We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect as usual”
Review of Four Seasons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Almost perfect as usual”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

As usual, the four seasons maui hotel delivers and we had a fabulous time with one disappointment, Ferraro's Restaurant.

We had a "not so great experience" there in terms of both service and food. Apparently for the last couple of years they have a new chef and perhaps our tastes just don't mix well with some of the offerings. The service was very slow, our waiter was trying to look after too many tables. After the fact the manager did ask us to come back and give them another chance, but we couldn't figure out why we would want to give them another chance when we had already spent a large sum of money on a disappointing dinner. We weren't prepared to spend the same amount of money and be disappointed a second time. Sad, because it used to be our favorite restaurant.

Dinners at Spago and Duo were great. We're hoping the next time we get back to Maui things will have improved at Ferraro's so that we can enjoy it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noname36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,168
    494
    204
    94
    50
See reviews for
1,225
2,681
76
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a great property with a fantastic staff. My wife and I had had a wonderful stay at the the Four Seasons. It was very busy as it was the end of Spring Break, but the staff did a nice job of handling the crowd.

We were surprised at the number of families with young children, as we just did not have the ability to travel much when our kids were little. When we did take them along it was not to Hawaii and we did not stay at the FS! The resort did have programs for the kids to give parents a break.

Watching the whales from the serenity pool was a real treat. We are grateful to have had such a nice week in such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascadia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I rated this 'poor' due to the value for money. If your can get a $500/night rate it's probably good, but at $800--it doesn't meet expectations of an $800/night hotel We've stayed at this FS many times, but 4,5,and 6 years ago.We returned this time and the property has unfortunately gone downhill. It's showing it's age, and the service has slipped. We will definitely not come back. Here's why:

SERVICE: At a Four Seasons one expects a high-end experience, but it's not. Don't get me wrong, it's nice--but, as someone said to me at the pool today, "it feels like a Marriot" I thought about it, and it does feel a little like a Marriott in terms of service.

ATOMOSPHERE: We used to come here years ago and it was nice families, couples, celebrities, etc. It was a nice get-away. Now, there are a bunch of corporate events--like sale rewards trips. It kind of ruins the feeling (gives it a Vegas feel). An employee told us they did this is pretty recent as they need to occupancy up.

EXPERIENCE/VALUE: Again, a little Marriott-ish with a Four Seasons price: The $18 Pina Coladas don't even have a pineapple wedge or orchid in them--like every other nice hotel in Hawaii. We asked why they don't make them more festive. Answer: "Budget Cuts". At $800/night you don't want to hear about "budget cuts"

On the plus side: Wailea is nice. Great beach. Lots of nice restaurants. The front desk staff are incredibly nice and accommodating--great service from them.

We will not return to the FS Maui--a number of people told us by the pool, etc--they have been disappointed too. It just doesn't feel like it did years ago--guess it's their 'budget cuts'

So, if you come--don't have high expectations. It's nice, but feels like $400-500/night nice.

Room Tip: Select the South Tower--it's quieter and closely to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank roli13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a simply spectacular second stay at the Four Seasons in Maui. Our wedding was a tiny one but Denise, our wedding planner at the hotel, did an exemplary job of putting our minds at ease and making everything go smoothly. We could not have asked for a better experience! Our only negative experience was not being able to rent boogie boards on the rougher days at the beach, when the waves were coming in hard, but that is a good procedure considering how many people we saw with injuries who had rented their boards earlier before the red flag went up. Next time we will have our own boards with us!

The restaurants were wonderful, we thoroughly enjoyed breakfast at Duo's, lunches and dinners there and also at Ferraro's, as well as our one night in Spago's. Excellent food and wine selection at the latter!

It is true that the serenity pool and other pool were frequently crowded, but in the case of the latter there were always chairs SOMEwhere. We were there during spring break and there were many kids. Did not annoy us at all. Plan your trip accordingly and things like this won't bother you. We highly recommend being on the beach instead, where you will get complimentary chairs, towels, water and slices of fruit. Not only that but watching the waves come in and feeling sand between your toes is what I came to Hawaii for! It is also much quieter there than by the poolside.

Truly, this was the best vacation we have ever had, and most of our wedding guests felt the same. When the only negative you can remember is slightly slow service at breakfast on a single morning, that is pretty amazing. I'm not certain we could do Maui any other way than at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you intend to spend a lot of time in your room or on the lanai, a view is possibly worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tententen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My family and I stayed at this property in early April. There was no particular shortcoming of this hotel or property; however, compared to our experience with other Four Seasons resorts, this hotel stay was more akin to a nice Hilton than an average Four Seasons. We booked through whatahotel.com and received free breakfast buffett but no room upgrade. The rooms were decent, but this property is NOT new. They are busy and the hotel's grounds, pool, and infrastructure reflects this fact. The pools were OK, but there were many people swimming and access to it and pool chairs was limited. The hotel room was large, but not luxurious. The housekeeping staff ignored our desire for privacy and entered our room despite the appropriate tag hung on the door. There is a Spago's restaurant on-site which was superb. The Duo restaurant that also provides morning breakfast was crowded. Access to the beach was relatively easy.
Overall, this was our first trip to Maui and we were not impressed by this hotel. Paying over $700 a night should get you nicer amenities and room. The entire Wailea area is an artificial development designed to reflect Newport Beach or Coral Gables as opposed to a true Hawaiian experience. We will not be returning to this area or this hotel anytime soon. There are much nicer properties, including Four Seasons ones, on other Hawaiian islands.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank averageJoe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this place based on TA reviews. The place is even better than people describe in their reviews. Location of this property make #1. Great location with beautiful ocean view rooms. Rooms were nice and clean. Service was ok. But everything else top notched. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great place and wonderful service. We were stuck getting in to Maui but the minute we arrived at the FS, all our cares were forgotten. Friendly and attentive staff, clean rooms, no lines and no detail or request is too small or forgotten. Best place on earth.

Room Tip: the suite on 7 was perfect and great sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
467 reviews
29.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons

Property: Four Seasons
Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea, Maui
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing