We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just arrived...dirty and not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Last year we stayed at the Ritz in Kapalua and had a great time. This year we decided to try Wailea and chose the Fairmont based on family friendly reviews and my work experiences at other fairmont properties. Unfortunately after a long flight with the family I walked into a run down room with tattered carpet and really tacky furniture. I have alerted the hotel staff to my concerns. We will see if they follow through in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Aloha, and mahalo (thank you) for your review. While we are sorry to hear that you initially didn’t care for the decor of the guestrooms, it’s wonderful to learn that you are enjoying your new suite and have chosen to extend your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. A hui hou kākou! (Until we meet again!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,489)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,072 - 3,078 of 4,493 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I just spent 9 days at Fairmont Kea Lani and it was amazing! Where to start? The hotel staff is by far the best I've ever experienced. They are courteous and friendly and always very helpful. We had a small issue when we checked in with ants in our room and the hotel manager was so gracious and quick to give us an upgraded room within minutes! And they sent champagne and strawberries for our trouble! Saw no bugs whatsoever the rest of the trip. I mean really none not even Mosquitos!

Best kept secret was they will drive you for free anywhere on wailea strip. And pick u up! So the shops, other hotels etc. it was really great to have especially if we wanted to drunk but didn't want to pay taxi fares.

Grounds are gorgeous and well kept. Rooms are all suites ( or you can rent a villa looked pretty swanky just a bit out of our price range) so you get a kitchenette, ( keurig coffee makers in room wine glasses champagne glasses), a huge bathroom with separate shower and bath tub two sinks, a living room area with a couch tv and desk and then a separate room with bed and tv. Both bedroom and living room have sliding door entrances onto the lanai. The lanai is quite spacious includes table and chairs and a lounge chair.

Pools there is an adult pool, a lower pool and an upper pool. Upper pool was our favorite. Swim up pool bar and water slide and didn't seem as crowded. Another great feature of hotel was they came around offering ice cold towels and pineapples. Loved that they didn't nickel and dime you. Towels are plentiful. Chairs are easy to find. They even have cold water and sunscreen available for free by the pools.

Beach was lovely. Good snorkeling can even see turtles! Pretty calm most of our stay. Not like beaches on north side with rough surf. Easy walk through grounds to get to and villas are practically on the beach.

Restaurants pretty much loved them all. Ko had awesome fried rice. We went during wailea restaurant week very awesome as the restaurants had price fix menus that were all excellent. The breakfast buffet place was good but the birds were pretty annoying. Probably only bad thing I can say is the birds they were worst by swim up pool bar and this restaurant. They dove right for your food. And I was always worried about getting pooped on ( luckily no one did that I saw) We did the cafe almost every morning it was great. Also got a packed lunch for our trip to Hana lots of great food well worth it.

Ok I know this is a bit long but so much to comment on! Hope you choose this resort really was awesome. We would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jinello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our first trip to Maui. We enjoyed every minute at the Fairmont Kea Lani. The staff went every extra mile to make us feel welcomed. Everyone made sure we had an enjoyable time.
The facility and grounds are beautiful. There are many outdoor niches and gardens where you can relax for a while in a beautiful setting.
Having three pools is a plus. Having one of them as the adult pool makes it easy to pick the activity level you want.
The room was large and elegant. We ate on our lanai often because the view was spectacular.
The beach is convenient and a good swimming beach. There is a paved walkway that parallels the beach for over a mile. It is flanked by a Hawaiian coastal garden. Very pleasant to walk in the morning or evening.
But the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff makes this a great place to stay. Everyone made this a special week for us.
---
Tip: Join the Fairmont President's Club before or at the start of your stay. It is free and has some advantages such as free WiFi in the rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Oriental bamboo garden also overlook the roosting area of many, many birds...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_from_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Kea Lani in October. This was our first stay at the property and our second trip to Maui. On our first trip we stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Kapalua and it is a very nice property but it has seen it's day and needs some attention. The weather on the South side of the island is also much better.

First off, the Kea Lani is in a great location and has a wonderful beach that has a nice sandy bottom. It's perfect for swimming, playing in the water, and body surfing. But, really there is nothing better than arriving at the hotel and feeling the stress you've been carrying around start to melt away. The staff at the hotel are so genuinely warm and gracious without being pretentious. I did not encounter a single employee who was anything less than helpful and friendly.

We were lucky enough to stay in an ocean front room on the 5th floor. The suites are laid out well and we felt like we had plenty of room to stretch out. The balcony was perfect for breakfast and had nice shade until about 2 pm until sunset.

Although the beds are super comfy, since we were on LA time we were up early, around 6 am every morning. I would recommend taking advantage of the morning to get coffee at the deli on the bottom level and then read the paper on a chaise lounge at the beach. The coffee at the deli is pretty good and they have pastries which are decent. We also recommend the swim up bar, there is really nothing like sitting in the pool sipping Pina Coladas. The grilled fish sandwich at the swim up bar is also really good. We also ate at Ko and the food was very good.

If you have a chance sign up for the canoe experience. It's a great way to start your day. We went on our last morning and a sea turtle swam right under the canoe. It was a wonderful memory to have on our last day in Hawaii.

Tips I would give to other travelers:

1. The hotel is great for families or couples. Normally, I would find it difficult for families to coexist with couples well but the Kea Lani has a few things right - the adult only pool, the kids pool and water slide, the restaurant selection, and the sound proofing.
2. The adults only pool is very popular and it does fill up in the morning if you want a chaise lounge get there early, around 10 am.
3. There is a washer dryer on the 5th floor and they sell laundry soap in the deli. It's nice to be able to run a load of laundry if you are there for a while.
4. There are great places to snorkel within a 15 min drive, try Makena Beach just down the road.
5. Sign up for the canoe experience. Even though it's early it's really cool and you might see sea turtles.
6. There is an ocean front path that is beautiful and connects the Kea Lani to the Four Seasons and Grand Wailea up the road. It's beautiful at sunset.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shirley12LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your detailed review and all of the great tips for our future guests. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate your comments on the friendliness of our staff. Your comments will absolutely be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Came to this hotel many times before we moved here. I love it! It has the nicest rooms that are perfect for a family and great location on Polo Beach. The kids loved the swimming pool with water slide. There are a few choices for food and all are great. The kids loved the all you can eat breakfast buffet. I recommend this hotel to all my friends and tell them to look for dates when you can get a deal because it isn't cheap. It's worth the extra cash though, don't go anywhere else! It's a beautiful hotel that really gives you the feeling of being on a hawaiian island.

Room Tip: corner suites are larger and have wrap around views.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Fairmont this past August with our two children, ages 8 & 9. We all enjoyed our experience. Here are the attributes we enjoyed the most:
Beautiful property
Large suites (Families can s-p-r-e-a-d out)
Professional and adept staff
Great beach
Kid friendly pool & slide
Several restaurants to choose from on site (kid friendly options)

Things to consider: This is a large property & no matter where your room is (unless your right next to the poo), you have to walk a decent amount to get to; the pool, the beach, restaurants, etc..
Dining is expensive (especially the restaurant located at the pool). Buying the breakfast package is a good idea - the buffet is well done & worth the price.
Not a boutique environment, so if large scale hotels are not your thing you might want to try a smaller venue.

All in all, we had a great time at the Kea Lani & would return. One last tip, try Monkeypods, a restaurant located about 5 minutes from the hotel. The food is excellent (healthy/Organic), atmosphere fun, they usually have a singer/musician playing Jack Johnson type music. Kids enjoyed it too :)

Room Tip: End units facing the ocean have wrap around balconies & great views!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerLisaFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

have been coming here for 20 years and never been disappointed. Rooms are suites so lots of space (good for families) and well-kept and clean despite the age. The food in all the restaurants is excellent. Cafe Ciao is a nice option for quick simple and relatively less expensive breakfast and lunch. The beach is the best on Wailea. The spa has good treatments (but limited other options). Not as gimmicky as the Grand Wailea or as luxe as the Four Seasons next door. But consistently great, warm service with a true local flavor, and they make you feel at home from the first aloha. Very relaxing and serene; if you want crowds, nightlife, or Disney rides, maybe not the place for you.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it. Side rooms look out over condos and dirt.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skieyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $446 - $1,528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing