We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a Wedding/ Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
albuquerque
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Wedding/ Honeymoon”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, and beautiful location. My husband and I got married in Maui on 9/10/11. We decided to stay at the Fairmont. It was a fair price, good ratings and the pictures on their website looked captivating. It's in Waleia which is so beautiful. We were right next door to the Grand Waliea and the Four Seasons, which was accessible by a walking path overlooking the beach. The beaches are not private in Maui, but it seems they're pretty private at the hotels. Not too many people which is great if you want to relax without all of the noise. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The rooms are suites, which I loved...and our room had an ocean view!!!! We didn't get married at the Fairmont, but I did see several wedding taking place on the property. We did however get a couple's massage in the cabana near the beach which was heavenly. Great restaurants, shopping and sightseeing nearby. I would stay here again! Definitely!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberta88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,029
    775
    237
    101
    41
See reviews for
1,561
1,612
49
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The rooms at the Fairmont are huge, though the decorating could use an update. The bathrooms are very well-appointed and include a separate stand-up shower and soaking bath. The large entryway include a giant wet-bar, microwave, and mini-fridge. We had a top-floor suite with amazing views of the water and the sunset. Though we were back from the water we slept with the balcony doors open and fell asleep to the sound of the waves each night.

The Fairmont Kea Lani is located on Polo Beach. While the beach is not private it certainly feels that way. Plenty of staff are present to help you set down a beach chair and umbrella

Food at the Fairmont is pretty expensive. We ate at the Fish Market and everyone had a good meal. The breakfast buffet in the morning is $30, so I suggest heading to their deli instead. You'll still probably end up spending about $15 bucks, but they have great pastries and make a very good latte.

If you happen to scuba dive, they have a dive shop right on the resort affiliated with Prodiver. I had an excellent experience diving with them. They have sites right off of Polo Beach or you can take a boat out to the Molokini crater (you'll need to drive to the Kihei boat launch if you take this option).

Construction is ongoing at the resort, and the noise was noticeable both from my room and at the adults-only pool. I found it rather distracting.

I really enjoyed this resort, but I had the opportunity to check out the grounds at several nearby hotels and if I return I may venture somewhere new.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrendaM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in January 2012. Rooms were spacious; two rooms, and clean. The bathroom is quite large and the walk-in shower was nice. My husband and I just kept feeling like it is a nice hotel, but not as luxurious as other Fairmont's (in fact the most disappointing). The other's we have stayed at are in Seattle, Whistler, Vancouver, BC, and Bora Bora. So, those are all very nice properties so maybe that is our problem with the Maui location.

The architecture is strange, very middle eastern and the hallways reminded me of a Best Western or something. When you walk down these VERY long hallways, all you see at the end of them are EXIT signs and a door. No decorations on any of the walls and usually you would find a table or chair or vase or something at the end of the hallway.

We got an "ocean view" room and do not recommend paying the extra price. The hotel is located pretty far back from the beach so it's not like you can hear the waves crashing or anything. You can see the ocean from all the rooms except the ones in the very front of the hotel. Definitely not worth paying more for a full ocean view. Our deluxe ocean view room (we moved due to noise in our first room) had a great view of another hotel and if you looked to your left you could see the ocean but the majority of the view was of that other hotel (Polo Club?). The best view is from the beach so just go there! :)

The pools were nice, a lot of families having a great time going down the slide. But, again, I expected an attendant at the pool that would lay out your towels or get you settled with towels and bring you a drink (as the other hotels did) but the attendants (other than the pool waiters) just rolled up towels and left them on a table for you to grab yourself. Not a big deal but not as "fancy" as other Fairmonts. My friend actually ordered a drink from the adult pool and waited over an hour for it.

There is a nice beach and we could watch whales jumping any time of day. The food is very expensive but it's like that all over Maui. A cheeseburger by the pool is $20, the drink on special is $10. But, you can take a free shuttle to the Shops of Wailea (or drive) and have other options to eat.

One thing that was spectacular at this hotel was the front-desk staff. They made sure we were happy and accommodated the whole time. But, all-in-all, we were not that impressed. I would go back and don't really have anything terrible to say but would try a different hotel first.

Room Tip: Do not pay for an ocean view room. If you must, just get partial-ocean view...just as good, I promi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This was our second stay at the Kea Lani. We liked it the first time- liked it even better the second time. Perfect room accommodation for parents traveling with kids no matter their ages. Rooms include large bedroom, bathroom and outer sitting room. The pool area is spacious. The views from this hotel are magnificent- particularly the sunsets. The beach has plenty of chairs. There is a beautiful walkway connecting the Kea Lani to the adjacent properties. Whale watching from the hotel was excellent. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbetterthanwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Kea LANI is an all suite hotel located on Wailea Beach 35 minutes from Kahulani Airport. The suites have a main bedroom with either king bed or double double and adjacent sitting area with couch that converts to queen bed. There is also enough space for a rollaway so there is plenty of room and for a family of 4. The sitting room can be closed off from the main bedroom for privacy if travelling with children. The bathroom is extremely large and functional with separate shower/bath, twin basins, separate toilet. The rooms are pristine clean and extremely well serviced twice daily. If you can stretch the budget the rooms offering ocean views are well worth it - the lanais are spacious and you can enjoy the stunning views of the ocean and pools from your private lanai. The hotel has 3 large swimming pools including an adults only pool, private white sandy beach with plenty of lounges, large well manicured grounds and a beautiful lobby with views of the grounds and ocean. There is a small shopping mall on site that includes a deli which is excellent for reasonably priced drinks, lunch and snacks. The resort has a free shuttle within the Wailea area allowing for easy access to the Wailea Village Mall. If you wish to explore the island car rental is recommended and can be booked in advance or onsite (Avis desk in-house). The service at the hotel is fantastic, the staff are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The renovations to the restaurant did not affect us in anyway. The area is blocked off and noise was almost nil. The hotel's buffet breakfast is fablous with a large choice of hot and cold food including salads, fresh fruit, cheeses, yoghurts, breads and hot selection. We look forward to returning to the Kea Lani.

Room Tip: pay the extra for an ocean view - you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dhnafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I don't know what to say that others have not said. My family of four loved it. The staff was very nice, the room was great and we loved Maui.

I love nice hotels and travel quite a bit and the Fairmont stood out as great. I really wanted to stay at the Four Seasons but over Christmas they would not accept a reservation for only 5 nights. We were happy we ended up at the Fairmont!

Room Tip: We loved out Delux Oceanview room! Make sure you are not on the top floor if you want shade on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler1213Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great falls, mt
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 7 night business/pleasure stay. We always expect great things from a Fairmont property and by-in-large were not disappointed. As other reviewers have described, it is perfectly located near 2 other beautiful properties, shopping, golf, etc. The lobby is gorgeous and the highlight of the property. All the rooms are suites and well appointed.

There were a few flaws. They are in the middle a very modest renovation, including their celebrated restaurant Ko, and it was noisy at times and unfortunately our meeting room was near the renovation. On site food at Rex's Fish Market was marginally above average.

All in all, a terrific spot and while our experience was far from perfect, worth the price. Would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insecret9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
26.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
878 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Property: Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing