We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Nearby Hotels
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$1,260
$699
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$769
$619
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$599
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$529
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$1,545
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,933/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,917)
Filter reviews
4,917 results
Traveler rating
3,568
895
284
120
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,568
895
284
120
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsko restaurantcafe ciaosuite hotelnick's fish marketbreakfast buffetcanoe experiencefour seasonsadult poolpresident's clubtop notchswim up barupper poolliving roomour honeymoontwo sinksocean viewwalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
3,345 - 3,350 of 4,917 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife, 13 year old son and I stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani in April 2012. The moment we pulled up to this stunning resort in beautiful Wailea, we realized we were in for something very special.
The entire staff, from arrival until our departure, was attentive, friendly and more than accomodating to our every need. The grounds, restaurants, bars, and suites are all meticulously maintained and magnificent.
The pools and beach are the finest on Maui. We boogie boarded, snorkeled, and enjoyed
the fabulous view of the whales several times during our visit.
With the separate adult pool, waterslide, hot tubs, family pool with swim up bar and restaurant,
roomy grass areas to enjoy the sun in privacy, we couldn't have asked for a better experience.
It is across the road from the world renowned Wailea golf courses and located on the beach boardwalk, which we enjoyed strolling daily. If you are a golfer, you have 4 world class golf courses within five minutes to choose from. My son and I played daily while
my wife enjoyed the luxurious spa and relaxing in the cabanas by the pool
The Fairmont Kea Lani's roomy villas are unique to Wailea luxury resorts. Enormous bathrooms with marble throughout, spacious master bedroom and living area.
Our balcony had an unbelievable view of the water, beaches, mountains and neighboring
islands. Definitely, we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your wonderful review! We’re so pleased that you enjoyed the resort and Wailea - we agree that it is very special area of a very special island. We’ve passed along your comments to the team, especially noting the high level of service you received. Mahalo again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

What a lovely hotel . We stayed in a suite which was furnished well , lovely bathroom . The grounds of the hotel are landscaped to a high standard with various pool and grass areas for people who want crowds or a peaceful quiet spot. Breakfast buffet has everything that you could want , including friendly staff and resident wild birds that visit your table sometimes.
There are nice shops and a lovely shop with basic ingredients , lovely coffees and yogurts if you prefer a more spartan breakfast. . The main entrance has a beautiful colonial feel.
All in all a luxurious hotel with the friendly touch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gov711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My partner and I started at the Fairmont Kea Lani (first time for both of us) for six nights in mid-March 2013. We were pleased to receive a complimentary upgrade (without asking!) from a Garden View suite to a Partial Ocean View suite. The view of the ocean was amazing (see attached photos), and the lanai (balcony) was quite spacious (about twice the size of an average lanai at the Four Seasons Maui).

For a complete suite tour, check out my quick YouTube video at: http://youtu.be/Xg8noOnabmw

My only complaint about the room itself, is that on at least three separate occasions, when having the sliding glass door open to our lanai, we could smell cigarette smoke. We called the front desk the first time, and my partner spoke with the on-duty manager at least once. Unfortunately, this continued throughout the duration of our trip.

We spent the majority of our days at the Adult Pool - we rented a cabana for a handful of days on our trip and loved the extra perks that came with it. Along with excellent poolside service, we received a fruit plate, unlimited non-alcoholic drinks (water, juice, pop/soda, etc), and had poolside staff checking on us consistently throughout the day. Our favourite poolside server was Joel, and our favourite cabana staff were Isaac, Giovanni, Brandon, and others who I am forgetting their names, my apologies! There was only one small hiccup one day, actually our last day using the cabana, where a cabana attendant insisted we were in the wrong one, and went to check... upon returning he never mentioned anything and was probably a little embarrassed at his error. Not to worry!

We never had the breakfast buffet at the hotel, as we had heard the breakfast buffet at Duo at the Four Seasons Maui was better. We did, however, have dinner at Nick's Fishmarket on our first night, and loved our dishes (see separate review on restaurant's TripAdvisor page). We purchased to-go pizza and pasta dinners at Cafe Ciao a couple times, and were able to heat up our leftovers in the microwave provided in the room. This saved us money by making two dinners out of one - definitely a plus!

One little quirk I found a little odd, was that there is no staff/service elevator in the hotel, so we were constantly sharing the hotel with bellstaff and in-room dining staff. This was only an issue, in that, we were staying at the hotel during Spring Break, so there were many, many families, with lots of children. The elevators filled up rather quickly, with sometimes long waits for the next one, as the hotel staff were often with a luggage cart or in-room dining table in the elevator too.

The weather was amazing, it was only cloudy for two days of our trip, and even then, it didn't dampen our spirits, as the temperature was still great!

We would definitely stay at the Fairmont Kea Lani again as the rooms were bright and spacious, and we absolutely loved staying in Wailea!

Room Tip: Try your best to upgrade to at least a garden view or partial ocean view room; mountainside rooms face the road and/or parking lot.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Wow – thank you for the thorough review and fantastic YouTube video! You provided such a nice overview of your suite and we very much appreciate you sharing your experience. Many apologizes for the cigarette smoke. Our security team works very hard to enforce the no-smoking policy, but occasionally guests do break the rules. Also, please be assured that we have many service elevators throughout the hotel, and while our in-room dining team may occasionally utilize the main elevators, the service elevators are always used first. We’ve passed on your acknowledgement to the poolside staff (Joel, Isaac, Giovanni and Brandon) and, again, appreciate your feedback. Best wishes and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We are big Fairmont Fans but this Kea Lani exemplifies the highest level of the Aloha spirit, service, and client attention. We were able to secure an Ocean Villa, only 55 barefoot paces to the fabulous beach. Waves were intense for great boogie boarding, snorkeling, kayaking, shoreline whale watching all top drawer. And the Ocean Villas have a warm 3.5 ft deep splash pool about 12 ft in diameter. Totally awesome for relaxing after pounding in the surf. This is the epitome if good taste, with the best service in the world, so far as we know it. All staff seem truly happy and concerned with your every need. Prompt, courteous, efficient, and Maui laid back all at the same time. How could it be better? Adult pool cabana at $150 per day is a treat. Not really necessary for a great spot, but really great sun protection. Wear plenty of sunscreen when on the Kihei/Wailea/Makena side of Maui. Truly fabulous Fairmont Kea Kani. We will be back! I hope very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGA1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I can't say enough about this property! Our family stayed at the Fairmont Maui for 8 days in early March and we extended our stay by an extra two days because we loved it so much. The rooms were spacious and the view from our lanai was incredible. The Fairmont has truely created the perfect balance of a luxury hotel with the comfort we enjoy while on vacation. We expecially loved that there was plenty of room at the pools and at the beach so we never felt crowded. We had a wonderful dinner at Ko with amazing service and food. Great massage at the spa too! We will definitely return to the Fairmont Maui!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerrylcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews