We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience, from a realistic traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“A wonderful experience, from a realistic traveller”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was out first trip to Hawaii and we stayed at the Fairmont for a week. We chose Fairmont because of past experiences at other Fairmont hotels. Overall, we were not disappointed.

Pros
-Best location on Maui (in Wailea). Despite little rainfall on the south side of the island, the planned resort area of Wailea is a manicured oasis, comparable to the best in the world.
-The public areas of the hotel (including the extensive grounds) are beautiful. While the building's architectural style is more suited to Mexico, its unique style grew on us.
-Elegant family friendly hotel without pretensions.
-When requested, we received excellent service from the staff. Note, we are "self-sufficient" and "independent" travellers, meaning we only need service when we ask for it. We did not have staff fawning over us at all times (which is good).
-Convenient local shuttle service with friendly drivers ready to help at a moments notice
-Large 1 bedroom suites. This was ideal for us as we needed 2 cribs (one in the bedroom and the other in the living room). When needed, we all had space and privacy.

Cons
- The tile and/or carpet in the hallways leading to the rooms is not very attractive or upscale and gives a below average feel to the guest experience.
- The room decor is not what I would expect of a tropical hotel. The style of the historic rooms in the Royal Hawaiian hotel (in Honolulu) comes to mind when I think of suitable decor. Beige walls, tan/brown/olive fabric is an odd choice when the colors of the landscape are so exotic and beautiful. I suspect the designer had limited choices given the destinct (non-Hawaiian) architural style of the building.

In summary, given our travel budget and our desire for an upscale family friendly experience, I would still choose the Fairmont. If we were without children, and could afford the Four Seasons, we would go there to be pampered in style.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloudshigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,110
    786
    242
    102
    41
See reviews for
1,611
1,651
51
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Definitely a beautiful hotel on a beautiful property in beautiful upscale Wailea. That all comes with a certain connotation of associated costs which are often quite exorbitant; but after all, they do cater to the upper echelon of society that has no issue with that. For example, service charges on room service were 2-3 times the price of the meal, a fruit platter costs $18, etc.

That being said, I'm sure that offsets the cost of other offered amenities which were quite helpful. These include free transportation within a certain radius, free loungers/umbrellas on the beach, free bicycle rentals, K-cups/Keurig in the room, getting lei'd on arrival, and fantastic housekeeping staff.

Compared to other Fairmont properties across North America, rooms were bigger and the bathroom was immaculate!

The pools have been discussed widely on this forum, and I agree that the placement of the adult vs. family pool seems to be the opposite of what one would expect. The hot tub is hidden by the family pool (which oddly houses the swim-up bar), but the water temperature is great!

Not sure I would stay there again for the price tag, but definitely did enjoy my experience.

Room Tip: Stayed in a partial ocean view, away from the pools, and very queit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank big_paan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The corner suite we stayed in at this Fairmont Hotel had a wrap-around deck with ocean views as well as interior grounds views, a luxurious bathroom with a soaking tub and separate shower, and a fabulously comfortable bed. The living room area was spacious and comfortable, as well. But the most spectacular aspect this hotel was the white sand beach. The water temperature in January was perfect even at 7:00 AM. We went snorkeling and canoeing off the beach; two great adventures. We saw several large sea turtles while both snorkeling and swimming at the beach. The whales were visible in the distance during every day of our stay which was wonderful to watch. Each morning we also walked along the lovely 1.5 mile coastal walkway. There were several pools available which we did not utilize. The restaurants had wonderful food and great service, but were a bit expensive. Overall, an incredible and relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfp6452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing stay with us and enjoyed all the resort has to offer especially our signature Kilohana Suite. We too love watching the whales and turtles right out front on beautiful Polo Beach, and this is the perfect time of year to do so. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo and A Hui Hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went to the Fairmont for the 2nd part of our honeymoon back in November. The hotel sits on the same strip with all of the other luxury hotels and is beautiful.

Checkin was easy and they upgraded us as we were a part of their Presidents club (I signed up for this right before the trip).

Rooms - When we arrived at our room it was very spacious and had a nice view of the hotel grounds. We were greeted by a basket filled with local treats courtesy of Liberty Travel as this hotel has their My Time feature.The bathroom was also very spacious as it had dual sinks and a separate tub.

Food - The food was good but definitely a bit on the pricey side if you are here with your family. As we were on our honeymoon we werent that concerned. I would definitely recommend including breakfast in your room rate when booking otherwise it is just too expensive. The pool bar also had really good food, the wings and their dreamsicle drinks are highly recommended. We only ordered room service once and it took too long and was not worth it.

Spa - my husband and I both had two massages during our stay. Our first one was by the ocean. If you are going to go this route I recommend booking it very early in the morning before the beach get packed. Our appt was at 11am and we kept hearing little kids screaming and playing on the beach. The 2nd massage in the Spa itself was very nice.

Hotel grounds - the hotel is very pretty and they take pride in keeping it clean. The grounds were beautiful and had plenty of space to lay out. If you are a smoker you probably will not like the one or two designated places that they have to smoke as it is out of the way. The pools were nice but I think they were oddly placed.

The adult only pool is right by where you have breakfast and there are kids running around. The kids pool is where the in-pool bar is located which makes no sense. They should switch the locations.

Overall I would definitely go back to the Fairmont.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It started with check-in. We were asked, via email to specify when we would arrive. We had to wait 3 hours from that time.

The papers we ordered were not delivered. On complaining, the desk person said that she didn't deliver the papers. We had probably the worst room in the hotel-across from a noisy ice machine, with a view of the street-like a basement apartment. This hotel seems geared towards the corporate crowd only.

Oh well, what do you expect for $500 + per night?

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank fglick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you had an overall wonderful stay, and enjoyed the resort’s well-manicured grounds and excellent service from our staff! As you mentioned, the Kea Lani architecture is very unique and we are proud say that the architect studied and was influenced by old Hawaiian palaces when designing the style of our building. Thank you again for your detailed comments and it would be our pleasure to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wonderful Greg by valet staff and front desk at check-in. All suite rooms with refrig and microwave and Kerrigan coffee maker. Beautiful grounds with multiple pools and slide. Awesome water slide. Coastal walk 1.5 miles

Room Tip: We chose garden view. Nice deck and dining table
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy147248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were spending Christmas on Maui and decided on the Christmas dinner buffet at the Kea Lani. The buffet was on Polo Lawn. A beautiful location. Eating outside was so nice. The quality of food was good, though the selection seemed limited. Very few kid-friendly options, especially for toddlers. They didn't even have a fruit/cheese platter available. There was only brie cheese available......not much of a cheese selection option. In general the food was good, there just wasn't much to pick from.

The premium drinks included were very good and the selection was very good as well. The entertainment was nice and many kids (and adults) did some dancing on the grassy lawn in front of the band. Our kids included! Lots of fun was had by all it seemed.

The biggest negative of this experience was the hilly seating. Meaning many tables (ours included) were placed on a big hall. We all looked like we were going to tip over sideways or backwards. It was an extreme angle. Completely unacceptable for the price paid (almost $150pp with taxes/tip). We had drinks nearly spilling over the edge due to the angle.

Will return next year? Doubtful, perhaps only if guaranteed a spot in a flat location. But really, close to half the tables were at an unacceptable angle. I felt sorry for the table behind us who had a worse angle than us. I thought the one guy was going to fall right out of his seat.....an that is no exaggeration! The seating for this dinner was a big disappointment.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HockeyFan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing