We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!”
Review of Four Seasons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever!”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Lots of words describe this resort:
romantic
family friendly
luxe
relaxing
best restaurants
stellar service
easy beach access

We stayed at FSMaui, The Fairmont Kea Lani, Grand Wailea and Marriott Wailea and this one RULED Wailea!
Grand Wailea was a MAJOR disappointment, completely unkempt and had terrible service. We didn't last 15 hours there. It was so bad we broke our reservations and literally ran back into the Four Seasons' open arms who were happy to put us back into our same amazing room at the same rate and I was pleasantly surprised when I noticed the carpet had been shampooed already!

Kids Club was fantastic!

We're so sold!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TableOf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,112
    490
    203
    93
    49
See reviews for
1,197
2,649
76
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed for our first time ever at a Four Seasons hotel. This was a special treat and we weren't disappointed. Were greeted with lei's and cold towels upon arrival, recieved excellent service by the pool (they lay down chair covers and then towels for you), they have lounge chairs on beach which is steps from hotel, sand buckets to borrow for small kids, free snorkel gear for 1 hour at a time, fruit offered while lounging on beach and by pool, while exercising they pour you water and give it to you at your treadmill, etc...The customer service is just beyond compare. My husband thought I was crazy but I loved the hawaiian music in the bathrooms- which were huge- they helped add to the tropical vacation ambiance. It is really expensive to stay, but have to say I didn't regret it and hope to save up some cash to go again- maybe without teenagers next time. Excellent snorkeling (saw eels and sea turtles) right outside hotel, but unfortunately were only able to go 1 day- other days were bad conditions. If you're there and the conditions are good- make sure to go out (even multiple times a day) and enjoy it because you never know if you'll get to go again. One negative- went for cocktails at lounge to see hawaiian dancer at night (nice ambiance great music and dancer) but cocktails and appetizer were the worst I ever had and I was very disappointed because I expected it to be great. Food by pool was good,but not sure what happened at the lounge.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank cakeshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed at the Four Seasons with my husband for our honeymoon this past August and it was hands down the best hotel we have ever been to. The service is incredible, the grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are spectacular! We spent most of our time at the adults’ only pool. It is quiet and private and simply stunning. One of the only negatives was the lack of seating there. During the week it was easy to get lounge chairs, but if you are there on a weekend, including Friday, it was not possible for us to get a spot. They will take your name and cell phone number and call you when there are chairs available. On a Friday we put our names on the list at 9:00 am and did not get called for chairs until 4:00 pm. That day we hung out at the main pool, which is still beautiful, but a lot of kids in the summer. If you can book a room that includes breakfast I’d highly recommend it. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, but very expensive. The fitness center was awesome, with views of the ocean! This was our first stay at a four seasons, and we plan on visiting many more in the future!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nybeachbumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The Four Seasons Wailea is a really huge hotel. It's more like a hotel than a resort/hideaway. But it is beautiful and the staffs are amazing!
Celebs seem to love it, too. ;)
We were greeted warm and personally and had a wonderful time there.
Because of high-season it often was hard to get pool chairs and we had to queue up for breakfast regularly. This was shock for us at a Four Seasons hotel.
We briefly told them that this is really uncommon for us but did not complain.
Later during our breakfast a supervisor came and offered us some complimentary food/drinks and apologized for the inconvenience. We also had a nice talk.
The professional and warm way they dealt with the "problem" was outstanding! We really felt the hotel cares about us which is the most important thing about luxury hotels.
We will come back for sure!!

PS: We loved the pool-chairs on the hill facing the ocean and West Maui!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cacktusjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

It is a fabulous property with great service. But, when a 'prime' ocean view room means over 80% of the view is of other hotel rooms, when an upgrade means moving to the 'worst' rooms of next category (i.e., lower floors, close to smoking areas), when paid wireless internet has two price-points - low bandwidth and broad-band, - I really wonder is this hotel worth staying just for better perceived service. I have never written a trip advisor review but thought important enough to now write. I convinced my wife to stay here as against Ritz based on some great experience with Four Seasons and some great reviews but the Four Seasons at hotel at Maui seemed over-hyped and not a place I expected it will be.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

This is one beautiful upscale resort you don't want to miss. My husband and I traveled here in August and I never wanted to leave. The resort itself and the grounds are immaculate. I felt like I was walking into a postcard or the vacation experience of Gatsby!

Upon arrival, we were laii'd and treated wonderfully. The resort just smells like fresh exotic flowers and the views are to die for. Our room was quite nice, with a massive bathroom and snacks. We even had a bottle of champagne delivered as it was our anniversary.

The resort is built into a hill so everything slopes down toward the beach. It was a bit windy down on the beach, so we usually opted to stay around the pool area (the serenity pool is the place to go) or one of the cabanas on the hillside.

The dining options were lovely, but very pricey. We went to Wolfgang's Spago restaurant and we each ordered a drink, and split 4 small plates. The bill almost reached $300. There are other places to eat around town though.

There are attendants all over the place waiting to put a towel on a chair for you, get you a beverage, spritz you with water or do anything you ask of them. Amazing service. I felt like royalty.

This is a place the celebrities vacation, that is how good it is. In fact, Eddie Murphy and his family was in the cabana next to us! He was with his family of course and people weren't bothering him like they probably would at other resorts. If you want a truly quality and memorable experience, book your vacation here. But also be prepared to spend alot of money!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichiganMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Four Seasons in Maui for 10 days, and were truly bathed in the lap of luxury. They upgraded us to a room with an ocean view. The food was wonderful, but expensive. The service was better than we have ever experienced. They even remembered your name when they came around to the pool chairs with wet towels. We wouldn't recommend this resort for kids, but if you are looking for a romantic escape then this hotel is one of the finest you'll find!! -:)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillychambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons

Property: Four Seasons
Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea, Maui
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing