We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well run luxury resort missing exclusivity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well run luxury resort missing exclusivity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a great holiday at this well run hotel. Service and facilities were at the level of a luxury facilities. Something can be done more to give to the guest a more personal and customized approach. We spend our time mainly on the beach and apart an annoying rock concert from the joint hotel, everything else was perfect.
Food at the Spago restaurant was good but not something to remember.
Overall good but why not to do better?

Room Tip: Better rooms facing south or to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERTO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,892
    471
    195
    89
    47
See reviews for
1,100
2,531
73
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I decided to go to the Four Seasons Maui for my birthday, and we booked through American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts website. I also confirmed with the resort directly, and while speaking with the reservations agent, they had asked if there was any special occasion. I had let them know that it was a birthday trip for me.

We had spent the first half of our trip in Honolulu, and arrived in Maui at about 2pm, getting to the resort by 3pm. As is customary, we were warmly greeted by the valet service, and given leis. Check in was a breeze, and we were even greeted by the resort manager there.

The main desk said that because we used AMEX Fine Hotels and Resorts, we were going to be upgraded to a larger room, breakfast was included, as was a resort credit (forgot how much), and late check out.

Our baggage porter was very friendly, and happy to talk about Maui and the culture as he took us to our room.

When we arrived, we had no idea that they had upgraded us to an Ocean View Suite and gave me a birthday cake. We have been to many Four Season's resorts all over the world during our travels, but this upgrade was probably one of the best.

During our stay, we went to the adult pool, which was always busy. (Get a seat early!). The pool staff will hold your seat for an hour, as long as you come back and check in with them.

The entire staff and amenities were excellent, as is usual Four Season's standard.

We have stayed at the Grand Wailea, Fairmont, and Westin on Maui, and we will definitely be coming back to the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rkmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

From arrival to departure the staff at the Four Seasons made us feel like VIPs. We made the mistake of planning activities that took us away from the hotel - I see no reason on a 5 day trip to leave the hotel for more than an afternoon (to visit the Surfing Goat dairy) or dinner (at Mama's Fish House). Spago's at the Four Seasons was head and shoulders better than the one in Beverly Hills, and we were perfectly content wiling away the days laying by the pool or beach.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, splurge for the club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We researched many hotels in Maui before deciding upon the Four Seasons. At first we were worried because we have 3 children and we usually chose a hotel with water slides and play grounds. However, from the minute we arrived the children were so well catered for they did not for one minute miss a water slide! Small things like gifts and cookies upon arrival- children's bath products,and toys provided at the pool and beach, and fantastic children's meals on offer made them feel welcome. They literally begged us day to take them to the kids club where they would explore sea life, make sand art, swim and share meals with other children. The staff was outstanding with the children and asked daily what their interests for the day were.
My husband and I would relax in a cabana by the pool that was included in our stay. We were so well catered for with fresh water and sunscreen and fresh fruit on offer throughout the day. It was worth every penny. I have never had such a beautiful, relaxing stay in a hotel and would highly recommend this hotel to families as well as honeymooners.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslieb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Disappointed with the view for $1295 + tax a night, but the staff, breakfast buffet, happy hour bar food and drinks, are great. If anything is wrong they take care of it very quickly. Have stayed there the past two years and quality remains.

Room Tip: The golf at the Wailea Gold & Blue is excellent. The Emerald can be a little boring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

When you treat everyone the BEST, no one gets left out! There are many fabulous, beautiful hotels but it's the staff at the Four Seasons that really makes this resort stand out. During our 5 day visit there wasn't one thing that fell below PERFECT! If you can go often, go, if you have to save up, save up. It won't disappoint and even after your return it will bring a smile to your face remembering being treated like royalty in paradise!

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view-this makes it extra specail. Might want to ask for a room closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

You can never go wrong with a Four Seasons and this one won't disappoint. The oceanview room was exquisite. The setting is fabulous. The Serenity infinity pool area was delightful - peaceful with underwater music piped in. I spent days at this pool while my husband attended a conference. We all deserve to be treated like royalty occasionally and this was my time. Food was delicious in all of the restaurants and it was nice to have a coffeemaker in the room to have that first cup before getting dressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
29.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Property: Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing