We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Hotels I've ever been to!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dirty Jerz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best Hotels I've ever been to!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Went here for our honeymoon and it was unbelievable. Breakfast was great! Pools were great! So many things to do close by. Great location. Wish we could have stayed longer. We left for Honolulu after 3 nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaykayelohel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,068
    784
    239
    102
    41
See reviews for
1,589
1,630
49
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (951)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N. California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were only here 4 nights, wish we had stayed longer because we really didn't have time to really explore Maui and enjoy the hotel amentities. Our Suite was a corner one with wraparound balcony, the view was a bit obscured to one side by the Polo Beach condos but it didn't bother us as we had a full view of Molokini and the ocean. I have read other reviews that said the rooms seem outdated, the furnishings seem newer and the room decor doesn't look outdated but they still have the popcorn ceilings and old light switches (those would have been an easy change in the remodel). Overall a very comfortable room with a large bathroom.

-Service was amazing, we were suprised how often we were referred to by name.
-Valet parking the first night and no resort fees or self parking fees is a refreshing change.
-We really appreciated having the hotel car available to take us to dinner
-The beach is large, from our room it was a 5+ minute walk, the adult pool is very nice.

As a side note, we checked out a room at the Marriott down the road (where we originally planned to stay). We were shown a garden view room so we couldn't compare views but the rooms were nicely furnished, the bathroom was on the smaller side (think Marriott Courtyard but Hawaiian decor). No comparison to the Kea Lani but not bad at all.

Room Tip: Get a package with a breakfast buffet, you may not need to eat again until dinner! I imagine any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruzerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is going to be lengthy, so read on... we want to give you a true assessment of our stay at this hotel. First of all, I want to point out that we had such lofty expectations for this place, but man, the rooms we were given left a lot to be desired. Upon arrival, we were given the "you booked through a third party" line, which meant you get the shaft, literally and figuratively. We got a dungeon on a bottom floor with a view of a tree and what appeared to be a parking lot behind it. For a couple celebrating a special anniversary, twin beds are not what we wanted. But since we booked through a "third party," it's all we were entitled to. Is it our fault for doing our homework and looking for the best deal possible? The kicker in all this, is that you don't have to lie. When pressed for a better room, the lady at the reception desk uttered the "we have no other rooms left, I'm so sorry." Of course, being season travelers, we know better. We got on the Kea Lani's website, and checked to see if they had vacancies, and what a surprise, they did! Just to make sure, we called them directly. We were told they had "lots of rooms including those with king-size beds!" Armed with this information, we politely insisted they give us a room to suit our needs. We weren't asking for an ocean view room or any other upgrades. "Sorry, maybe tomorrow we can switch you rooms." By then, we were tired and just wanted to eat, so we decided to save our energy and fight on the next day. On our march to the room, we noticed the hallway carpets are so worn out, you couldn't make out the pattern or colors any more. They were that faded. Once inside, we did notice the rooms are big by industry standards, big suites, but well appointed they are not. Renovated? Maybe 15 years ago. The initial room we were given had a scent that can only be described as half sweat, half mildew. The air conditioning ducts had lots of lint layers. The fans had these old rickety rattan blades. It was outdated South Pacific decor throughout. The ottoman in the living room had all these pen marks on it. No one in housekeeping had ever noticed it? Maybe tried to wipe it clean? The shower is on one side of the bathroom, towel rack across the way. The entire lay out is wacky. Once we came back from dinner, invigorated by a great meal, we dashed straight to the reception desk, and as politely as we could, asked to be given a better room, there was no way were spending a week in that armpit. They promised to try their best to give us another room. To their credit, they somehow scrambled to find one with a king-size bed in an upper floor, but we would have to wait till next afternoon. We figured, it was a moral victory. But happy ending, not quite. Turns out the room wasn't ready by the next afternoon, it was almost dark when it finally became available. We were told the previous guests didn't vacate till very late and thus the difficulty in "turing the room." To make it up to us, the bellmen would move all our gear. How nice! Don't you think? But once on the sixth floor, just like on the first, the carpets were gone beyond recognition. I can't believe they allow their guests to walk on these "mats." Inside our "new" room, it was more of the same, but with a king-size bed. I'm not embellishing or making this up... we wanted this place to be great, we wanted the wow but got the yuk factor. We've been to Maui about 10 times, we've stayed next door at the Grand Wailea, at the Ritz Carlton in Kapalua, the Honua Kai in Kaanapali and they all had the "it" factor. The Fairmont Kea Lani, or at least its rooms, apparently does not. Even the king-size bed that we fought for was a let down. It's obvious the mattress had not been turned over for months. It had that big ridge in the middle with the two dips on either side, you get the picture. What's more disappointing as we look back, is that we were made to feel it was our fault for booking through a "third party." As stated earlier, all we did was look for the best deal possible, something most of you are doing, right? Another downer was the state of the exercise room. It's small and does not offer many machines and no free weights, only dumb bells, heaviest 12lbs. Oh, when you try to self park, if you're driving anything bigger than a Pinto, you're in for a bit of fun. There's plenty of stalls, but the rows are only about 15 feet apart. Good luck pulling in and out of those spots. Who drew up this lot? They do have a nice parking structure, but there are signs posted everywhere warning you to stay out, it's all valet.
In all fairness, the Kea Lani's grounds are very nice, the beach is great for body surfing and/or boogie boarding. Boards are $9 an hour, $24 for the day, ouch! Fine snorkeling options are within walking distance. Poolside service was fine, $23 salads, other items are pricey, but that's the going rate. The free outrigger canoe ride is fantastic. Make sure you book weeks in advance of your arrival or you will not be able to secure a spot once you get there. They have three rides every week-day morning, only four riders per 45-50 minute trip. Restaurants looked very nice, we did not try them. We have a list of favorites in Maui that we hit every time we visit. All in all, it was a let down, we were expecting much more from the Fairmont Kea Lani. Be warned and watch out, especially if you "book through a third party."

Room Tip: Try the Times Market in Kihei for a great and inexpensive meal. Every Wednesday and Friday, they gri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BarrioTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review. We want to sincerely apologize for your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to create a welcoming environment that is grounded in exceptional service, and the fact that you were made to feel at fault is completely unacceptable. After reading your review, we have reminded our front office team that assisting a guest is the first priority, regardless of what channel he/she booked through. We want to also assure you that all of the corridor carpets throughout the hotel have been replaced within the last year and all of the suites were renovated less than two years ago with new furniture, paint, linens and amenities. We do realize that the parking stalls are tight and have plans to re-stripe the parking garage to create larger stalls. We hope you will consider returning to The Fairmont Kea Lani and giving us the opportunity to offer an exceptional experience. Thank you again for your valuable and candid feedback, as it is truly an opportunity for us to further enhance our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent eight amazing nights on our honeymoon late July. We had a long flight from Toronto through L.A. And arrived around 10:30 PM. We had a top floor room ocean view right smack in the middle of the building....the suite is amazing but we couldn't believe how large the balcony was.

Bought a pool cabana every day....$150 per but we found the service and exclusivity worth the cost. The food on site is quite expensive....we found the Whalers market down the street (Fairmont will shuttle and pick up for free) and loaded up with sandwiches, wine and more for lunches.

I booked the Lanai dinner for my new bride one night....a single table at sunset by the beach. Not cheap at $850.00.....insane in fact, but my fifth night was free through the booking so it evened out. Good food but the experience and pictures were what made the evening.

This is NOT an inexpensive property.....but my wife has made it clear it was a highlight of her life. If you (yeah, disgusting) smoke, be aware this is a very strict hotel. There are exactly three areas outside where you can smoke and that massive room balcony is not one of them. We had three phone calls from "Ted" in security.....here's a hint if you must.....turn on the shower full hot water and puff away.

Honeymoon I've always wanted on a beautiful island. Make sure you have the limit clearance on your CC!

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a more perfect stay. The room was massive, comfortable, and well-appointed, they upgraded us to an ocean view room, and provided us with chocolates during turn-down service one evening. Every employee encountered was a true professional, and the concierge went above and beyond to provide me with information on excursions and to book the excursions for me. They really understand the meaning of hospitality at this resort. I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Make sure to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugar1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We absolutely loved the Fairmont Kea Lani! The hotel is so beautiful and the staff (especially Evan at the front desk) made our wedding (9/10) and honeymoon stay fantastic! We cannot wait to go back to the Fairmont Kea Lani!

Sincerely,
Lorrie and Geoffrey Romer

Room Tip: Evan was wonderful - he made sure that we had an ocean view. It's an all-suite hotel and I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and they treated us great! They gave us a complimentary room upgrade for our honeymoon and sent us little treats while we were there. Make sure you become a member of the Presidents Club for more great deals. I could say a whole lot more, but instead of taking up more time reading my review Book your Stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing