We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with great pools”
Review of Four Seasons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

A wonderful hotel with clean rooms, wonderful infinity pools, good restaurants and a perfect shoreline. The beach is right behind the hotel and they offer nice lounge chairs to enjoy the views and sun from almost anywhere. The nearby restaurants are also very good, it is a bit far from any small towns though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,176)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,334 - 2,340 of 5,178 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have been going to Four Seasons Maui since 2007, at least once a year and it never disappoints. The rooms are big, baths are marble. Morning canoe, yoga on beach, and many activities are free of charge.

The staff is very friendly, competent, and they really do care. So nice to see the same faces year after year. This is truly a place "where everyone knows your name."

Food is good, DUO is our favorite. Very child friendly, but this does not impact adult serenity. The pools are great, and the beach is spectacular. There is nothing quite like a Maui sunset and the hotel has many vantage points to see the sunset.

The grounds are impeccable, flowers beautiful, botanic garden-like. What else can be said? This is paradise in paradise. When I am not at the Four Seasons Maui, I dream about being there. My happy place, mentally and physically!

Room Tip: I like having a room that faces the inner courtyard, with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

From the moment you arrived staff very good and informative. Room very good and spacious.
The ocean bay is really good and all restaurants where busy serving good food. We tried them all again as this was our third visit.

Room Tip: Upgrades a little expensive, I don't think we would do it again.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at FS in January. Sadly, not for vacation. Still, we had a nice upgrade through the Amex Fine Hotels & Resorts program. The room was very nice, the lanai wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, the adult pool is amazing. Service throughout the hotel and at the pool was top notch. The steak house Duo was not that great, but for breakfast it's a nice view and selection. Spago is probably the best restaurant on the island. There was a nice work out space. The business center was oddly very small, kind of like a large walk in closet. There was a very helpful attendant there, though. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location, and would be a great place for vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was our 5th stay at Maui Four Season. The beach, island, and hotel are beautiful. The staff for the most part go beyond expectations.
Pro's
The staff at the beach were helpful in providing cool drinks, information about marine life on the island,etc
The valet were most helpful with directions and suggestions to restaurants, sights, etc
We enjoyed the live music provided every evening in the lobby lounge.
House keeping cleaned our room and provided turn down service daily...routinely at predetermined times.
Before arriving to Maui Four Season I communicated to food service that I have "food sensitivity" and traded emails with "Juli" [Maui Four Seasons] who assured me they could easily accommodate.
We found the outrigger staff professional and enjoyed this experience as well.
Cons
Food Service
I did inform servers of my food sensitivity. Became very ill on our 3rd day at Maui Four Seasons. We called to food service and they promised to investigate. A few days later after several "incidents" we thought it time to talk with a manager. We spoke with Emily. She was friendly and promised that the kitchen staff would be made aware.
While sitting at the beach later that morning "Juli" from food service and then later, "Stephen" from food service apologized and promised the kitchen staff would be made aware and that "special foods" available.
When ordering from room service that very evening the person taking our order said she was aware of my food sensitivity. Upon arrival of my food that evening…well, they got it wrong. Furthermore, the night manager said she nor the kitchen staff were informed by "Julie" or "Stephen" of any special menu items being made available or my food sensitivity. The next day I heard more "I'm sorry's" and more promises.
I received a call from the executive chef expressing his understanding that we were tired of "I'm sorry" and he would personally help inform kitchen staff so that no more "incidents" occurred. This was the 7th day of a 9 day visit. We appreciated the Chef's help and have wondered how Four Seasons manages others with food allergies or sensitivities. Was this just a off week for them?
We decided that perhaps Maui Four Seasons is very good at accommodating some situations however, if a food sensitivity/allergy is an issue for you speaking directly with the executive chef prior to your stay at Maui Four Season might be the safer path.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceilokla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSMaui, General Manager at Four Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Aloha,

Greetings from Maui. I'm disappointed to learn about the troubles you experienced with your food allergies in our resort; we strive to provide the highest level of sensitivity and alertness to these issues. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me at 808.874.2212 or Konrad.Gstrein@fourseasons.com.

Mahalo,

Konrad Gstrein
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was our first trip to Maui, and will not be our last! The Four Seasons is spectacular! The grounds are stunning and the facilities are top-notch. The Serenity Pool (adults' only, and no cell phone conversations allowed) and the Lobby Bar were our favorite spots. Listen to the other reviewers and get to the pool (either pool) early. Unlike other resorts, the FSM staff will escort you to an open chair and will hold it while you eat breakfast or if you leave for a short time. The pool area service is excellent, as are the treats they come around with througout the day. If you are into activities, definitely visit the Scuba Shack! My boyfriend considers those guys his new best friends. Be sure to try the breakfast buffet at Duo. It's a bit expensive, but so worth it. We also dined at Ferraro's twice and loved it each time. Nothing more romantic than dinner overlooking the ocean. We did not try Spago, but heard from others that it also is great. The spa is heavenly!! If you have a chance to get a massage, go for it! The only staff members who we found to be less than friendly were those working the front desk. We had requested a king bed and was told none were available when we arrived. We were met with unsympathetic faces when we made additional requests for the larger bed. But we did not let that one minor issue trouble us! The rooms could use an update. There was only one outlet in the bathroom and it was placed so low that using a hairdryer or curling iron proved difficult. The basic internet service is free and just fine for checking Facebook. But if you have any real communicating to do, spring for the upgraded service. It makes a world of difference. Be sure to check out the freesia garden too! There is a hammock tucked away in there that makes for some lovely stargazing. All in all - A++++! We cannot wait to return!!

Room Tip: If you want a king bed, book far in advance and confirm it prior to arrival!! Also, rooms in the ce...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSM93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had the pleasure of enjoying a seven night stay at the Four Seasons Wailea February 10 - 17, 2014. From the moment we checked in, until the end of our stay, which came all too quickly, the staff at the Four Seasons went above and beyond to deliver a spectacular vacation experience for my wife and I. The professional and knowledgable staff must be trained to anticipate your every need because they did just that. Quickly, we were recognized by name throughout the resort, treated like royalty, and pampered like no place we've ever stayed. The ocean front suite we stayed in offered a spectacular view and was nicely appointed. The pool staff delighted with hourly visits from a nice lady that delivered cold hand towels, Evian spray, fruit treats, popsicles, and more at our cabana, which was all included in the price of the stay. We had the opportunity to dine at every restaurant, and although pricey (it's Hawaii, so that's to be expected), the food was out of this world. We particularly enjoyed Spago ad Ferraro's. The bell and valet staff were amazing, always offering bottled water, directions, and fresh towels if needed for your days activities. As for the beach, it's beautiful and located in a protected cove with plenty of great snorkeling right from the beach. I just can't say enough about how wondeful this resort hotel is, and their staff is second to none. Don't hesitate to book your next vacation at the Four Seasons Wailea.

Room Tip: This is a "U" shaped hotel, so ocean view rooms have angled balconeys that allow for a vie...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
485 reviews
29.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons

Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $595 - $1,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Otel, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea, Maui
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing