We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"Wonderful Service"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“"Wonderful Service"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Another beautiful Fairmont with outstanding service not to mention: "Location, Location, Location!" Of course you will pay very generously for it. There is little lacking, though, if anything. You will have a great time here so you're decision may come down to value. Prices for everything are super premium to the point of gouging like most resorts. A good example of one of my peeves is the super high prices on room service items that add an extra 20% tip/surcharge plus a $5.00 delivery charge! (Optional additional tipping if you don't want to appear cheap). Of course no one is making you order in and this is common practice. But caught off guard, this can really taint the experience. Maybe I shouldn't expect better from the caliber of Fairmont. Even when you can afford this level of accommodation and service, it's not good to feel gouged.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TucsonGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,853
    739
    230
    99
    40
See reviews for
1,447
1,532
46
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a great experience at this Fairmont property! The service and reception of the hotel was exceptional. A great place to catch up with friends to have a reunion and enjoy the surroundings. This hotel added to the great ambiance of what Maui has to offer and definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petruchak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed at the Kea Lani for the first time (usually rented condos in Kihei) - decided to splurge and stay in Wailea.

Pros - loved the location (nice walks, close to Wailea Shops and golf courses), lots of pools (found one that did not have any kids so a bit quieter), had a few restaurant choices, rooms were very large and was plenty of room for 2 people. Felt quite luxurious getting ready in the huge bathroom!

Cons - self parking. The stalls are ridiculously small and the lanes are so tight, you would have problems parking any mid-size vehicle. Other complaint would be the reservation of loungers at the pool. There were people reserving prime loungers all day and never show up. We actually watched 4 loungers be reserved from 8:00 am to 3:30 pm and no one showed up. While they allow 2 hour reservations (so that you can go eat), they really should not allow people to re-reserve for another 2 hours when they never showed up in the first place. The pool was quite busy and it was making people pretty annoyed that loungers were empty but not available for use.

Other than that, really nice resort - also has beach access so that was nice too. Would definitely stay there again (and rent a smaller car!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaChick18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review. We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the resort overall. However, we are sorry to learn about your experience at the pool. We take reviews like yours seriously and can assure you that your comments regarding the lounge chairs have been passed along to the Beach & Pool Department. We’re also happy to report that just last week, we re-striped the hotel’s parking lot making the parking stalls much easier to access. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plano, tx
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our second visit to the Fairmont Kea Lani. We stayed in November of this year and last year too. I was a bit worried that this second trip wouldn't be as good as the first but it was. The hotel location is perfect. Polo beach is just the right size and has good snorkeling. We watched dolphins and whales from our loungers on the lawn several afternoons. We did not have the breakfast buffet as part of our package this year but did pay to eat there for one breakfast. There are still many great options. And the birds still fight you for what is on your plate but all in all it was a good meal. The price is quite high so we opted for breakfast in our room most days. Although we did venture out into Kihei for breakfast some too. We also utilized the Caffe Ciao on the terrace level for sandwiches and gelato. And also their delicious macadamia nut shortbread cookies. The room was comfortable and the location fine. The room could have used painting but I wasn't bothered by it. You don't go to Maui to sit in your room. All the lanai's have a table and chairs for four as well as a lounger. It was a great place to eat a meal or watch the sunset. The room has a microwave, keurig, and mini-fridge so it was easy enough to keep things in the room to eat/drink. We stopped at the Safeway on 31 before checking in at the hotel for cereal, milk, soft drinks, etc....The rooms are very quiet and almost never heard any outside noise in spite of the fact that there were two wedding receptions practically underneath us on two different nights. Housekeeping does an excellent job. All in all it was a great stay once again. By the way...if you are in need of a massage you should request the lomi lomi massage with Noelle in the spa. Excellent!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leavingonajetplane40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

First time in Maui celebrating my Birthday and Anniversary. My boyfriend loves the Fairmont! We honestly have nothing but great things to say! Kea Lani is definitely exquisite and truly feels like an oasis. We can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShayL211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten at Ko several times during our visit and it is one of the finest restaurants that we have been in . The food and service are exceptional. It has panoramic views of the ocean and a beautiful decor that is themed in contemporary Maui ambiance. We have tried many others but we keep on coming back to Ko.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had an amazing vacation he week after Thanksgiving with my husband and our 2 daughters, 9 & 7. Our room was amazing and we had upper pool walkout access, so we did not have to use the elevator the whole week (this does not sound like a big deal, but it really was!). The facilites were lovely and the suite was a perfect size. In our many walks on the Wailea walkway, we would wonder why people paid to stay at the Grand Wailea or the Four Seasons, the rooms are smaller and frankly in looking at what they offered beach and poolside,the Fairmont,seemed so much better! For the week we were there, we were assured the hotel was at capacity, but it felt more like it was only half full. We could never figure out where the all the people were. Thekids dida half day and evening of the KeikiLani kids club and loved it. My husband and I each visited the spa and had some very relaxing treatments. As far as eating, we had some deli lunches to go from the Caffe (kids loved the pizza and be sure to try the "Made is Maui" Chic Natural Dry Roasted Chic peas -awesome snak food discovery for kids) and ate one dinner at Ko. It was outstanding. Very impressed with the food and service.
Had a wonderful trip, were some of the drinks and food expensive? Yes, but you are in Maui, where even the hole in the wall type restaurant charge $2.75 for a carton of milk!

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor on the upper pool side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maui's southern shores at Wailea, Fairmont Kea Lani is Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury oceanfront resort. Nestled on the pristine white sands of Polo Beach, this newly renovated Maui resort and spa is situated on 22 acres of lush tropical landscape and offers authentic Hawaiian cultural experiences in a truly spectacular setting. Resort amenities feature our award-winning 9,000 sq.ft. Willow Stream Spa, three swimming pools including an adults only pool and two lagoon style activity pools connected by a 140' water slide, 24-hour fitness center and wellness classes, Kids Club, water sports and beach activities, championship golf and tennis nearby and boutique shopping. Savor a variety of island inspired favorites in the resort's four restaurants. Casual, family and fine dining options include a gourmet bakery & deli, extensive breakfast buffet, relaxed poolside fare, and our award-winning signature restaurant Ko. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing