We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splurge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Splurge”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was my splurge but it was absolutely worth it. The hotel is gorgeous and the service amazing. The beach was incredible and there was no fee for towels, chairs and umbrellas as long as they last (I never had a problem getting any); the guys working on the beach were very helpful and friendly. The lack of a resort fee was appreciated as were the free daily classes and, of course, the lei at check in. I planned to spend a lot of time snorkeling, swimming and doing absolutely nothing; the Fairmont was definitely a great place to do exactly that. It is far from pretty much everything though, so if you're looking for a bustling tourist area, stay up north. I booked a cheaper "garden" room. Although the hallway to the rooms was extremely dark and they were on the ground/seemingly basement floor, the rooms were gorgeous and are full luxury suites with sliding glass doors to the garden.

Room Tip: If you mind being on a ground floor, don't choose a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AD_WDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,214
    804
    256
    107
    43
See reviews for
1,706
1,687
51
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Fairmont Kea Lani - best part of our honeymoon! Beautiful beach, excellent service and great location from the airport ( 30 min max.) excellence comes with a price tag - drinks and food are not on the cheap side but if you rent a car - the options are unlimited within a few minutes! Must go to Wailea and the fairmont!

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean view- if it's your honeymoon... Do it... you won't regret it... We don't :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meli_m11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

After spending two weeks in condo rentals on Maui we ended our heavenly Hawaii trip a Kea Lani in an oceanfront suite. We stayed here years ago and liked it, but this time we loved it. From checkin with smiles and leis, to a happy-go-lucky maid who was always smiling, to the food and service, it was seamless. Smokers should know that there are only three spots to puff here and they are far from the hotel, which caused some consternation from nicotine habitues. Other than that it can't be beat save for the very high price, very high, recently saw rooms for $900 a night as lowest rate.
Loved dining at Ko but really enjoyed taking food out of th Ciao Cafe and eating it on our lanai. One night we took out food from Peter Merriman's Monkeypod and got a bottle of wine and ate again on the lanai. We didn't have a cork screw but the gracious conceirge gave us one happily.
We shopped at Times Market for wine (too expensive in the hoitel's deli or room service) got bottles for $10 or less there, it's great market about 10 minute drive away, there's also a Safeway and Foodland.
The beach is great and the hotel has several nautical diversions for sale. Clientele seems well-heeled, many had two or three tiny tots all well behaved. There's an adult pool recommended for those without kids. To defray costs they have happy hours in the restaurants, almot forgot to mention that.
The grounds are not only immaculate but feature lovely areas to sit and meditate. It was the perfect ending to a perfect stay on Maui.

Room Tip: Get a couples massage in a cabana by the sea. It was amazing. If price is no object book a villa by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pattithediva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

For couples looking for a quiet and relaxing experience, this busy hotel can come up short -- Kea Lani is filled with families and event groups. The hotel was full during our stay which made room changing difficult; our first room assignment was a "mountain view" that over looked the main street and parking garage and was over a kitchen vent that smelled strongly of food cooking 24/7 -- not pleasant for guests who prefer to sleep with open windows/doors. The staff worked hard to move us and we appreciated their efforts even though we had to pay more for an upgraded room.

In general, service was excellent from the bellmen and front desk to the beach and pool staff. Small touches were appreciated -- I loved the cold towels and pineapple snacks at the pool that others have also mentioned.

The rooms are large and comfortable and every room is a "suite" with a living room and bedroom, and the bathroom contains an enormous bathtub and separate shower. Two screened sliding glass doors allow for lots of fresh air and open onto expansive decks, making the living space feel even larger. The microwave, fridge, coffee maker and bar sink are a huge asset and provide familes a less costly way to eat as the hotel restaurants are excellent and expensive.

Unlike other Hawaii hotels where we have stayed, Kea Lani orients itself to the 3 pools (one thankfully for adults) rather than to the ocean and beach. An "ocean view" room offers a long view of the beach and ocean but it is quite far away. We were disappointed that the core of the hotel feels so far from the beach, and that there is no beach-side food or beverage service.

The hotel location is an asset: Wailea is a pleasant resort area with nearby golfing, shopping and dining options and Kea Lani offers a complementary shuttle making a car unnecessary. The beach boardwalk path in front of Kea Lani offers a great walk/jog place with wonderful views and is well used even very early in the morning. We walked daily and were able to get some exercise before hitting the decadent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

A family vacation at Thanksgiving for some warm Hawaii sun and water. We've stayed at the Kea Lani about a dozen times. Each time has been good - good service, restaurants, public areas and room. Great location with large and beautiful pools, water slide, and great beach with easy access to snorkel with plentiful fish and sweet graceful sea turtles. The new Ko restaurant is definitely worth trying - especially for the Ahi seared at table on a hot stone. The fresh local catch is also a no brainer.

A few cons: the mattresses were saggy, but in all fairness, we didn't complain or ask that they be replaced. The water pressure has been ratcheted way back. I congratulate them on conservation efforts, but it is now difficult to wash.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel because of it's luxurious, family friendly hospitality without being 'Disneyesque'. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurastravels46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our one week at the Kea Lani, Maui was a great experience in a region with many "luxury" hotels to choose from. The rooms, with sitting room & bedroom, are spacious and well outfitted with coffee maker, tea, microwave & bar size refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable with tropical weight linens. Especially apreciated was the Caffe Ciao for simple breakfast pastries or light dinners. The multiple pools and the lawn overlooking the beach were diverse enought that we never felt crowded. The lovely beach has umbrellas and chaises available by request at the beach pavillion. All staff, from front desk, concierge, pool staff and housekeeping were cheerful and accommodating. Extra touches such as the pineapple chunks on a skewer and the cool cloths that were passed out by pool personnel sets the Kea Lani apart.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having stayed before at the Fairmont Mayakoba property in the Mexican Rivera, I expected great things out of this resort. Turns out, I was right. First off, let me comment on the resort's architecture. It was beautiful, and it made me feel like I was staying in a palace. The staff the entire time could not have been any better if they tried. Every trouble, question, or request we had did not go unanswered. The resort has 2 family pools and 1 adult pool. On top of this, it is also located right on the beach! Now on to the rooms, they were HUGE. You had a living room area, bedroom, full bath, and a large 180 degree balcony. This was truly a great experience and I would recommend this to anyone looking to have a great time in Maui.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vwporsche1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing