We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just plain amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just plain amazing!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. Hadn't stayed at a four seasons before and was worried it would be too snooty. I was completely wrong. The staff were friendliest and most helpful group of people I've ever met at a hotel.

Location: The hotel is located in Wailea which is the upscale part of Maui. The shops are a short drive away. You are also a short drive away from Kihei which has more mid range restaurants for those of us who dont want to spend $200 a meal.

Front desk - Very friendly, easy check in process. When you arrive they lei you and valet your car and bring your bags to your room. The ginger mint lemonade in the lobby is addictive.

Room: We had a partial oceanview which let us look at the ocean while on the lanai. Room was very spacious. The bathroom was especially huge as well. Plenty of room for the Mrs. to spread out her stuff. Towels seemed to be replaced at least twice a day. They also had a sleep menu which let you get different kinds of pillows or a foot massager etc. Wife loved this stuff and went nutty on it. Buckwheat pillows and all.

Pool. There are three pools. Serenity pool for quiet adults. Kids pool and also a mixed use pool. The non serenity pool wasnt loud so you didnt have to goto the serenity pool for peace and quiet. The serenity pool chairs did however get booked up very quickly most mornings. They are pretty much all taken by 830am. They let you leave for an hour before you have to give up your chair so you can sign up for the next available chair and they will phone you when ready. The views from the infinity pool are amazing. There is also hot tubs next to both adult pools which were nice. When we were there it seemed to always get windy at around 4pm to the point where being in the pool was annoying because it blew the water up over the infinity edge. Mornings were best though. We also loved how they came out with cold towels and facial spray. They also provided sunscreen at all the pool huts.

Beach: The beach in front of the hotel is awesome. Its public but I think its hard for non hotel guests to get there so its not too busy. Amazing sandy beach. We snorkeled to the left of the hotel along the rocks and saw lots of enormous turtles. Like 4-5 foot long. It was amazing that you could see them so close. There were some fish but I was unimpressed. The coral isnt that colorful or vibrant. The huge turtles hung out in the bay between the Fairmont and 4S. About 1/3 of the way in between. Well past the rocky point you see from the 4S but still next to shore.

Restaurants: Went to Ferraros for lunch and Spago for dinner. Ill review those separately but quickly both were awesome.

Grounds: Well kept with lots of activities. They had croquet, lawn bowling, and a putting green(need some more love though). They had a yoga class which my wife loved. I joined her and liked it as well. Nice view over the ocean. Its definitely not as easy as it looks. Tennis courts were great. They provided tennis raquettes, balls, and even shoes if needed.

Outrigger Canoe activity. This was awesome. It is a free activity where they teach about the Hawaiian canoes and take you out on the water. Very fun and the guys running the activity were super friendly. First they teach you about it and how to paddle on land. Then they take you out for 30 minutes. You only paddle for about 10 minutes at a time before you take a break. Not strenuous at all. Just fun to be out on the water. If youre here definitely take advantage of this one!

Spa: We also had couples massage in the beach huts. The spa had a nice set up with showers, steam room and bathroom with good razors and all the essentials for getting ready. The massage itself was good but not different from other massages I've had from RMTs.

Overall I do have to say the service here is amazing. Way above anything we have had before. This isn't going to be the cheapest place you'll stay but the experience was definitely worth it. If you can afford it you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,105
    490
    203
    92
    49
See reviews for
1,192
2,647
76
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Where can I even begin, except to say that my husband and I splurged and oh, it was worth every hundred!!! From the moment we arrived, to fresh lei's, ginger juice and a quick, efficient, friendly check in (Emily, the best!) to the day we left (Emily, again, the best!) to every moment in between, we felt like we were in our own palace, lol. They, and I mean, all of them, from the guys at the car/bell desk, to the various concierges, to the driver of the complimentary car service, to the restaurant management, to the fantastic pool service team -- knew our names after the 2nd day! Seriously? It was just magnificent - the views, the grounds, the beds, the housekeeping, the room service, the spa, the tennis (and the pro was a gem, I learned so much), the pools and the ocean, and the staff there, just too wonderful. They are always there when you need them, but never annoying. They bring sliced cucumbers and cold lavender-scented towels for your eyes, pieces of pineapple on a stick, ice cream - it's just delightful. I never wanted to leave. If you look at my reviews, you will see that I am a perfectionist, and this property -- IS PERFECT! Emily, the assistant resort manager, went out of her way to make our stay extra special. Jacqui at the front desk also went above and beyond -- and they were both so professional, friendly, efficient -- just perfection. Mimi our concierge, animated, honest, just so helpful. Charlie at the wonderful restaurant Duo, he ran that place with efficiency and friendliness and personality. He was a delight too and we returned another night due to the great food, and amazingly friendly and timely service. Honestly, after 10 days, we still didn't want to leave. Please contact me with any questions. I'd say this isn't the place to bring kids, we didn't bring ours. It's more of a place for romance and relaxation. Lots of honeymooners! A gorgeous beach is literally 10 steps from the lawn where you can relax in a shaded cabana or work on your tan. We spent almost every day right there, drinking and eating, shading and tanning, jumping the waves in the pristine and perfect ocean, and jumping in the pool, relaxing in the hot tub. From tennis to massage - from great food to perfection in service, you really can't find a nicer, more luxurious property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenoftheSlipstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stay on the club floor. Amazing view and awesome staff. We were constantly being asked if we needed anything. The Best!!! My wife and I really loved it there. Ricky and Lucy were great Who are they?!? I guess you'll have to stay there and find out. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelintoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Four Seasons Maui is an absolutely incredible place to stay. From the rooms (large and clean), to the staff (always pleasant and helpful), it is worth the money to stay here. Staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and taken care, and every single employee was pleasant to interact with. The restaurants are great too (though pricey). The pools are roomy, and they have a pool for every circumstance (large general family pool, kids pool with small slide, adult only infinity pool with a breathtaking view). The beach is a public beach, so the Four Seasons does not serve any drinks/alcohol out on the sand, but that is not their fault. I loved my stay here, and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay on Maui.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed again at the Four Seasons Maui. The facilities are wonderful. All of the employees are outstanding. We continue to come back 3-4 times per year and have done so since 2005. The Spago's restaurant has great food, a fantastic view, and knowledgeable wait staff. There are 3 pools (one adults only, one children, and one mixed use with two spas). The weather in Wailea is the best on Maui.

Room Tip: Many of the garden rooms are actually partial ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent the 3rd-10th of Sept on our honeymoon. Despite the adults only pool being closed the duration of our stay we couldn't have asked for a better trip.
We had an ocean view room & the room & views were perfection! The location of the property is just incredible with calm waters & a beautiful white sand beach. The staff is just incredible!! The little touches just topped everything off! Honeymoon champagne welcomed us to our room, free shoe cleaning (came in hadn't after a muddy hike on our sneakers), beach bag to use while staying, amazing bath products, comfy slippers, & cleaning cloths for your glasses were just a few room perks!! Evian spritzers, cooled cucumber slices for your eyes, pineapple skewers, cold ice water, sunscreen & immediate chair setup at the pool & beach were just above & beyond. The valets were awesome! Beautiful lei's as soon as we stepped out of the car, cold bottled waters everytime they got our car, towels, blankets & umbrellas if we needed them. They often anticipated we would need things we didn't know we would want & then were much needed (blankets for sunrise @ the crater). We had the full breakfast buffet at DUO every am & it was incredible. Made to order omelettes & pancakes and you could do anything you could imagine. I could go on & on!! Resort was pricy but you honestly got what you paid for & much much more! We spent months planning & stressing about where to stay.. Best decision we EVER made! Planning our trip back for our 1yr anniversary can't wait!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliMarie1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent service, attention to detail & polite hotel team. By far the best hotel in Maui (we checked out all the competition - all the others looked very very tired & service was vv poor elsewhere).
Amazing grounds, great restaurants & super facilities.
looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTZ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
936 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Property: Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing