We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$1,063
$599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$718
$639
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
$704
$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$628
$588
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Wailea Beach Villas(Wailea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,679)
Filter reviews
5,679 results
Traveler rating
4,716
552
238
110
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,716
552
238
110
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsserenity poolour honeymoontop notchclub levellobby loungeice waterping pongworth every pennycold towelsmain poolocean viewwaiting listpineappleoutrigger canoeimpeccable serviceadult poolpool staff
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 5,679 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We’ve been around a lot and stayed at all levels of inns, hotels and resorts. We’ve always be pleased with the Four Seasons experience, accepting that it comes at a price commensurate with its quality. Our stay so far, we’re toward the end of a week, has been fairly disappointing, and the prices approach gouging. Overall it’s been fine, but just not worth the money the way it should be.

Examples: 50 min wait for simple apps at the main lounge. No apology or explanation. 30$ simple cocktails. >50$ entrees for simply mediocre food at one of their signature restaurants. Minimal service around the main pool. Nearly 40$ to rent a boogie board for our son, with return before 3pm just when the afternoon waves get good (20$ to buy one down the street).

On the good side, the beach is nice, not rocky and with nice waves. Premises are still very nice. Gym and exercise equipment are quite good. And of course, those who work here are generally very kind.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank jmecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'm writing this directly from the so called "Serenity Pool" at the property while still being a guest for one more day and after having toured the Hawaiian islands for several weeks. My conclusion regarding the FS at Wailea is not an easy one. So I'll break it down:

The good:
- Spacious, modern and super clean rooms
- Perfect location at beautiful Wailea beach with phenomenal views
- Good service level (i.e.: FS-standard)

The bad:
- Overcrowded (over 300 rooms) and apparently popular with "newly rich" people (you may understand what I mean)
- Little/no privacy in basically any part of the resort (restaurants, pool area, etc.)
- Pricing of food and beverages beyond "Hawaii-normal" and not matched by the quality

Don't get me wrong, if this is your first visit to an FS beach hotel, then you still may be perfectly happy and rate this 5 stars. But if you have seen other luxory hotels throughout the world, then you can't help but wonder if you've mistakenly booked a standard beach hotel at the Italian riviera rather than a FS resort at Maui's "gold coast". You may think that this is just me being snobby, but ask yourself: what would you think, if the pool attendant told you to "get in line 6:30am tomorrow" in order to get a pool chair with some shade? Don't forget... you may be paying close to 1k USD per night for your room.

Was it a bad stay? No it was absolutely not! But now I understand why the staff member during my check out at the FS Hualalei (Big Island) answered just with a smile, when I told him, than my next stop would be the FS at Wailea. He was simply too polite to disappoint my expectations.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank VapAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha VapAir and thank you for your thorough review, the good and the bad. We take all critiques very seriously and use them as our motivation to try and improve. It was heartening to hear that you enjoyed your stay for the most part,.

While our resort is certainly very active, may I point out that we have 4 Four Seasons resorts in Hawaii on four different islands. Our resorts on the Big Island and Lanai are noted for being quiet getaways, which may be more to your liking.. Perhaps on your next visit to the islands you can give either of our sister resorts a try, and it would be my pleasure to personally assist. We only want happy guests, no matter which resort!

If I may assist personally, please send a message to our inbox and I will be happy to connect with you directly.

Warm regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am totally spoiled after spending a week at the Four Seasons in Wailea, Maui. Everything was spectacular. First of all it is a beautiful property. It is well planned out with a beautiful open air lobby, restaurants, pool and beach area. It is well done and not so large that you get lost.The ratio of employees to guests is very large and anytime you need anything there is someone there to help you. Employees are unfailingly kind, helpful and wonderful. There are three concierge on duty at all times. Multiple valets, and housekeeping is fantastic. Our room was great and we had one of the smaller rooms. Every thing you could possibly want or need during your stay has been anticipated. Everything is made easy for you. Beds comfortable, room is large and comfortable with porch and inside couch, even a rack for drying bathing suits. We tried all of the restaurants and they were all wonderful. Remember EVERYTHING on Maui is expensive and these restaurants were in line with what we found elsewhere on Maui in terms of price but the food was great. The best part is that the Four Seasons doesn’t nickel and dime you. There is no resort fee. Cabanas and beach chairs are free. You have to get up early to claim one but we were up early anyway because of the time change. We spend many days just sitting in our cabana where they come around every few minutes with water, snacks and taking food and drink orders or in general helping you with whatever you need. You can also get a chair and umbrella set up on the sandy beach at any time but there is no service down there. The beach is great. We were able to do some great snorkeling there on the calm days and do some fun wave jumping on the days when the swells came in. You are greeted the moment you arrive and it is all the personal touches that make it so special. We visited all the other Wailea hotel properties while we were there and walked around and easily concluded that the FourSeasons had them all beat by a mile! I had a massage at the spa one day and that was very impressive too. You can’t go wrong here. I will definitely be back just to stay at the Four Seasons again.

Room Tip: Don’t worry about ocean view...you wont be in your room much!
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha Swgirl12, and mahalo for your wonderful comments, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Your comments about cabanas and beach chairs are an important point that we take to heart. We currently have 73 cabanas across the resort that are offered complimentary, and we have plans to add more cabanas and sanctuaries. "Sanctuaries" are semi-private areas that directly overlook the beach and are carved into the side of the hill that descends down to tthe beach. So more shade is on the way! Thank you again for that comment.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for a secluded and private resort, this is your spot. The staff is friendly and accommodating. I cannot say anything negative about my stay, except that I had to go home! One of the nicest benefits of the hotel is the shuttle to the Wailea Shoppes and other locations in Wailea.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank terricleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha terricleaver, and mahalo for the kind review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

The complimentary shuttle is one of a long list of complimentary services the resort offers, (and we are the only resort on the island to NOT charge a resort fee). The shuttle will take our guest to all things Wailea - and pick you back up as well. Glad you enjoyed the service.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had stayed here years ago and wanted to come back to stay again. Customer service is very good at valet, front desk, pool and beach side. Room is nice and well acquainted w/ nice toiletries, robes, music in the bathroom, and coffee maker as well as a mini refrigerator. We tend to prefer it not filled up to allow us to do so. The hotel was very sweet and sent up a bottle of sparkling to celebrate our 30th. My only recommendation is ask how close your room is to the elevators. We did not pay for an ocean view as we were already priced higher than any of our other hotels from our trip and we had two rooms.
That being said, we had one of the worst rooms in the hotel on location. There are about 20 rooms or so that doesn't have much views and is the absolute furthest from the elevators. To get to the lobby or pool etc. is quite the schlep. The hotel is an old set up almost like a big U and instead of having an elevator near each set up rooms this is not the case so our room for example was the furthest distance as well as no view of the garden, pool, or beach.

Room Tip: I would go w/ ocean or garden view next time.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Lori H and mahalo for your comments. We take all feedback, good or bad, to heart and thank you for your honesty. I am sorry that the room you had was at the end of a long hallway.

The plus side of a U-shape building is that it allows for more rooms to have a view, and to further enhance the view the architects angled the balconies and created a wall between balconies as wel.l so as to offfer a more private experience.

The down side of a U-shape building is that some of the rooms on the back side do not have much of a view. These are called mountainside rooms, (not even mountainview rooms). We call them this so as not to mislead our guests into thinking they will have a view. Our sincere apologies that the rooms and the long walk were not to your liking though. Please feel free to send a direct message and I would love to explore how we can make your (hopefully) next stay more comfortable

Mahalo again and warm regards from sunny Maui!

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews