We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santos, SP
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Amazing place!!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Kea Lani and it was a great stay!! I've been in Maui before but not in Wailea, what a place!! Looks like a private condominium with amazing properties, I wish I have one on surroundings...I booked my stay through AMEX PTS so we've got daily complimentary breakfast, late checkout until 4pm and $100 to spend in food inside the resort. No upgrade was offered this time as I was already booked for a Deluxe Ocean View Suite and they said they could not upgrade me to the Kilohana Suite or the Villas, a little disappointing...but everything else was perfect.

Our suite had a very nice view of the ocean and the lagoon pool. The suite is a little bit dated but it's large as this is an all-suite hotel, I mean, every suite has a living room and a separated bedroom. All suites offer microwave and a wet bar which is good if you want to warm up something to eat. Breakfast was included for us and it was great, a lot of food to choose from. There is a nice place inside the property called Caffe Ciao where you can buy some food and drinks and take them to your suite to eat later. You can also make an order for hot food and get it 30 minutes later and take it to your suite and have dinner on your balcony with fantastic views.

The beach is much like a private one as it is limited on both sides by nature. Pool area is very nice and beautiful, with 2 lagoon pools (lower and upper) and one adult pool. If you like bicycles, the hotel also offers bikes for free which is is very nice to ride on all surroundings, stop at many different beaches and take a lot of pictures.

The resort is walking distance from the Wailea Shopping where you can find some shops and restaurants but at night there is not much to do in Wailea. The best thing to do is going to Lahaina, where the night happens, but you will need a car for that as it is about 28 miles away.

I rented a car at the airport when we arrived and kept it during all our stay so we could move everywhere, anytime we wanted. And if you want to do one of the best tours on Maui - see the sunrise at the Haleakala summit at 3000m - you're gonna need a car. You have to wake up very early (around 3:30am if you are at the Kea Lani) but it is MUST GO, DON'T MISS THIS PLACE!!

We loved everything at the resort and I highly recommend it. I will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Get a room at a high floor and ocean views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RodolphoBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,214
    804
    256
    107
    43
See reviews for
1,706
1,687
51
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Myers, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just returned from 10 nights at Faimont and 4 of us had wonderful stay. Had requested next-door suites and got them on 4th floor ocean view. Roomy and well appointed. Cafe Ciao was best for our breakfasts since we are not big breakfast eaters and brought food back to suite and ate outside with heavenly view. Ko restaurant has great bar and we had evening drinks there, but we disliked their menu and ate there only once. Tommy Bahama Restaurant at Wailea shops was a great place for dinner and we went there twice, close by and prices were not outrageous. Ate at Gannon's for lunch after golf at Wailea and also for dinner, another good place with beautiful views and close by. Went for morning walks on cliff walk and enjoyed the exercise and views. You pass by other hotels, Four Seasons, Marriott, etc. and I must say that the grounds at our hotel were much nicer than the others and also our beach. Other hotels share beach and we do not. Since Fairmont beach is at the end of walk, there are not lots of walkers and joggers coming by and there are no hotels on either side of Fairmont so we had more privacy and quiet. Hotel grounds are huge compared to the others and you are not constantly bumping into others and have lots more space. Get to beach at 8 for best time, not really hot and comfortable and leave before noon. Sign up for outrigger canoe ride, so much fun and one-hour rides starting at 6 a.m. fill up fast. Our husbands went out, there were only two openings, and they loved the exercise and fun . So, sign up as soon as you arrive for a space. Also, a beautiful and peaceful morning walk is one down by Clint Eastwood's house and bring a camera. Head down road to Polo beach, and keep walking to see beautiful oceanfront homes and beaches. Just go out back door where they pick you up for snorkel trip and take a right to get to ocean road. The three pools are all fine and we liked the one at the top with the slide and swim-up bar. Was least crowed and it is practically hidden. Staff at hotel took good care of us and were attentive at alll times. They bring you pineapple slices and water and take drink orders for you while at pool and beach. We did not use valet parking and parked on our own , parking spaces are not huge, we had a caddy and we managed okay. Sign up for president's club to get free wi-fi and golf clubs. Husband got 3 days of golf club rentals for free and got nice left-handed set of clubs for golf at Wailea. Played there3 times and got discount when you sign up for 3 rounds, Emerald and Gold course are wonderful, did not play the other one. Snorkel trio to Molikini was so much fun and they pick you up for it--a good idea since parking at dock is a nightmare. Magic show with Warren and Annabelle at Lahaina was a lot of fun, comedy and magic combined and luau at Old Lahaina was the best with a great show and is always booked, we signed up for it at home before we arrived to get a spot. This was our 6th vacation to Hawaii and we would not hesitate to return to the Fairmont for its location, service and beauty.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank virgogolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My favourite hotel in Hawaii, wonderful people, beautiful room. View was amazing the beach was great too, loved the grounds, had local people making wood creations and jewelers making jewelry. The pool was clean and the hot tubs were great. Rented surf equipment to ride the waves. We went shopping and bought our own salads etc to the room, much cheaper and sat on balcony to eat. Microwave so popcorn at night yay.

Room Tip: We liked the top floor in the middle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, WA
Level 6 Contributor
692 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is definitely a top of the line resort hotel. We had a fabulous 900+ sq ft suite on the 7th floor with an unobstructed water view, expensive but worth the cost. We were there in season but short of peak. It was somewhat crowded and it would appear that in peak that there would be lines for everything. Getting poolside lounges at the adult pool in the afternoon wasn’t a sure thing and on several days the pool attendants were not to be seen. The morning buffet, $34 + tax and gratuity, was nice, just not special. A family with children would probably be happy here if they want a four star resort. Valet parking was $20/night which was not unreasonable. The self park lot was laid out for their profit, not your convenience. The spaces were an absolute minimum in width and the aisle space between rows made parking a skill test. On our next Maui trip, we will look for something, hopefully as nice, but smaller, a little more intimate and quieter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review! We’re very glad that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your suite and the luxuriousness of the hotel. Please be assured that we have a project in the works to restripe our parking lot and make self-parking easier for our guests. Also, while we are having a busy fall, we very rarely have lines anywhere in the hotel and strive to ensure that we have more chaise lounges available than guests on property. We realize that a resort atmosphere isn’t for everyone, but do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Thank you again and warmest aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I returned once again to Fairmont Kea Lani Maui in Oct 2012 and after fifteen consecutive years, it keeps getting better. The hospitality is top-rated in that I have never felt they are "just doing their job". These are employees who excel at service. And the food is simple, moderately priced, and delicious whether you eat at their "KO" restaurant or Cafe Ciao. Thank-you, Fairmont Hotels for upholding such high standards in the hospitality industry.

Room Tip: Any room is great. The mountain view on a full moon night, or oceanside fills the need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyonmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent 5 glorous nights here and didn't want to leave. From the moment we arrived, the staff was excellent - all were friendly, inviting, and helpful. The grounds were immaculate and the lobby a stunning open air space, very tastefully done in our opinion! At check in we were upgraded to an ocean view room and provided a gift for dining at Ko. The room had an awesome view of the ocean and hotel grounds. The lani was large and perfect for lounging with a good drink in the evening. Inside the suite, everything was nice and tidy, we were pleased with just about everything - especially the bath products!

We used the upper pool on the days were we stayed at the hotel and found it relatively pieceful, with only a few minor noises from kids (and parents) using the water slide - nothing major though.

The food was very good at all the restaurants. If you're heading down the road to Hana definitely pick up one of their picknic lunches - you'll need it! Also go to the concierge and try to get the driving tour it's pretty good too.

We have recommended the hotel to our friends and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderinArlingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
598 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights as the second half of our honeymoon after a visit to Kauai. The fairmont was great. We were "upgraded" to a full ocean view room from a partial, but I don't know that this was truly an upgrade as during our stay we noticed they were doing quite a bit of exterior work (power washing, painting, etc.) on the side wing of the hotel which would have been most of the partial ocean view rooms. The suite was great, housekeeping came twice a day. The hotel gave us a free bottle of wine and dessert at their ko restaurant, as well as sending up a tray of chocolates at some point during the stay, I think they also sent us a bottle of champagne. We ate at nick's, ko, got sandwiches from their deli, and at poolside, and all food was great even if a little on the pricy side. The beach was great for swimming and snorkeling and we also did the outrigger canoe ride they offer in the mornings, which was fun. We saw turtles everytime we went out on the beach. The pool was great. October seems to be the low season so nothing was ever too crowded, and it was easy to get a cabana spot by the pool. The cabana use was free during our stay, but I think they normally change. I heard it was free because of the exterior work they were doing on some of the rooms on that side of the hotel.

We walked along the path in front of the resorts at sunset which was lovely. On night we got dinner and ice cream at the shops at wailea which wasn't too far of a walk.

While staying at the fairmont we took the trilogy boat snorkel tour to Molokini, drove the road to Hana, and drove up to the Haleakala craw all of which I'd highly recommend while on a trip to Maui. If you do the road to Hana stop and see the concierge before you go they will check out a cooler and an audio guide for your trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing