We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricey, but good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Spouse and I, and our adult son, recently enjoyed five nights, including Thanksgiving, at this property. It has been years since we stayed at a 'resort' hotel, but had done pre-travel research, and so were not taken by complete surprise by the prices. On the plus side, there is no daily resort fee and no charge for self-parking. We had booked through Costco and our price included buffet breakfast and a rental car. Both very nice. Were we to have paid for breakfast, the price would have been about $30. Steep enough, but then a $10 tip is automatically added. This for a self-serve buffet! That buffet was extensive and wonderful: papaya among the many fruits, all sorts of eggs, including Eggs Benedict, an omelet station, lox, cheeses, salami,etc. Also, miso soup, tofu, steamed rice, and pickled veg. All sorts of breads and rolls, cereal, for those so inclined (children?) They offer a juice called POG: papaya, orange, guava (I think) which is wonderful. I took mine in a to-go cup and stored it in the in-room fridge for later in the day.

As to the room, which is actually a suite: ours had two double beds, separate sitting room, two flat-screen TV's, microwave, bar area with its own sink, in-room safe, and balcony, with ocean view. The bathroom had two sinks (wonderful when rinsing out underwear), fabulous, deep tub (which fills quickly,) and separate shower, with good water pressure. Good towels, and when we asked for third bathrobe, it was quickly provided. Shampoo, etc, come in good-sized bottles, and were very nice.

Service was excellent. There was evening turn-down service. There is a complementary laundry should the family all have wet bathing suits, etc. As the property is large, some rooms, including ours, are not close to the elevator. No matter. It is nice to hear the birds chattering in the trees while walking to early breakfast.

The on-site spa (not inexpensive) was wonderful. It is possible to purchase food items from the cafe and store in fridge. There is complementary limo service to and from nearby hotels (Four Seasons and Grand Wailea, as well as Shops at Wailea, which includes several restos.)

Property is nicely landscaped, and includes its own beach as well as several pools. Our son availed himself of the pools and gym, and thought them fine. Son also enjoyed jogging map provided by hotel, and continued his marathon training. Spouse and I enjoyed an ocean-view walk to the Four Seasons and Grand Wailea hotels, and got picked up by Fairmont limo for ride back to hotel.

Restos on-site include Ko, which offered prix-fixe Thanksgiving dinner of turkey and fixings in very generous portions, and Nick's Fish Market, which offers really good seafood.

As there was so much to see on Maui, and driving here does take time, we were not able in our five days to fully enjoy all the hotel itself had to offer. It is possible to come here and relax poolside for days. We were out and about: see separate reviews of road to Hana, and Haleakala National Park.

I can think of nothing negative to say. The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui was wonderful. And, no, I do not work for Fairmont, nor were we compensated in any way for this review.

Room Tip: Members of the Fairmont President's Club get discount at Spa, and other amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbeth1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,094 - 3,100 of 4,547 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

I like this hotel. It is like a white palace sitting in the middle of the Wailea jungle. The hotel itself is fantastic with large suites situated on a nice little beach with spectacular gardens and three pools.

The typical Fairmont service was also above board. A family member got sick while at the hotel and they extended our checkout time, kindly sent up chicken soup and checked in regularly to ensure things were ok.

During the day staff in the restaurants and activity centre were always pleasant and attentive. Our kids even got special attention.

All in all you can't beat Fairmont and its service. Highly recommended, especially for family getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seoulsoulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Aloha! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed the resort and we couldn’t be happier to hear how pleased you were with the high level of service. We’re so sorry that your family member was ill - it’s never fun to be sick on vacation! Thank you again for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a fabulous time at the Fairmont Kea Lani. The hotel was beautiful, relaxing, had excellent service throughout the property including at the beach and helpful, friendly staff who seemed genuinely happy to be working there. Our ocean view room was spacious (a full suite) with a very a very large balcony. The only thing I didn't really appreciate was the breakfast buffet. It was a bit overpriced for what they served. That being the only negative, it was a very relaxing vacation and I look forward to returning.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SueLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went to this hotel for our wedding week. While we were not married at the hotel, our family stayed there and loved it! We had guests ranging from ages 6-68, and everyone had a wonderful time! The night of our wedding, we were welcomed in our room by a bottle of champagne, a bottle of apple cider and chocolate covered strawberries! It was an unexpected touch and one that was greatly appreciated! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsmom2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We chose to stay here at the suggestion of family. The room worked really well for our kids (8+10); they had some space to chill and watch tv while my husband and I could relax in the bedroom with our books, laptops or the 2nd tv. Staff was courteous, friendly and responsive. The cleaning staff were especially efficient. Our room was often clean by the time we got back from breakfast.

My only negative interaction so far has been with the front desk staff woman when I enquired about a late check out. She indicated that our room was being used on the day when we leave (it's quiet here now, I'm not convinced this is true) and then offered us a villa for the 6 hours. The villa would cost $1200+.

We've had good breakfasts, enjoyed the spa, spent time at the pool and beach and this has been the only negative. We'll see if it can be resolved...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 102JJAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th anniversary in October. That trip made it our 5th trip to Maui (fourth to the Wailea area) and our first time staying at the Fairmont. It was by far our favorite experience in Maui. As far as the other hotels we've stayed in, what made it our favorite were a few thing's: no paying extra for parking our car; the rooms offered a lot of space so we didn't feel crowded; great balcony space; room was always clean; the staff were always welcoming and helpful; the pool was great and we always found seating; the pool food was good as where other places we've found it to be lacking; the pool bar offered a happy hour. Parking in the garage was sometimes hard to find a spot if you came back late. With that being our only gripe, we have to say that we will for sure be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Hotel is fabulous. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The staff friendly and housekeeping is on top of thier game. Turndown service, although not always used, was very nice. This review is for someone like me. Are you frugal and like to discover what the Island has to offer? Then you probably want to stay somewhere else. Why? I found it hard for my frugal constitution to enjoy myself becuase the prices were too high. Breakfast buffet for two $90 bucks! $400 a night for the room! Room services prices are soo outrageous and they add a 20% tip on top. I could not bring myself to do it. (don't think you can get food delivered either since they do not allow that. I was complaining to my wife and child becuase of the prices, and even thought the hotel is awesome and some might say worth every penny. I was too cheap to enjoy it. Besides we spent much of the time out of the hotel exploring the Island and not enjoying the room or resort.. If you are ike me, and think finally you are going to splurge don't do it. This is not a knock on the hotel or its staff, it is a personal idiosyncracy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyRiverside_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
23.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $482 - $2,127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing