We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Consistent with Fairmont experiences, the Kea Lani offers luxury and personalized service! From booking to arrival and through your stay, the Kea Lani staff takes extra measures to ensure a rewarding vacation even if you have to bring work with you. We arrived in the morning much earlier then check-in; but, the staff and concierge had arranged an outrigger canoe trip for us and also ensured we had access to wifi and the business center to wrap up work related loose ends before starting a quick weekend trip that fortunately felt longer as we basked in all the amenities and sun the Kea Lani had to offer. Though too many to list, the highlights of our stay included the super huge suite accommodation with spacious lanai; the quiet adult pool (1 of 3 pools); and, conveniently located and delicious Ko Restaurant! I hope to have the opportunity to stay here again in the near future!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TINAis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,157 - 3,163 of 4,695 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our first visit to the Fairmont Kea Lani and it was simply the best resort. The service was fantastic, the staff very friendly, the room was a little dated but well groomed and very comfortable. The property is amazing, the gardens unbelievable and the service impeccable! A wonderful experience, a very impressive 6-night stay! We loved it, good job Fairmont Kea Lani!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get an oceanfront view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Fairmont Kean Lani is a beautiful hotel in the Wailea area of Maui. This hotel and the Grand Wailea are the two premier properties in the Wailea area and this hotel does not disappoint. The rooms are spacious, well equipped, clean and comfortable. The service is top tier, never had a service issue and always had hotel staff members who were willing to go out of their way to help you! Overall this hotel, while expensive is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our family of four had a fantastic 6-night stay over the new year holiday. Although the hotel was full, the grounds never seemed crowded. The kids loved the pools and water slide. Mom and Dad enjoyed the swim-up bar. Great weather in this part of the Island (unlike windy Kapalua). Our suite was huge and featured a large HD TV and refrigerator. We enjoyed the food and service at KO so much, we ate dinner there twice.

Room Tip: Better views from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpatrickfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Disclaimer - this is our family hotel. We've been there 4 times and have our 5th planned out. For our last trip, we got a screaming deal on a villa from a travel website similar to Sniqueaway. Of course we justified it by saying, we'd just eat in the villa.

Check In Experience: We've always - ALWAYS - been impressed by the check in experience. They have greeted us with leis and kukui necklaces and then processed us quickly. When we've arrived early, they've immediately offered a room to change into our swimsuits. Most times, our room is ready before we make it to the pool. With our villa experience, there was none of that. When we arrived, we were immediately greeted by name and whisked away to the villa on a cart (a highlight for the boys) and told to stop by the front desk at my convenience to finalize the check in process. Yes, it cost a lot, but due to the discounting I got, not that much more than a normal room so I didn't expect anything. It went from great to wow. Well done.

The Villa: The Kea Lani has been wrapping up their remodeling and it shows. The room was immaculate and well-furnished. We had a two bedroom and stuck the boys downstairs and us upstairs. Both rooms were great - and had the bonus of removing us away from a couple fighting boys. The kitchen was a bit small, but worked. But honestly, that didn't matter. We mostly used the grill outside that was continuously cleaned and maintained for us. One small nit - we chose to use the grocery service and fully understood the surcharge for food. What was not explained to us was that any alcohol (as in that beer and a bottle of liquor) would be charged at banquet prices rather than retail + surcharge. I get it - it is probably a liquor regulation, but it shocked me out of a couple hundred extra at check out. Un-fun. We should have been informed.

The pool continues to be a draw. Even as our kids grow up, the stupid little water slide remains an incredible draw for them. Dane at the bar is a fixture (and I hope he'll be there this summer) and makes the Maui-priced drinks seem affordable with the banter. Now, we ended up eating at the pool more than we planned. It's a sticker shock thing. Any Maui resort in the Kea Lani's class will have a Maui-priced burger ($15+). It's not worth it, but it is what it is. The pool restaurant serves great food, just at Maui (or Vegas) prices. The service was great for us (and always has been - even when we've been on the other end of the room spectrum).

The beach was great. We brought some small shovels from our Cannon Beach excursions and the boys dug to the other side of the world when they weren't body-surfing. The staff is great at setting up the chairs and taking care of you. All in all, the pool/beach staff was great. My eldest and I went scuba-diving with the pool instructor just offshore. Great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whjSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your wonderful review. It’s always a pleasure to hear such nice compliments from a loyal return guest. We’re thrilled you had the opportunity to experience the villas and we appreciate you recognizing the high level of service your received during your stay. Please accept our apology for not properly communicating our liquor laws and the cost of purchasing alcohol through our grocery service. Your comments will be shared with the front office and in-room dining teams so we can better communicate with future guests. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon. Aloha and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

While the hotel is showing some of its age it is a great property i would come back to. All the rooms are suites which makes it nice with a little more room. The service from all staff has been excellent. There are three pools with one being adult only. The pool attendants will prepare your lounge chair for you which happens to be a nice cushioned lounger vs just a mesh one. There is a swim up bar as well. Water and juice services are complimentary. The SPA is great. The sound levels are very good and at no time did we ever have a problem finding a lounge chair and the hotel was sold out. A Great place for a Hawaiian vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGSSpeedyCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our stay at the Fairmont Kea Lani was very nice. We saved some money on our room by not choosing an ocean or garden view. We knew we were going to be site seeing a lot of the time and sleeping the majority of the time we were in the room. The pools were well kept with lots of towels, sunscreen, and beach chairs available. All the staff we came in contact with was very friendly. Over all the hotel had a very grand feel to it. Location wise we did have to drive a bit to get anywhere we were going as Kea Lani is located on a part of the island that has only one way in and out. The one thing we really disliked was how expensive the hotel breakfast buffet was without being all that good. ~$100 for three people!! (We had a complimentary breakfast buffet while at Embassy Suites Oahu and it was spectacular.) We learned our lesson after the first visit to the buffet. We bought some simple breakfast things for our room or went to an IHOP/Denny's type of place after that first morning. Overall we had a positive experience at the Fairmont Kea Lani and we would recommend them to anyone looking for a nice mid-range priced hotel on Maui.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moku_Malihini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
515 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Family Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $540 - $1,429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing