We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't live up to the reputation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Doesn't live up to the reputation”
Reviewed August 25, 2004

I have always been pleased with my stays at Four Sesons Resorts until our trip to Maui. Upon arrival, my husband and I were placed in a "mountain view room" which has views of a loading dock, tennis court, parking garage, and main road. The room was very noisy and the view was something I would expect of a Motel 6, not a Four Seasons. After requesting a room change, we were told to check back within a few hours on at least 3 occasions. Yet, we never received a response from the front desk staff, who were rude and unhelpful. However, the room itself was well-appointed and the rest of the staff was helpful and friendly. Despite our dissatisfaction with the room, we still enjoyed our stay in Maui.

As for the rest of the hotel amenities, the spa treatments and fitness facilities were good, although crowded. The dining is decent, but we found the better restaurants on the island were those not affiliated with hotels. The pool is rather small compared to similar resorts and there were few, if any, areas to retreat from the large number of families with young children. We found the beach to be a much more relaxing environment, as other hotel guests would scramble to the poolside cabanas to stake out their claim even before the pool opened.

Overall, this resort is a good choice for families (if you get an ocean or garden view room), but I would look elsewhere if you want a peaceful, private retreat.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,112
    490
    203
    93
    49
See reviews for
1,197
2,649
76
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 21, 2004

My wife and spent 10 days at the Four Seasons Maui for our honeymoon in July. The resort's grounds, rooms, service, and restaurants exceeded our expectations, which were very high given the rave reviews. Our room was large and well appointed, with a marble bathroom that can only be described as opulent. The ocean view was worth the extra expense for us just to be able to wake up in the morning and relax on our lanai, by ourselves, and enjoy the ocean. The room was spectacular, and so were the resaurants at the FS. Spago was the best in our opinion. We ate there the first night, and every other meal that we had while in Maui paled in comparison....until we went again our last night (the prime beef, if on the menu, is phenomenal. It is the most expensive item, but is worth every penny...ask your server to describe it and you won't be able to say no). At Ferraro's the food is good, but in our experience could not compare with that at Spago. Nevertheless, the atmosphere at Ferraro's was better, with true ocean front dining and live violin music every night. Also, if you feel like a dip in the pool or ajoining hot tubs at night, you will usually find them completely empty and be able to enjoy star filled nights in a beautiful setting with the violin music nearby (very relaxing and romantic). The resort did at times feel more packed than at others, but we never felt that it was crowded. The staff was always attentive, and we rarely waited more than just a few minutes for any request or order to be filled. At the FS, they truly make a concerted effort to make you feel welcome, often remembering your name. My wife and I loved the FS and will surely go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 20, 2004

We decided to stay at the Four Seasons based on the sterling reviews posted at this site. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and I would rate it a 9 on a scale of 1 to 10. During our 7 day stay staff service and friendliness was outstanding, except for one instance with a pool attendent who was somewhat rude when my wife asked for an Evian spritz that she was offering to other pool guests. We chalked it up to the extremely hot August weather that week and long hours this employee must have been putting in.

The food was very good in each restaurant, but especially so in Spago's. The property itself is certainly up to standards and well kept, but my wife and I couldnt help get the felling that the layout and design of some areas were dated and beginning to show their age. If you don't plan on leaving the property during your stay you'll be very happy at the hotel itself, if you plan to go into town (Kihea) you might be dissapointed. For years we had always vacationed on the other side of the island (Kaanaapali) where the is a lot more to do outside of the hotels compared to the Kihea area. The downside to Kaanaapali is that the resorts aren't the same caliber of the Four Seasons.

The hotel baby-proofed our room beautifully and offered a nanny service as well. Cleanliness of our room and the property overall was never an issue, although I do have a disgust for tropical bugs, namely cockroaches and unfortunatly we were visited by 2 during our week long stay. Luckilly they were not the giant ones that usually roam tropical islands. The fitness center had various cardiovascular and weight training machines along with dumbells up to 50 lbs. The spa was exceptional and well worth all the money we spent there. My family and I very much enjoyed our stay and will most likely visit the propery again.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 19, 2004

Overall - wonderful experience. The room was very comfortable. The beach was fantastic. The service was great.
And last but not least - their Starlight Martini (at the Lobby lounge) was simply perfect.
The Concierge was not efficient as the rest of the hotel's team and the hotel's breakfast was not exciting. I would gladly stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 15, 2004

We spent a week here August 8-15 as part of our honeymoon. Everyone raves about this hotel, and we really did not think it could live up to all the positives we have heard. It not only lived up to the positives, but it exceeded them. The rooms and bathrooms are huge. The grounds are kept in extraordinary condition. The food is amazing, and even though expensive, was cheaper than the Hilton Waikoloa Village and Halekulani. THe thing we could not understand is other reviewers gripes about finding chairs and cabanas. We never ever had a problem, and the hotel ws at 100% occupancy. They always found chairs for us, where we wanted them and when we wanted them. Also, after spending 5 days prior to this at the Hilton Waikoloa village, where everything down to the safe in the room included a charge, there was no additional nickel and diming. Everything, other than food is included. Don't even consider any other hotels in Maui. This is the place. The only negative is that the housekeeping in the rooms is sub par for a hotel of this level.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2004

Bar none! After spending a week here in June, I wouldn't consider staying anyplace else in Maui. 4 Seasons exceeded our every expectation. From the moment we arrived -- exhausted from the very long flight -- we were greeted by very prof. and courteous staff and promptly wisked away to an upgraded prime ocean view room! Our view was spectacular and the weather was near perfect every day. We enjoyed a fabulous breakfast buffet evey morning before heading to the pool. We never had a problem securing poolside chaise lounges or cabanas.. as others have posted. (Though we did arrive at pool early enough one day to catch a glimpse of Angela Basset walking by!) The wait staff at the pool couldn't do enough, serving up ice water, chilled fruit, cold towels and spritzes all day long. The restaurants were all exceptional, our favorite being Ferraro's and were all priced as expected. Poolside lunch and light fare served in the cocktail lounge was excellent, if not a bit pricey (2 sandwiches, a softdrink & 1 cocktail came to $60 before tip) but that goes with the turf. Also enjoyed a few great meals (complete with live entertainment and awesome view of fireworks!) at Tommy Bahama cafe at Shops at Wailea.

Helpful?
2 Thank lynger41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 5, 2004

My husband, Sean, submitted a review on Aug. 2nd, but left out a few things. We were there on our honeymoon and had an incredible time. After walking back from the local shopping I noticed a flowering bush that looked an awful lot like one of the flowers from my wedding boquet. After inquiring about it at the front desk, not only did I receive a phone call with the name of the flower but also a two page printout describing it (that was delivered to our room within minutes!) Sunsets were incredible from this hotel, and my husband loved the fact that there was a special number to dial just to have someone come and pick up the room service table when we were finished with it (along with the fact that room service called to ask us if it was ok if they delivered our food a few minutes early!) We are already saving our money for a return trip.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Property: Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing