We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Spokane
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Villa review”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have traveled to Maui many times with and without children. Splurged on this vacation with our two teen daughters over spring break. I can honestly say I can't think of one negative. We went during the height of spring break and I knew in advance that maui was going to be mobbed. The villa experience was total relaxation and peace in the midst of very busy and full occupancy resort and island.

We have previously stayed at the Wesin villas, Houna Kai, and several resorts and condos, none of which came remotely close to the fairmont villa stay. Of course the villa cost is far greater but for busy spring break it was worth every penny to have privacy and peace.

The villa came with an Avis car rental. We chose the four door jeep. Car rental was a breeze and we were in and out in five mins. We stopped by Costco but in hindsight I would have skipped it and opted for Safeway in Kihei. Many of the items we typically need from costco in Maui were provided by the resort such as waters, juice, milk, coffee, cream... And were replenished daily. The two bedroom villa also included breakfast daily for all four of us.

The hotel valet kept the tops to the jeep all week and put them back on before we left. The valet were excellent. Very friendly and fast. Villa came with valet for the duration of our stay. We stayed March 31- April 8. Our villa was not ready upon arrival so we relaxed in the lobby. I was glad it was not ready because it gave us a chance to enjoy the lobby and music. We had to check out of the villa at noon and our flight home didn't leave till 10 pm. The hotel gave us a room till we left and picked us up, transported everything to the hotel room at noon. The hotel checkout room was also very nice with a ocean view. I would have been very happy in a regular room if I was not traveling with my children and it was not spring break. Furnishings were similar but the villa had an upgrade on everything including bedding/pillows.

We stayed in the two bedroom ocean view villa. It had a good view of ocean but not the beach. You could see a little bit of the beach from upstairs bedroom. I guess the ocean view villas offered a little more privacy, not much foot traffic whereas the ocean front have the lawn and beach in front of them. I like to watch the ocean waves on the shore. If this is important I would recommend ocean front.

Some of the units have an upstairs balcony. Ours didn't but it didn't bother us. The master bedroom is upstairs. The entire upstairs is the master bedroom. The back door opens to the upstairs hallway and the stairs to mainfloor. The hallway upstairs is open to the lower level. Bedroom and bath upstairs are about the same size as the main floor bedroom/bath. The upstairs bedroom has slightly better view, two large windows that open and a work desk looking out to the ocean. Master bedroom also has a large walk in closet located in the hallway. The master bedroom seemed a little brighter too and has a bedroom door vs the mainfloor bedroom which has sliding doors that open to the Living room. The benefit to the mainfloor bedroom is the windows that are floor to ceiling and open to the patio and while they are not doors, my kids used them as such.

The unit had everthing needed including a basket of pool towels just inside the door. Housekeeping came at least twice a day. They were never intrusive. Seemed like they would just be finishing up in the morning when we returned from breakfast or come for turndown when we were outside. They would have the kitchen dishes done and beds turned down just at the right time. It was nice not to even worry about dishes. Someone even cleaned the BBQ after use.

All hook ups provided for iPod, Bose systems in living and bedrooms to easily hook up pandora for music. There was also a wii system and board games. The hotel pools and beach were crowded. We used the Hotel pool one afternoon but I really enjoyed laying on an air mattress in our own little pool. Trained the kids to make the worlds best smoothies every afternoon with yummy fresh local fruits.

There were a few private parties on the lawn in front of villas and we enjoyed their music while sitting on our patio in the evenings.

The beach was very nice but again crowded. Snorkeled there one am and took the canoe ride that the hotel provides. Otherwise went to Big Beach up the road which we liked much better for beach, snorkeling and boogie boarding.

Did a zip line one afternoon. It was last min. Called concierge and they booked for us.

We ate at Ko on our last night. Wish we had tried it earlier. It was fabulous. Prices were very reasonable for Maui. Service and food excellent.

Also ate at pizza place up the road called mateos? Very good. Breakfast food at resort was fine but would not have paid for had it not been part of package. It was better than most hotel buffet breakfasts but after 8 days I was done with it. Easter morning they had egg hunts and the Easter bunny for the little kids.

Cafe ciao was a fun little store with the basics and gelato that came a close second to Italy's. There were also some shops on site and local artists selling some fun reasonably priced things.

All in all I would have to say this was by far the most relaxing vacation I've ever had. It was especially nice to enjoy our kids without tripping over them and to have complete privacy during spring break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank kimspokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Wow! What a wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that your experience in our villas was so memorable. Thank you so much for sharing and providing so much thoughtful advice and information for future travelers. We look forward to welcoming back you and your family very soon. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,171
    796
    248
    105
    41
See reviews for
1,665
1,669
51
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Just had first trip to Maui and stayed at Kea Lani, lovely hotel, clean and spacious and staff extremely friendly and courteous. Not much around Wailea and we hired a car to travel around. Beautiful beach safe and inviting. Rooms were clean and spacious. Have to get up early for prime real estate on beach or pool. Not a cheap place to stay. Internet is extra which for the price you pay to stay should be included, also found internet connection for my lap top slow. $20.00 per night for valet parking but they do offer a free car park which is first come first served, busy but we always found a spot. Would go back to Maui but would stay elsewhere just to see other areas and experience different hotels. Nice but maybe better somewhere else looking forward to finding out.

Room Tip: Ocean front corner suite large and balcony is great for in room dining with great sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This resort has it all. Beautiful grounds, spacious and clean suites, sweeping views of the Pacific, inviting pools including one with a swim up pool bar and an impressive open-air lobby. The restaurants are pricey but the food and service are worth every cent. It has a great sandy beach (Polo Beach) with many water activities available for your use. (for a fee) There is a great little shopping plaza within walking distance or you can take their complimentary shuttle. It is expensive but it's a classic case of "you get what you pay for."

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cangirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Would give it a 5 star rating except the lounge chair situation is terrible. There just isn't enough room for lounge chairs around the pools or on the beach. You have to pay extra to reserve a lounge chair or take your chances. Most chairs remain empty with towels on them for most of the day and the others are reserved. I really don't think one should pay extra for a lounge chair at a resort. Isn't that what you pay top $ for? With that said, I still enjoyed by 5 days at the Kea Lani because of location, the rooms are all suites with a large bathroom, the service was friendly and prompt, the place is beautiful. The carpets in the hallways are worn but clean and one elevator was out but since we were on third floor I mostly took the steps. The wifi did not work in our room but they came in about 5 minutes to install an new router which fixed the problem. We also requested extra pillows which also came in less than 5 minutes. We arrived at 4:00pm and room was not ready when check-in is at 3:00pm, but they bought us drinks at the bar until room was ready. The food at Ko was excellent. We had a moderate room which faced the mountain side with a large balcony. I never like to spend extra money on ocean view because I spend 90% of the time in my room sleeping. We watched sunsets from the beach and sunrises from our balcony. We were there at Spring break so that may be the reason it was so busy and there were no lounge chairs. Still, Ritz Carltons and Four Season hotels I've stayed at have never charged for lounge chair and umbrellas. It is really the only small negative in a lovely hotel with a great staff of very friendly people who provide excellent customer service. The adult pool is very large and a real plus. They have a shuttle service that will take you anywhere in the local area and pick you up, no charge. Kids enjoyed the hotel and the extra activities available to them. The gym is modest in size and we did not us the Spa. Beds were very comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skimat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had another excellent stay here. The grounds are beautiful, the staff attentive and friendly. The new room service menu with lots of healthy choices for adults and children was appreciated. My husband loves the self park option. The breakfast buffet pretty reasonably priced considering the quality. The pool and beach amenities were excellent. Shops for last minute beachwear quite reasonably priced as well. We felt comfortable here with 3 little kids, enjoyed our suite. The rooms themselves could use fresh carpeting, but really no other complaints. Next time might try out a villa or a bigger suite when kids larger.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weliketofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire, england
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had a very nice suite with an ocean view and in very good condition but the size of the hotel and the number of kids staying over the Easter vacation meant it was very busy and very noisy and the pool areas and beach very crowded.
Youngsters shouting off their balconies at 6.00am was also not appreciated.
I would say this place was fine for families with kids but....................

Room Tip: Don't go during school holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taffy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

What an amazing resort! Located on the best part of Maui with it's own private beach, Polo beach, go snorkeling, scuba diving, watch the sun set. Close to great restaurants. Spa is perfect. They have adult and kids pools. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love_the_808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
467 reviews
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Spa Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing