We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymooners - Great Service, Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2005

It may sound redundant but it is really true - amazing service at the FS. From the moment you get out of your car, to the front desk, to getting directions, dinner reservations, activity reservations - the whole nine yards.

Our favorite part was being led to covered chairs overlooking the beach and having servers bring drinks and free water refills and even an Evian spritz if you need it.

We dined at Ferraro's and Spago. Skip Spago and definitely reserve a table overlooking the ocean at Ferraro's for the amazing sunset. Great service at Ferraro's too. I would also recommend: David Paul's (chef's tasting menu), Sansei, Mama's Fish House, Jawz Fish Tacos, Old Lahaina Luau, Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour and biking down the volcano. Stay clear of the Road to Hana.

I would definitely go back to FS in a heartbeat as long as I don't drop dead from the prices.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank fivetools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,972 - 4,978 of 5,364 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2005

If you are looking for a first class hotel with first class service for an intimate getaway in Maui, look no further... Four Seasons Wailea is the perfect location. We not only stayed at the FS, we held an intimate wedding there in July. Everything was absolutely phenomenal.

FS vs. Other Wailea Resorts:
We were having a hard time deciding between FS and the other resort in Wailea and Kapalua. In a nutshell, this is what we were told and, we confirmed it after visiting the different hotels. Kapalua is very beautiful, peaceful, and private. They have some very nice hotels there (Ritz, Kapalua Bay); however, the weather is often wet up in that part of the island. At Wailea, we were torn between the FS and the Fairmont Kea Lani. We selected the FS for the intimacy and the service they provide, especially for weddings. We were not dissappointed. The Kea Lani is a more impressive looking hotel (the grounds, the lobby, the room size, the pool). But the FS is more intimate and provides the personal touch. The Grand Wailea is good if you want a lively party like atmosphere or if you have kids. But it's a bit busy for us honeymooners. Avoid the Renaissance Wailea. It's okay if you can get a great deal but it's not what I would call a five or even four star establishment. We stayed there for 2 nights after we checked out of the FS and regretted it.

The Four Seasons Wailea:
The grounds are beautiful but the lobby and entrance is a bit tame compared to some of the other Wailea resorts. The rooms are equally comfortable and well decorated, but the "ocean view" is only partial. Not too many rooms directly face the ocean. We had an Ocean View room on the Club Level and our room has a view of the ocean from the side. It directly looks into the Courtyard but you can see the ocean on the left side. It's a gorgeous room but just wanted to set the expecation that it's not oceanfront even though we paid $800+ a night. But what we liked about the FS is how they treat you. The service is not pretentious, not intrusive. Just very polite, friendly, and efficient. They provide you pretty much whatever you need and want, even though it's not on the menu or not a typical request. And the concierge staff is absolutely amazing. The beds are very comfortable, furniture very modern, and the bathroom was amazing both in size and decor. Great toilettries too. The best part is, everything is included in your stay (e.g. the cabanas, nice cushioned beach and pool chaise, snorkel rentals).

The Spa and Restaurants:
We dined at Spago and Ferraro's. We liked Ferraro's more than Spago. The ambiance is nicer (outdoors under a canopy of stars with tikki torches all around you and Don and Vance playing romantic music as you dine well prepared and efficiently served food), and we thought the food was better. What we had at Spago that we thought was amazing is the poke. That was to die for. My wife who does not even like sushi loved the poke. We had a couple massage at the Spa and used their facilities a couple of times. We thought is was only okay. We did the oceanside bungalow massage and kinda wished we did the indoor one instead. It was a bit noisy outside.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Mr_Skydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2005

Wife & I just returned after spending five wonderful nights at Four Seasons in Maui. The words just can't describe what a fabulous place it is. The grounds are beautiful and meticulously manicured. The beach is beautiful and not too crowded. The Fountain pool and waterfall pool, both are superb. Rooms have every possible amenity you could think of and many you couldn't even think of...shoe horns, umbrella, "itsy-bitsy book light", free shoe shine service, DVD player, etc, etc.

The food at Spago's is out of this world. Very pricey, of course, and the portions are pretty small, but probably the best food I have ever tasted.
Food quality at the other two restaurants is just average to good.

Four Seasons does not nickle & dime you. Parking is free, as are the beach umbrellas, chaise lounges, poolside cabanas, avian spritzers at the poolside, ice water drinks, chilled fruits, etc.

But the best part of this resort is impeccable service. You are treated like a royalty. The staff goes out of their way to please you. I could give you dozens of examples but then it would sound like a paid commercial. How about the Bellman who, after loading up our car as we were leaving the resort, ran in and brought us two chilled bottles of Avian for our trip to the airport!

We had a minor problem. On our last evening, all of the three restaurants were completely booked and room service was so overwhelmed that it took them almost 90 minutes to bring our dinner. Of course, I complained.
The room service manager called & "profusely" apologized and waived the charge for the dinner. The next morning, at the check out, the cashier apologized too. As soon as we got back home, someone from Four Seasons management called our house to again apologize and ask if there was anything else they could do for us!

Four Seasons, Maui is often rated as the best resort in maui and rightly so.

8  Thank msiqbalmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the FS in July for 3 nights, 20th anniv. Had lovely partial ocean view room overlooking the croquet grounds. Ground level room with walk-about the beautifully landscaped grounds. The staff sent a complimentary bottle of bubbly, and I had a $100 flower arrangement sent beforehand. The flowers were ordered throught the concierge and were fabulous!

Do the couples beach massage! Ablolutely wonderful. Rec. the bed and breakfast package, as the breakfast is $28 ea. ala carte' , and a great deal with the room.

Service is FS quality, and room attentiveness was addressed very quickly with a "Jackson" and written request of the times that I would like the room turned down and made up. Treat the staff well, they will really take care of you.

Ferraros food was very good, not great. The restaurant area by the beach is beautiful, but alot of the patrons there want to go get their picture done as the sun goes down, this interrupts everyones dinner, and the staff's routine.

Also did dinner at the Seawatch restaurant, don't waste your time. Service was terrible but food was ok, not terrific.

FS is one of the nicer hotels I've stayed in. Pricey, hey this is HI, and the Four Seasons. Very highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cavfilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2005

Good times at the Four Season Maui!! I made my reservations 3 months ago. We stayed in room 697 full ocean view at 745 per night. If you can not afford this hotel, stay someplace else. I purchased a glass of Pink Champagne and a glass of Chardonnay at dinner. You get what you pay for. The hotel was very nice and the food was good. The Italian restaurant was the best. Portions were small but better than leaving and eating at the Tommy Bahamas down the road in the shopping center. Breakfast was somewhat crowded with empty tables; this includes the restaurants. They must hold a few tables for the “rich and famous” or the kitchen can not keep up with the demand. Not a problem for us on this visit and I know I am not famous. lol
Funny how the last reviewer compared to the Far East Hotel; I didn’t fear for my life in Maui!! Lol Apple against oranges here.
There were three pools, two adult and one kiddy and of course the beach!! One very cool water fall and all the water fountains were nice visual effect as well. We had a great time hanging out by the pools and shopping at the hotel. The drinks by the pool were some what expensive but they were made with good quality products….like fresh fruit and only the best mixers. I would suggest the fresh blended pineapple served in the pineapple, Lava Flow and of course the Blue Hawaii! You’ll have to have one to appreciate it and worth every penny.
We also booked a scuba diving, snorkel adventure, surfing lessons and a round of golf all with the hotel. This is the best way because there are some cheesy venders for some of those events; i.e. free if you visit a time share!! Don’t fall for it. Your time on the island is more valuable. The 4 Seasons picks the company’s that are safe, good and it’s an easy bill to your room.
Cons: All 380 rooms were booked and you could see the staff was a bit over worked to keep up. The hotel has several Alcohol licenses, e.g. pool, each restaurant, lobby, room, etc. They must have had been issues with walking around with the booze …..Or they just want you to buy a drink at every location or there had been some under age drinking.
They really cover there assets on this resort. They don’t want to get in trouble so they have some restrictions more so than other 4 season resorts…none you can not live with. The pool is open 24 hours, newspaper, 24 hour room service, laundry service and other 5 star hotel services. I didn’t here the word no.
There was a wedding or event every night but not in an area that will disturb.
Feel free to email me if you want additional information and pictures. My girlfriend and I had a great time. Hope you enjoy the pictures.

Gary

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank blueacura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
19
Reviewed August 21, 2005

Late reveiw...just found the site a few months ago....

Went to the four seasons for my huneymoon. I had been with my family to hawaiian islands several times before. I was disapointed in the four seasons...esp for the rate and price of just about everything. Lunch at the pool was $100.00.

What I did n0t like was; a tiny pool and very little space to relax, lack of culture (I felt like i was at a four seasons in LA), Spagos i did not enjoy one minute, the hotel room was fairly old, the valet got my name giganticly wrong every single time...I would not usually mind...but on a h'moon you want your wife being addressed by the correct name.

What I did like; the bed, the people working the hotel (minus front desk), the food by the pool, the gym, lots of extras they do not charge for....the bathrooms...

What would really make this hotel for me would be another pool twice the size maybe an infinit pool and nicer set up at the beach.

To me this hotel could use some work.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Four Seasons for 5 nights of our 10 day/11 night honeymoon. We have traveled a good amount and spent time in luxury hotels with our parents, but we were blown away by the service, the beauty, and the sheer aura of this resort. We were not upgraded as the resort was quite full, but we knew that ahead of time, and spent the extra money for the view we wanted. Within minutes of getting to our room, room service arrived with a complimentary chilled bottle of champagne. The room was well appointed, spacious, and had a huge bathroom. It also included a good sized balcony. The pool area is somewhat small, but there are multiple nooks (on a grass lawn and elsewhere) where cabanas are also available, and these views are even more spectacular than sitting RIGHT by the pool. Beachside service with complimentary cabanas is also available and quickly turned into our favorite place to lounge. There is also excellent snorkeling off the Four Seasons beach. The spa and steam room facilities are to die for, with an oceanside "lomi lomi" massage the ultimate in relaxation and luxury. The food and drink, as others point out, is pricey, but it is also quite good. We opted for a "bed and breakfast" package which included a large buffet each morning, and it more than paid for itself. The famous Spage and less famous Ferraros were very good. The cost of the few amenities you do have to pay for still makes the experience worth it. The resort - and any time spent on maui - is a definite "splurge," but an excellent way to celebrate a special time or event.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DC_CoPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $644 - $1,873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a floor-to-ceiling transformation in the guest rooms, suites and beyond, the all new Four Seasons Resort Maui is taking perfection to new heights. Experience a better place to see, be seen, and be unseen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TravelUp, Expedia, Otel, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing