We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Four Seasons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2004

We went on our honeymoon from Sept. 13-18, 04 and choose The Four Seasons. What a fantastic and memorable honeymoon. We both definitely recommend this hotel for any honeymooners! From the time you arrive and are greeted with friendly smiles and leis. A complementary champagne bottle waiting in the room. The pampering you get at the hotel is great. We had a fabulous garden view room. Forget the extra expensive ocean view rooms, not worth it if soaking rays at the nice beach or the pool. Others reported that we would have to get up early for the cabinas, not a problem whatsoever. Plenty of spots and not alot of noisy kids running rampant. Although, they had a kiddy pool for the few families that were there. Well, you definitely will enjoy your stay very much here. It is located on in a more secluded area and very easy to get to if renting a car. Shopping is an enjoyable drive in a jeep to nearby towns 20-45 mins.(old Lahaina and Whalers Village). The restaurants had delicious food but very pricey. Expect to pay 5 star prices. Dinner for 2 approximately 100-150 buckeroos. What do you expect though. The views from the beach and restaurants were nothing less than gorgeous. They had a very nice gym and spa. Treadmilling while viewing the ocean and mountain, not in Columbus. If going on day trip ask for a cooler from room service and get food and drinks at the Safeway. In the short time we were there, we did the helicopter tour, road to Hana (take the back route same experience and more time to spend on the beach), and the bike ride 38 miles DOWN Haleakala Crater. OK, well negatives? Flight was long and be prepared. Got to stay only in Maui, although everyone thought this island was the best. Old Lahaina Luau sold out way in advance, supposedly most authentic. We went to the Hyatt Luau (not bad and recommended for 1st timers) Lastly, I would have to say the cost of the trip, but very very well spent for our honeymoon. The spurged was well worth it so save up! Have a happy trip.
KT and MA

Thank Khanh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,945 - 4,951 of 5,232 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Hackettstown, NJ
11
Reviewed September 25, 2004

Make NO mistake, this is an INCREDIBLE Resort.
My Wife & I stayed here in Sept. 2004 and LOVED
every moment of it. Our only DISMAY was discovering how unbelievably SMALL the Pool was for a resort of this caliber.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bay Area, CA
13
Reviewed September 19, 2004

We came for our honeymoon and stayed at the 4S, Maui for 4 nights(Sep 15-19) after a week on the big island. Can I say, this place treats you well!!...

Once we arrived and told them we were checking in, we were greeted with leis and escorted to the reception desk. the room was fabulous, not only with marble bathroom, but also a speaker above the bathtub with about 6-7 channels playing continuous music. we were fully stocked with products from l'occitane. there is complimentary kona coffee in the room, with the grinder and all. champagne for the honeymooners, need i say more?

the courtyard with fountain is very picturesque, with the gorgeous beach in the back.

pacific grill breakfast buffet is a great bet, with an assortment of fresh fruit, freshly made pastries and made to order pancakes/omelettes. if you're a fan of hot food items, the selection is limited. 4-5 fresh juices... i could go on.

we also ate at ferraro's, with a tremendous view. i would recommend after 8pm for a more romantic feel. the service good, the food so-so. if you want great food, nick's fishmarket at the kea lani, with amazing food and service. the opakapaka fish there is out of this world. we heard about mama's fish house north of kahului, but did not get there ourselves.

the beach in front of the 4s is very nice, with calm water in the morning. the beach concierge will set you up with a set of lounge chairs with cover. probably because i was bringing my own snorkeling gear, but he did seem to think at first that i'm not a guest. snorkeling is great off the beach.

there are many people at the beach and around the pool area, but we got a cabana around 2-3pm without a problem. if you want romantic lounging, try the beach around 7-9pm, you'll have the beach to yourselves.

the road to hana was very nice; we went on 2-3 short hikes, saw 5-6 waterfalls, some lava tubes, and gorgeous scenery.

all in all, this is exactly what we wanted for the last part of our honeymoon.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1146
Reviewed September 12, 2004

I was a refugee from another Wailea resort and the Four Seasons was salvation. The staff was especially helpful and sweet. Rooms and hotel best in that area. Very happy with food, pool area service and the spa is divine. There are so many hotel spas now many dissapoint, but not this one. I had two incredible treatments which surpassed expectations.
I will say that it is large and so it did not quite live up to the magazine hype about it-but I was very happy and would return.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2004

We stayed at the FS from 9/1 to 9/8. It was our first vacation in 3 years and we wanted the "best". The hotel is very nice and service is great.

However, there were many children here so not real quiet most of the time. We were a bit disappointed with our room. They don't really have any "oceanfront" room, just suites and we were not upgraded to a suite unless we wanted to pay $2450 per night - no way!

We had a beautiful view from 787 but we could not hear the ocean. We could hear the pool/fountain and kids. That's a bummer as we love to sleep to the sound of the ocean.

We ate at all 3 restaraunts several times and had 2 spa treatments.

Pacific Grill had wonderful food & service. Rick is a great waiter there and took good care of us. Their chocolate souffle dessert is incredible.

Spago's was good, but VERY expensive. We ate there twice and both times we were given tables with "blocked" ocean view when we specifically requested ocean front view. Also, both times we were there we were surrounded by tables with children. Some were very quiet and well behaved and a couple were not.

Ferraro's had good food and good service. In our opinion, Pacific Grill & Spago's had better food.

The construction around the pool was annoying at times but they really try to keep it as quiet as possible. We didn't have a problem getting a covered chair or cabana, but we are early birds and were usually down there by 8am.

The Spa was pretty incredible. We had oceanside massages at 8am the first morning. Really nice, but a lot of noise from the beach and the walking path that runs in front of the hale's. So if you want a completely "quiet" massage, better to do it indoors.

Our last day we booked the Couples Cocoon Experience. It was nice, but way too short/rushed of a treatment. It's only 50mins and it goes by really quick. Not sure if they let you book that one longer, but they should. You get 14mins total time in the steam shower & whirpool tub before you have to get out and into the Cocoon beds. It's a very WARM treatment and I felt a little claustraphobic during the treatment.

If we go back to Wailea, we'll try another hotel as this just didn't quite meet our expectations for the $$$$.

1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2004

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Four Seasons in Wailea (Sept 2 - 8) Our experience was much like the previous reviews. Everything we expected from a Four Seasons. We had a great great time. However last year we spent our honeymoon at Four Seasons Hualalai on the Big Island (Aug 25 - 31) We could not help compare the 2 locations. We definitely felt that Hualalai was far better and will more likely return to there again and not Wailea.

At Wailea, the hotel was more "hotel-y" It was a 8 story building with a ton of rooms. There was only 1 main pool, and you had to make an effort to covet a cabanna. Our mountain view room was very nice and spacious. We were above the parking garage, but did not hear traffic noise. We did hear some faucet/water noise, and alot of banging shut the lanai glass sliding door (you had to bang it shut in order for the lock to work - for some reason) Otherwise, we had pretty standard Four Seasons 5 star service (2 daily room service, very nice & helpful staff, champagne in our room because it was our anniversary, cold towels & water at the pool, etc etc) There was L'Occitane toiletries in room (love the smell of the milk soaps, but needed a heavier duty conditioner)

I did enjoy the outdoor gym that was available 24 hours. Headsets were provided to plug into TV on the equipment.

We ate at all 3 restaurants. Spago's was the only one we felt worth the money. I would suggest checking out other great eats outside of the resort (heard alot about Mama's Fish House but did not get to go - wish we did) Breakfast (buffet) at Pacific Grill was just OK. Great selection of fruits, too much selection of breads & pastries. Omelets always turned out brown or burnt (especially the egg white ones) Once again, we compared everything to Hualalai - and thus felt alot of things coming up short at Wailea. Hualalai had ALL SORTS OF exotic tropical fruits, and oatmeal, and porridge (Japanese breakfast) at their breakfast buffet. We had dinner at both Pacific Grill & Feraro's and felt they were also just OK. Spago's dinner was the best one. The food was great, the presentation of the food was great, and the staff was great. The prices at Spago's wasn't that much different from the other 2 places.

At Hualalai, all 3 restaurants were fabulous. All 3 offered very different fares. There was a super nice restaurant, there was a golf club house for casual food, then there was a restaurant by the Banyan Tree pool. They also had dinner buffets - which was the best! I felt that all 3 restaurants at Wailea were pretty much the same. Once again - there are alot of restaurants outside the resort, try to go outside.

Rooms at Hualalai were in 2 story bungalows. They had a more "island feeling" We were in a 2nd story one overlooking the 18th hole with the ocean in the far distant. There was a (free) laundry room for every couple bungalow. The staff had golf carts that took you from lobby to room, and around the resort upon check in to show you around.

There was not as much to do on the Big Island. The beach there was rocky and not much of it. We stayed in the resort mostly - no wait for a cabanna at the pool. There were various pools to pick from as well. The King's Pond was a unique one especially.

Beaches at Wailea was far better definitely. And there were alot more activities to do on Maui. We went to Molokini with Aqua Adventures (booked through hotel concierge) - and this was very worthwhile to do.

So it all depends on what kind of vacation you want. Wailea is more hustle bustle busy. Hualalai is lazy. Either way - both Four Seasons were great. We're glad we checked out Wailea but we prefer Hualalai.

10  Thank JulieFangKoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
co
12
Reviewed September 8, 2004

I forgot to mention that if you must go to maui and you must stay in wailea the FSR is your best option
I reccomend moving around on MAui and not just sitting at the beach
hana is cool by the way if you have ever been snorkling before dont bother with the $110 pp snorkling trip to molikini literaly 100's of boats 1000's of people and the "reef" very weak i guess its the only thing to do on maui in terms of snorkling outside a private trip

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
493 reviews
29.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons

Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $616 - $1,559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a floor-to-ceiling transformation in the guest rooms, suites and beyond, the all new Four Seasons Resort Maui is taking perfection to new heights. Experience a better place to see, be seen, and be unseen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea, Maui
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing