We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salvation”
Review of Four Seasons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Salvation”
Reviewed September 12, 2004

I was a refugee from another Wailea resort and the Four Seasons was salvation. The staff was especially helpful and sweet. Rooms and hotel best in that area. Very happy with food, pool area service and the spa is divine. There are so many hotel spas now many dissapoint, but not this one. I had two incredible treatments which surpassed expectations.
I will say that it is large and so it did not quite live up to the magazine hype about it-but I was very happy and would return.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,228
    497
    209
    97
    52
See reviews for
1,262
2,713
76
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2004

We stayed at the FS from 9/1 to 9/8. It was our first vacation in 3 years and we wanted the "best". The hotel is very nice and service is great.

However, there were many children here so not real quiet most of the time. We were a bit disappointed with our room. They don't really have any "oceanfront" room, just suites and we were not upgraded to a suite unless we wanted to pay $2450 per night - no way!

We had a beautiful view from 787 but we could not hear the ocean. We could hear the pool/fountain and kids. That's a bummer as we love to sleep to the sound of the ocean.

We ate at all 3 restaraunts several times and had 2 spa treatments.

Pacific Grill had wonderful food & service. Rick is a great waiter there and took good care of us. Their chocolate souffle dessert is incredible.

Spago's was good, but VERY expensive. We ate there twice and both times we were given tables with "blocked" ocean view when we specifically requested ocean front view. Also, both times we were there we were surrounded by tables with children. Some were very quiet and well behaved and a couple were not.

Ferraro's had good food and good service. In our opinion, Pacific Grill & Spago's had better food.

The construction around the pool was annoying at times but they really try to keep it as quiet as possible. We didn't have a problem getting a covered chair or cabana, but we are early birds and were usually down there by 8am.

The Spa was pretty incredible. We had oceanside massages at 8am the first morning. Really nice, but a lot of noise from the beach and the walking path that runs in front of the hale's. So if you want a completely "quiet" massage, better to do it indoors.

Our last day we booked the Couples Cocoon Experience. It was nice, but way too short/rushed of a treatment. It's only 50mins and it goes by really quick. Not sure if they let you book that one longer, but they should. You get 14mins total time in the steam shower & whirpool tub before you have to get out and into the Cocoon beds. It's a very WARM treatment and I felt a little claustraphobic during the treatment.

If we go back to Wailea, we'll try another hotel as this just didn't quite meet our expectations for the $$$$.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2004

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Four Seasons in Wailea (Sept 2 - 8) Our experience was much like the previous reviews. Everything we expected from a Four Seasons. We had a great great time. However last year we spent our honeymoon at Four Seasons Hualalai on the Big Island (Aug 25 - 31) We could not help compare the 2 locations. We definitely felt that Hualalai was far better and will more likely return to there again and not Wailea.

At Wailea, the hotel was more "hotel-y" It was a 8 story building with a ton of rooms. There was only 1 main pool, and you had to make an effort to covet a cabanna. Our mountain view room was very nice and spacious. We were above the parking garage, but did not hear traffic noise. We did hear some faucet/water noise, and alot of banging shut the lanai glass sliding door (you had to bang it shut in order for the lock to work - for some reason) Otherwise, we had pretty standard Four Seasons 5 star service (2 daily room service, very nice & helpful staff, champagne in our room because it was our anniversary, cold towels & water at the pool, etc etc) There was L'Occitane toiletries in room (love the smell of the milk soaps, but needed a heavier duty conditioner)

I did enjoy the outdoor gym that was available 24 hours. Headsets were provided to plug into TV on the equipment.

We ate at all 3 restaurants. Spago's was the only one we felt worth the money. I would suggest checking out other great eats outside of the resort (heard alot about Mama's Fish House but did not get to go - wish we did) Breakfast (buffet) at Pacific Grill was just OK. Great selection of fruits, too much selection of breads & pastries. Omelets always turned out brown or burnt (especially the egg white ones) Once again, we compared everything to Hualalai - and thus felt alot of things coming up short at Wailea. Hualalai had ALL SORTS OF exotic tropical fruits, and oatmeal, and porridge (Japanese breakfast) at their breakfast buffet. We had dinner at both Pacific Grill & Feraro's and felt they were also just OK. Spago's dinner was the best one. The food was great, the presentation of the food was great, and the staff was great. The prices at Spago's wasn't that much different from the other 2 places.

At Hualalai, all 3 restaurants were fabulous. All 3 offered very different fares. There was a super nice restaurant, there was a golf club house for casual food, then there was a restaurant by the Banyan Tree pool. They also had dinner buffets - which was the best! I felt that all 3 restaurants at Wailea were pretty much the same. Once again - there are alot of restaurants outside the resort, try to go outside.

Rooms at Hualalai were in 2 story bungalows. They had a more "island feeling" We were in a 2nd story one overlooking the 18th hole with the ocean in the far distant. There was a (free) laundry room for every couple bungalow. The staff had golf carts that took you from lobby to room, and around the resort upon check in to show you around.

There was not as much to do on the Big Island. The beach there was rocky and not much of it. We stayed in the resort mostly - no wait for a cabanna at the pool. There were various pools to pick from as well. The King's Pond was a unique one especially.

Beaches at Wailea was far better definitely. And there were alot more activities to do on Maui. We went to Molokini with Aqua Adventures (booked through hotel concierge) - and this was very worthwhile to do.

So it all depends on what kind of vacation you want. Wailea is more hustle bustle busy. Hualalai is lazy. Either way - both Four Seasons were great. We're glad we checked out Wailea but we prefer Hualalai.

Helpful?
10 Thank JulieFangKoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 8, 2004

I forgot to mention that if you must go to maui and you must stay in wailea the FSR is your best option
I reccomend moving around on MAui and not just sitting at the beach
hana is cool by the way if you have ever been snorkling before dont bother with the $110 pp snorkling trip to molikini literaly 100's of boats 1000's of people and the "reef" very weak i guess its the only thing to do on maui in terms of snorkling outside a private trip

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Y., N.Y.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2004

Our partial-ocean-view room was just gorgeous, as were the hotel grounds. The service is impeccable. The Four Seasons Maui is an incredible experience--your stay feels very special here.

Helpful?
Thank neewyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Four Seasons August 20 - 26, 2004. Overall we had a wonderful time and would stay there again. One thing to keep in mind if you are looking for a "romantic getaway", etc. In genreal Maui is just as much a family vacation spot as it is a honeymoon/couples spot.

Hotel Service: From check-in to check-out all staff was pleasant and helpful. Things to note: valet will provide bottled water (if asked), towels if headed to another beach, blankets if headed to Haleakala for sunrise. If you are wondering if you should rent a car or not ask questions about their car service, there was some complimentry service.

At one point our room key was not working, security was at our room within 5 minutes. This occured because we had exteneded our stay by one night and needed to get new keys issued, which we were not informed of (the only speck on the service record)

Rooms: We stayed in the "cheap room" and would again. To us the view isn't important for the amount of time we were in the room. If you are paying 345 your not going to have a view of the ocean, it will be over the garage, tennis courts, road, mountain, golf course. Try to request a room on the upper floor to minimize noise from garage. We were on the 7th floor and we did have some noise, but nothing unbearable. I did however notice that some sounds do travel a bit in the rooms...like the TVs. Bathrooms were marble/huge. No problems with maid service came twice a day. Always had fresh towels. There were wonderful cookies waiting for us in the room when we arrived.

Spa: We visited the spa twice and had a great experience. Would recommand having at least a massage. We made our reservations a month in advance for our treatments. Not sure if this is a must but we wanted certain things on certain days so thought it was a good idea. There were people actually coming over from the Grand Wailea.

Grounds: During our visit they started some renovations around the fountain in the courtyard which included scraping up the concrete, etc. They tried to make this as discrete as possible, but if you were sitting by the pool the noise from this construction was not pleasant. Renovations have to happen, you just hope it's not during your visit. We spent almost all of our time on the beach so it did not bother us. The grounds were clean and well landscaped.

Pools: There are two pools the smaller (the one with the waterfall) is cut into 2 sections with the lower section considered "the kid pool". The main pool has 2 large jacuzzis, one is adults only. I never saw more than 10 people in the pool at one time so despite their size you can enjoy the pool. The hotel was at capacity while we were there and we never had a problem getting a seat. Yes people start getting "prime" areas at 7am, but there are some rules. You can not "save" a cabanna. If you leave yor cabanna for more than 20 minutes (unless between 11-2 to have lunch) you lose it. So gone are the stories of somone dropping a book at 7am and not actually showing up till 11 AM. We never had a problem getting covered chairs on the beach. If we got there after 10 we may be sitting behind someone which prevented a direct view of the ocean. The pools are in the center of the resort and if you are in the pool as dinner starts you may feel a bid like your on display.

Wailea Beach and all beaches south of Lahania (never ventured north of Lahania)...due to severe winter storms the depth of these beaches is much less than you might expect. When we arrived on the first day we expected much more sand based on pictures in books and from friends who visited prior to this past winter. We found this to be true on many beaches along the west coast of Maui.

Our first restaurant was Pacific Grill. This was the best food and service at a Four Seasons restaurant. Would eat here again. Waiter was outstandings as was the fish sampler! (1 drink, 1 app, 2 dinners, 2 desserts, tip, $150)

The Pacific Grill is the only place open for breakfast. Buffet is $25 also has an ala carte menu. Best buffet I've ever had, worth to try it once. Steep to go every morning. We ventured into Kihei some mornings.

Ferroros is the only place for lunch. Will run you about 50 bucks for two people.

We also went to Ferroros for dinner. Has been named by some as the "most romantic" place for sunset/dinner. Okay there is a great view of the sunset (if your in the front), but since this is a family friendly resort and sunset is about 6:30, you guessed it ...the average family also eats at 6:30 so your romantic dinner will most likely include tired children. The food here was just average for what you expect for this hotel and the price. The service was also a bit off, but this may be because we had such a great waiter at the Pacific Grill. I would not return here or recommond it to a friend...SKIP THIS ONE.(2 drinks, 2 apps, 2 dinners, 1 dessert, tip, $135)

FYI..Your best bet is to eat dinner around 8PM if you want a "romantic" evening. It seemed that most of the families were done with dinner by then.

Spago...due to the name we expected nothing but the best here. We had a 6PM reservation and were brought to our table which was in the front of the restaurant but located at the corner (L shaped up front) so our table was sort of in the corner of the L we could see the sunset fine, but quickly realized our table was sort of floating out there and the tables at th top of the L were set up for a party of about 25 that showed up just as the sun was setting. We should have spoke up as soon as we sat, but we didn't realize that we were on top of the party till they arrived. We would have caused a scene had we asked to move at this point (we were eating apps). We should have never been seated in such an area, we just made the best of the situation. When your on vacation the last thing you want is stress and problems. Anyway the apps were tasty as was my meal, surf and turf. My husband had the same and we had our meat cooked the same, but his was over done...this is Spago we just expected more. And of course once the party arrived our service suffered too. Dessert was excellent!! (4 drinks, 2 apps, 2 dinners, 2 desserts, tip, $235). Overall we expected a bit more, probably not do it again, but would get dessert there!! Warm chocolate cake was out of this world!!!

I did point out and stressed some of the negatives, but that is how you make the next vacation better. Price info may also help some that are trying to budget. Hope it helps someone. We would stay at this hotel again as the service was bar-none. We would just explore some of the other restaurants in at the other resorts. They were the reason I did not go with 5 stars.

Other notes:

Snorkal Equip free for first hour (water was too turbulant while we were there to comment on how good or bad it can be) 5 buks additional hour /12 day.

They have an Outtrigger Canoe hour trip 3 times a day (mornings) on certain days but limited space. May want to ask about and book before you arrive if interested.


They are building new condos in Front of the Shops at Wailea. Therefore there are no views from the restaurants on the bottom floor (Longhi's, Cheeseburger). If you are thinking about staying at the Grand Wailea or Marriot. You definetly do not want to stay on the north side of the Grand Wailea or the south side of the Marriot. We ate lunch at Tommy Bahamas one day and it was very noisy. And there is currently a huge yellow crane ruining your view. We could not hear any of this constuction at the 4 Seasons.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank hydrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2004

Just returned from a week (8/20 - 27) at the Four Seasons with our 3 children - ages 9, 12 & 15. We had planned this trip months ago and had debated staying at the Four Seasons, the Fairmont Kea Lani or the Grand Wailea. We were all so glad we chose the Four Seasons. The resort is truly lovely, the staff gracious and the included amenities are terrific. We made good use of the pools (never had trouble getting shaded chairs), the beach (on calmer days, we used the complimentary snorkel gear and took out boogie boards and rafts when the surf was up), played croquet on the course outside our room, used the workout equipment and the terrific locker rooms, and enjoyed the game room with the kids. We also loved the beach walk in the morning that runs along all of the Wailea resorts. I pampered myself at the spa and we had terrific meals at Spago and overlooking the beach at sunset at Ferraros. We had the bed & breakfast package and started each day off with a great buffet breakfast at the Pacific Grill. On the one morning the kids wanted to sleep in, the hostess graciously handed me a ton of covered containers to fill with breakfast and take up to the room. The resort is certainly expensive, but considering that many of the amenities are included, it didn't seem to be any worse than the two neighboring resorts. Plus it is so much prettier than the other two resorts - the pools overlook the ocean and the rooms are large, spotless and just plain luxurious. Our only dissappointment was in the tennis. The two courts on the premises are an odd surface and up on the 6th floor roof. It gets very hot up there and it didn't seem to get much use. My husband did get in some free time with the ball machine every day so he was satisfied. Don't even bother with the Tennis Center at Wailea. The staff is rude and the pricing is ridiculous.
A couple of other tips - take Dramamine before driving the Road to Hana - it's brutal. Also, if you have a car and run through laundry as quickly as we do, drive up to Kihei and use the Lipoa Laundry Center - you can drop your laundry and pick it up the next day. They charge $1.25/pound to do it for you. Much better than paying $5.00/t-shirt at the resort!
I don't know if we would make this trip again - the flight takes forever - but if we did, we would definitly return to the Four Seasons.

Helpful?
1 Thank ltgmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
29.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons

Property: Four Seasons
Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea, Maui
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing