We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to splurge, this is the place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 2, 2013

No regrets at spending 5 nights at this Fairmont! As usual, very professional staff, beautiful grounds, clean rooms, clean beach that offers easy water access. Our room had partial ocean view and was very quiet. This is an all-suite facility, and we loved having the extra space, in addition to a microwave and small refrigerator. Loved the large washroom, but we had so much to do I never used the gigantic soaking tub! Two lighted closets in addition to an entry closet with safe. Large television, and all the media hookups you might need.Large lanai with large table. And this is a beautiful area of Maui - we liked it better than what we saw in the Lahaina area. Would definitely recommend this Fairmont for special occasions!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorCalBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,032 - 3,038 of 4,643 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

My family and I stayed here just under a week. I recently read a review stating that the rooms are dated, but I have to say the lay out is preferred over your boxy run of the mill rooms that you'll find at many other hotels. No the room wasn't chic modern, but Fairmont still pulled it off with style and flair. Eventually some rooms will need updating but I still found our room better than the one we stayed at in Lahaina (another hotel 4.5 star) which was recently renovated. The washroom is huge, and the products Fairmont uses are of top quality. We were floored to come back to our room one afternoon to find all of our laundry had been neatly folded and placed in the drawers. Wow. So much care is taken...I'm not sure how much Fairmont invests into their staff training but it certainly pays off. Everyone everywhere is so pleasant and polite...they'll do whatever they can to help and they'll do it fast. Very impressed with that especially after staying at other hotels that rank the same as this. The restaurants here are great and the location is unbeatable. We seawalked all around Wailea and found we liked this location the best. The Grand Wailea has the small advantage with the pools for kids (also a small beach for kids), but the atmosphere is so much better at the Fairmont (as is the food and service...way better). Love the grounds and the beach is amazing here too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank One_with_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani in February for 8 nights for a romantic and relaxing vacation; we are high-end luxury travelers and don't speak highly of properties too often but this was a wonderful property with a wonderful staff

We stayed in an Deluxe Ocean View Suite which was huge and spacious with an amazing balcony and view of the Ocean and the property itself...highly recommended room class.

Observations/Compliments/Complaints:

- Perhaps the best concierge at any resort we've experienced. We used the concierge to arrange snorkeling trips, rounds of golf, restaurant reservations, etc. There were always multiple people manning the concierge desk and they all were extremely helpful.

- The Suite was huge and had a humoungous bathroom, but the shower only had one shower head and no shelf to put your shampoo/soap on...weird but a quibble nonetheless.

- Highly recommend playing Wailea Gold and Emerald golf courses right across the way from the resort...the resort shuttle takes you right over and brings you back when you're done.

- In terms of restaurants, we really liked Ko and had a bad experience at Nick's Fishmarket. Food was mediocre and service was lousy...had a server come over and ask us what course we were waiting for...should never happen at a good restaurant. We spoke with another staff member about it who said "I've heard that before, 99 times out of 100, its great, but that one time its bad, everything is bad" guess we were unlucky!

- Highly recommend having a drink at the lobby lounge and eating at Spago at the Four Seasons

- Staff was wonderfully friendly and accomodating. I wish they had a few more servers around the pools as at times it was hard to find someone

All in all though, these are just minor quibbles on what was a wonderful vacaiton for us. The grounds are beautiful, the pools were wonderful, most of the food was excellent and the service and stafff were awesome. If you're going to stay in Wailea, we highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eblnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your detailed and kind review. We’re thrilled to hear that your experience was wonderful overall and that the resort exceeded your expectations in many ways. We sincerely appreciate all your positive comments, especially regarding the exceptional service you received from our concierge staff. Please know your suggestions and feedback will most definitely be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just got back from a fantastic vacation to Hawaii (started in Kauai, then The Big Island) and ended with a week in Maui, at the Fairmont. WONDERFUL property, gorgeous grounds and a nice strip of beachfront property to utilize. My husband did go with his company, on an incentive based trip, so much of the day-to-day was planned for us. When we arrived, the property was beautiful, great customer service and welcome. Rooms were the best of all the places we did stay at – large, wonderful views, well appointed and checked on twice per day (one full clean in the AM, one to straighten up in the evening). Rooms were quiet and you were certainly able to keep the door open in the evening for a nice sleep (we did not face the pool, faced the Four Seasons/ocean. Pools were nice, and we did mix it up a bit by being at both the adult pool and then the swim up bar (in the kiddie pool, that was a bit odd but worked out). Beach was a great option as well with easily accessible location, good water to swim in, plenty of umbrellas, etc). Breakfast buffet was delicious with many options. Good location to the local shops/restaurants. Restaurants within the property are top-notch (Ko just was voted best restaurant on the island among other accolades). Staff was all very pleasant and friendly. LOVED our trip to Maui and this was a great property to experience!

Room Tip: Had the partial ocean view - faced the Four Seasons and had a great clear view of the ocean. Quiet i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a beautiful property with an attentive staff and great on site dining. My wife and I are currently in Suite 274 and are very disappointed as it is very dated. The room smells of foul and we cover the couch with a bed spread to make it suitable to sit on.

Stayed: April 2013
1  Thank 151J0hn_S151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We’re very sorry for your initial experience at the resort but appreciate you notifying the front desk so a hotel manager could immediately address your concerns . It’s wonderful to hear that you are enjoying your new suite. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Love this hotel. Spent the days being waited on near the beach. Great service and friendly staff. Everyone staff member was friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The first night we were stuck in a great room with a bad view. Complained to manager and he really hooked us up. We ended up with a great room, champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, and plumeria petals. We would stay here again. Very good staff.

Room Tip: Get middle of hotel for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $503 - $1,598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing