We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People Watching”
Review of Four Seasons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver, Colorado
14
Reviewed February 8, 2004

I am in agreement with the previous reviews in that The Four Seasons is an elegant hotel with great service. Although, I have done a lot of travelling this was the first time that I have stayed at a five star resort hotel. The reason why we decided to stay at a resort hotel is that we have a young baby and my wife is 6 months pregnant. We needed a low stress vacation that did not require a lot of energy or effort. We figured that if we were going to a resort hotel, it was worth it to spend the extra money and go to the best resort we could find in Hawaii.

We were worried that the Four Seasons might be a little too posh. We hate snobbery and there is nothing worse than spending a vacation in place where one does not feel totally comfortable. Fortunately, there was a very nice mix of people. Of course, there were some very beautiful and elegant people staying at the hotel. But there were also newlyweds, young families and retirees enjoying the fruits of their many years of hard work. However, the most amusing people to watch were the Type A personalities trying to relax. You see them at the pool on their cell phones or working away on their lap tops.

The Four Seasons is a Five Star Hotel and as a result is expensive. We thought it was worth spending the extra money to see how the wealthy enjoy their vacations. Unforutnatley, now having experienced the Four Seasons, it is going to be hard to return to the world of Holiday Inns and La Quintas.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,000 - 5,006 of 5,232 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
New York, New York
12
Reviewed January 19, 2004

The Best hotel, EVER!! Nothing can compare to this hotel. The service is amazing, they make you feel like royalty.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2004

This place is great. I am only listing the negative things as everyone else detailed the positives..

The breakfast buffet is tasty but watch out for the birds...they are all over your food and it is rather annoying. The staff does what they can to keep the birds away but it is not fun.

Also, dont waste your money on the so called "ocean view" rooms if you are trying to save money as you are far far away from the ocean. Spend the money you save at the fabulous spa!!

And the hotel needs to update the carpets in the halls and the rooms.
They are faded and musty. Not up to 4S standards.

10  Thank Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2004

Everyone else has already raved about this hotel, and we agree. The one thing we'll add--this hotel gave us the best service for our kids we've ever received anywhere. We had our 2 year old with us. Before we arrived, the hotel placed padding on the tables and sharp edges in our room, they installed a diaper disposal basket, they put bath toys in the bathroom for her, they spelled her name with bath sponges, they had her crib all ready to go, they left us extra diapers, etc., for her.
It's hard to exaggerate the impact this pampering had on us, and on our other kids -- it was really great. The hotel is beautiful, the service is incredible, and the location is breathtaking.

4  Thank spep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
49
Reviewed January 7, 2004

My husband and I consulted this site often before chosing the Four Seasons as our vacation destination and our expectations were high. We booked the Club Level for which we paid approx. $800 a night after taxes. We did have a ocean view room on the top floor, which also included the sound of cars coming and going over the valet area. We were greeted at our arrival and escorted to the club level for check-in. We found the concierge service attentive and experienced...booked all our activities and dinner reservations through them. At the club lounge, we had available continental breatfast, afternoon tea and cocktails, evening desserts. Went downstairs to the breakfast buffet one day for a change...two buffets and a latte cost $70 after tip. There was an honor bar in our club room...$3.50 for a Coke, and $8.50 for a bottled water! We could walk over to the lounge and ask for beverages without cost, so this seemed inappropriate. We had no problem with beach seating during our stay...a turkey sandwich on the beach is $15. On our second day we received a message to call the front desk...our credit card did not have available funds when they charged the entire stay...our intent was to pay cash using a debit card upon departure, so this was an embarressment to us...if we has known the policy, we would have provided this debit card to secure the room.
The Four Seasons signature massage was truly special while my husband enjoyed golfing the gold course. Our best dinner was at the Kea Lani...Nick's Fish Market. The best excursion was the Sky Trek to Hana...a comfortable and informative ride up to Hana, with a helicopter return. We also enjoyed the Warren and Annabelle show up in Lahaina. A rental car is a definate must. We think the world is too big to visit the same place twice, but we will not hesitate to chose Four Seasons Hotels as we have done in the past. Our most spectacular hotel and service commendations still go to Pebble Beach...that and the high prices are why we chose above average for the rating. Happy travels!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
California
13
Reviewed December 27, 2003

I've been going to the four seasons for 2 years now and i am completely in love with it. The service is wonderful, the pool is beautiful, and the evian spritzes aren't that bad. This is such a classy to go to. The game room is great for teens, the kids for all seasons program is great for kids, and the spa is great for adults. I'm pretty sure I could live there all year round and would never get bored of it. The four seasons at wailea is truly paradise, I have yet to find a hotel with more impeccable service. I highly recommend the restaurant ferraro's- the sunsets are breathtaking. The four seasons wailea makes you feel like royalty. I highly recommend going here, especially if you are on a honeymoon.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2003

This is probably the nicest hotel with the best service that I ve ever stayed at. My husband and I stayed there for 5 nights in early December for our honeymoon. As soon as we arrived they adorned us with leis and we were escorted to the reception desk. Check-in was a breeze and they upgraded our partial ocean view to a full ocean view. The bellman took us on a tour of the hotel, offered to snap pictures, and escorted us to our room. He gave us a tour of the room, which was beautiful, and explained everything to us. In the room there was a bottle of champagne and some Hawaiian cookies. Nice touch! From there we spent the next 5 days in paradise at an absolutely beautiful hotel with perfect service. The Four Seasons defines what a 5-star hotel should be. All guests are treated as equals (no reserving the cabanas at the pool- first come first serve) and as adults. There were no silly signs everywhere telling you what you could or could not do, there were no silly rules. Every time I thought that I wanted something, it was there. The staff is excellent and does a great job of making you feel special during your entire visit. As soon as you arrive at the pool, they will assemble a chair for you wherever you want (pool, beach, overlooking the ocean, etc). When you come back from a jog, the bellman will greet you at the door not to harass you about if you re staying there or what room you re in, but to hand you a bottle of water and a cold towel. The restaurants are all wonderful, but expensive (but you should really expect that if you re staying at a 5-star resort.) They have an adults-only hot tub which is something EVERY hotel should have. The beach is beautiful and the two pools are just enough (not huge or amazing like the Grand Wailea, but elegant and just what you need). Overall, I d say that if you can afford it, don t think twice about staying at the Four Seasons. It was definitely worth the money and you will never think twice about your decision.

3  Thank Balt0Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
493 reviews
29.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons

Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $616 - $1,559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a floor-to-ceiling transformation in the guest rooms, suites and beyond, the all new Four Seasons Resort Maui is taking perfection to new heights. Experience a better place to see, be seen, and be unseen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea, Maui
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing