,826)
Filter reviews
4,826 results
Traveler rating
3,494
881
281
120
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,494
881
281
120
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsko restaurantcafe ciaosuite hotelnick's fish marketcanoe experienceadult poolfour seasonspresident's clubswim up barbreakfast buffetupper poolliving roomour honeymoontwo sinksocean viewwalk in showertop notch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,147 - 3,152 of 4,826 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Fairmont Kea Lani is relaxed luxury at its best. The always friendly and welcoming staff takes great interest in their guests. And the all suites resort is a wonderful way to kick back and relax while enjoying the blue Pacific.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Maui4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great for family, honeymoon,any type of vacation! Great service, great pools, rooms or suites are spacious. Service is very friendly and helpful. We have also stayed at the Westin on the other side of Maui, and we liked Kea Lani better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnetaL551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent five days of our honeymoon at the Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea, after spending five days in Kauai, and had a superb stay. The congratulations mini cupcakes delivered to us upon our arrival set us off on a sweet note, to be sure!

Wailea is SO much classier than the Kaanapali Beach area to begin with. It was our first visit to Maui, and Wailea was what I envisioned Maui resorts to be like....Kaanapali made me think of a mid-grade area in Florida. So once you're in Wailea, your options narrow. We peeked (and decided between) the Four Seasons next door, and the Grand Wailea next to that. While I think I could write of selling points for each of these beautiful resorts, I was really very happy that the Fairmont was our choice and home base for our time in Maui.

The grounds and pool area have a country-clubby feel to them.... in a good way. The poolside chairs were quite crowded, but I gather this is an issue at all of the local resorts. People seemed to reserve at the crack of dawn and barely return by lunch -- rude. The buildings are whitewashed and vaguely Mediterranean, and apparently Kea Lani means heavenly white, which I presume prevents them from painting the exterior a different color, but the facade does appear to need a fresh coat. Alas, we observed a lot of work being done around the hotel, which made us feel that they were taking pride in the property, and trying to keep things consistently improving.

The service here was truly top-notch, we were called by our names by every staff member and treated with the genuine Aloha spirit you hear so much about. We especially loved Rusti at the concierge desk, who helped us plan our Road to Hana drive day and our Haleakala trip immensely, but who also spoke with us so genuinely and with such warmth and passion for her home island.

We loved that all of the rooms at the Fairmont were suites (one of the reasons we chose the property) and felt that it gave good value for money. It is fantastic to have a completely separate living room for those times when one of us falls asleep and the other wants to watch tv. The small kitchen area was great too... we didn't have breakfast at the hotel at all, and instead stocked up in a Kihei supermarket on fruit, yogurt, cereal, and enjoyed breakfasts on our beautiful, spacious, unobstructed ocean view balcony...a nice way to eat at least one meal a day a bit more healthfully, and calmly (not to mention more cost-effectively). The bathrooms at the Fairmont were extraordinary -- truly one of the best hotel bathrooms I've seen...if only we could transport it home, and the Le Labo bath products were the cherry on top of that (though I'm sure the strong rose scent is a bit strong for some of the male persuasion.)

Our only dinner at the hotel was a private twilight dinner set up for us by friends, by Ko. It was fantastic, and though I can't speak completely to the Ko experience, the food and service was from the Ko kitchen and waitstaff and every piece of it was impeccable.

We did get a picnic basket and a few other snacks (nighttime ice cream!) from the Ciao Deli, which is a great option for lighter meals, snacks for the room, or things to take on the go.

After reading reviews on TA months in advance, my husband booked us on one of the canoe excursions from the hotel. It is so fabulous and it is free - bonus! We went out with one other couple and two guides at 7am in a Hawaiian outrigger canoe, heard tales of the culture, were shown the beauty of the coast, sealife, and jumped off to do a little snorkeling. Apparently it books up very quickly, so book in advance with a quick email to the hotel concierge!

We visited the Grand Wailea (general impressions -- busier, louder, maybe this translate to more "fun" -- music at the pool, better shops, less personal feeling) and the Four Seasons (if money is zero object, we would probably try the FS next time; grounds and public areas are pristine in the way only a FS can be, though the pool area seemed smaller, and there's a level of service at the FS that is almost untouchable).... though the suites at the Fairmont are hard to beat. You can't go wrong with any of these great hotels, but I was thrilled with our stay at the Fairmont Kea Lani and I hope we have an opportunity to return.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view, but I wish we asked for a higher floor for better views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VLnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just back from 5 days at the Fairmont Kea Lani. It was wonderful. The suite was spacious and comfortable, with a refrigerator and microwave so we didn't have to eat out all the time. The lanai overlooked a beautiful garden with the ocean in the background. The restaurants were great and we even had room service on our lanai, real elegance. They have a lifestyle menu that includes vegan, gluten free and just plain healthy eating choices. My husband went on a morning kayak/snorkeling trip that was extremely interesting. The best thing, though, was that whenever we had a request, the answer was always, "of course."
I would like to return in January to see the whales. They told us that you can watch them from all over the island and if you don't want to move very far, you can see them if you walk down to the beach and stay there for a while.

Room Tip: All suites. We had a garden view suite; don't know what you see from other side.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. It's terrific that you enjoyed your stay and had memorable experiences (there's really nothing like enjoying a meal on your lanai overlooking the ocean!). Our team strives to ensure all of our guest's needs are met, so we appreciate you recognizing the level of service you received. Please do visit again during whale season - it is a magical time of year on Maui. Thank you again and warmest aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Every year since 2006, our family of six grandchildren and six adults have been going to the Kea Lani for ten days of priceless memories. These memories were made possible by the resort staff starting with Jamie in reservations who sees to it, every time, that our requests are graciously met, Missy in Concierge who made sure that a Blu-ray DVD player was delivered so that we were able to have family night of watching 20 hours of The Lord of the Rings, and last but not least, the breakfast serving staff of Kea Lani Restaurant who welcomed us back with open warm arms. This is truly the Aloha Spirit. Mahalo, to these wonderful people at the Kea Lani.

Other reviewers have written in great details about the facilities at the Kea Lani; the suites, the beach, pools, spacious lawns, Cafe Ciao, thus no need for me to repeat them. I do want to confirm those who gave the facilities five stars rating.

As much as I hate to encourage more people to go to the Kea Lani (something about demand and supply -:)...) it is only fair to give the resort its proper credit. What makes the Kea Lani great for families besides the staff is the layout. It is cozy, intimate, and with wonderful spacious lawns for children to run and play. Having also stayed at the Grand Wailea, Sheraton Maui, Westin on Maui, the way this resort is laid out, both of my daughters are very comfortable in letting their children go alone from the suites to the pool and beach if there are other adult family members waiting at that end. Last year, after staying 10 nights at the Kea Lani, we went to the Disney Aulani resort on Oahu for three nights. After the first night, our six year old granddaughter said to me, "Nana, I like Hawaii better.." To her, the Kea Lani is Hawaii. Once again, I thank the Kea Lani for giving us another fabulous family reunion. Mahalo..See you in 2014!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Kea Lani for your family reunion year after year. It's incredibly gratifying to know that we contributed to your family memories. We'll be sure to especially recognize Jamie and Missy for their assistance. Our goal is to offer genuine service with the true spirit of aloha, and if we accomplished that for you, then we've done our job. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in 2014. Aloha and a hui ho!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews