We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Seasons Wailea is the best beach hotel on Maui.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Four Seasons Wailea is the best beach hotel on Maui.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

With not as many activity pools as neighboring hotels, the Four Seasons more than makes up for that feature with superior service, cleanliness, accomodations, and individualized attention. There are adult, family, and toddler pools minus the noise, dirt, and crowds. Though not cheap, you get much better overall value compared to the other hotels, and the beach is one of the highest rated on the island. Plus Wailea has the best sunny weather! One of my favorite hotels anywhere!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,105
    490
    203
    92
    49
See reviews for
1,192
2,647
76
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Let me preface this by saying that this was the second Four Seasons property we've been to so we knew that the service was going to be top notch but wasn't so sure about the property itself but needless to say it exceeded our expectations!!! Family of 5 with 3 adults and 2 kids. Rented a car from Kahului then a short drive 15-20 min drive to Wailea. Pull into valet area and immediately greeted with Lei, drinks and cold towel. The entrance/lobby is not as dramatic as the Grand Hyatt in Kauai, but the view is still beautiful overlooking the beach. Check in was a breeze however, our room was not ready so they comped us a lunch at Ferraros w/c was AMAZING. Sea bass fish and chips and huge lobster sandwich big enough for 2 people and stellar service to boot. Got a call that our room was ready which was supposed to be garden view executive suite but we were upgraded to room 495 overlooking the beach and pool area. Room was FANTASTIC... 2 entry doors, plush pull out couch, rollaway bed, 1 king size bed, chairs 2 separate patios with benches, 2 bathrooms one with separate tub and shower. It is the small details that Four Seasons wins!!! Welcome stuffed owl for 2 kids, chocolates, cookies, marshmallows and our kids name spelled in sponges in the tub.

POOL AREA 2 separate pool areas... fountain pool mostly with kids and some adults enjoying 2 hot tubs... get up early to get cabanas though... smaller kids pool with waterfall and small slide Adult only infinity edge pool up the stairs... very nice and secluded but again get there early to get a spot...

BEACH access just a short walk down from pool and ask 4S attendants to help set you up and they will gladly set up chair and umbrella... have some people comp. too far to get drinks etc... honestly how lazy can you be to go back to pool and get drinks food etc... sand is soft, surf changes depending on weather but mostly soft rollers that kids can enjoy and if it gets too rough can go back to pool... good snorkeling, saw a few turtles and whales in backdrop

TENNIS facility has 2 turf courts, good on joints, have 1 hour comp. just call ahead but you can certainly play more as we did as most time slots were not filled

FOOD AGAIN WOW! Had breakfast buffet at DUO every day and they always had something new at short order... teriyaki steak and eggs, kaula pork burrito, dim sum what a variety
POOLside lunch was great with burgers, nachos on steroids, sandwiches and great drinks
face misters, cold towels, complimentary yogurts, jelloshots and fruit...
DUO restaurant had GREAT cold seafood buffet with oysters, lobsters, crabs etc... I had baked Mochong(sp?) which was fantastic

SERVICE Everyone here is so friendly and I think part of it has to do with the fact the the employees here are happy and truly enjoy spoiling the guests... everyone knew our kids names by the end of our stay and there was the kids club which was complimentary but there was so much to do that we didn't even have time to send the kids there

There is also a free shuttle to the shops in Wailea that you don't need to drive to eat off the resort.. we ate at Cheeseburger and Lapperts and went freq. to ABC store and Whalers to stock up on stuff...

Hawaii in general is not cheap and prices are expensive here but if you are gonna make the commitment to come to Maui your money will be well spent here at the 4 seasons.... look, this place may not be for some esp. those who really want to " GET AWAY FROM IT ALL " This place had families and honeymooners and it was busy(but never felt crowded) but if you go there knowing ahead of time that this is what you will be dealing with, the 4 seasons will totally blow you away! With a family, the Four Seasons has so much to offer....ENJOY and will see you all again next year!

Room Tip: North tower overlooking the pool/beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent a week in Maui. Save up because Maui, in general, and the hotel, specifically, are both expensive. Worth every penny! Rooms are great. The adult pool's swim up bar has the best drinks. My wife and I had a blast as it was our first trip sans children! Ran into George Lopez, just seeing him makes you laugh! What a funny guy! The beach and daily morning yoga classes melts away the stress... A definite must-do!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are used to luxury this is not the place for you. For $1,200 a night you only get a partial ocean view room. A beach full of random people who are not even staying at the hotel (yes the beach is not only for hotel guests). Moreover there is no service at all on the beach. You have to go get your own drinks, water, etc from the bar which is 5 minutes up the beach and always packed with people.

If that's not enough none of the boards (surf board, paddle board, kayak etc) are complimentary. You will have to pay $40 per hour to rent something that isn't even motorized.

The main pools are full of kids running around. The adult pool is always full unless you show up at 8AM to secure a chair. Who builds a 5-star hotel with amenities that are lacking? Everyone should be able to have a long chair at the pool, especially when we are paying so much money.

Try ordering some food through room service and you will on average wait 45 minutes to 1 hour to receive your order.

The restaurants on premises are decent, but nothing special.

There are absolutely no events at this hotel. No entertainment. No music by the pool areas and no 'hawaiian' nights.

If you are looking for a truly special experience at a four seasons on a pacific island I would truly suggest flying the extra few hours and going to four seasons bora bora. That one is worth it for sure.

All in all I was not impressed by this four seasons at all. If it were just $300 or $400 a night I would have nothing to complain about, but not at $1,000+.

I would also suggest that you skip hawaii all together. It is way overrated and you would have a much better time at atlantis in the bahamas or at las ventanas in cabo san lucas. Or even in dubai for this kind of price range you would be totally pampered.

Avoid, avoid, avoid. Unless you can get a really good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSMaui, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Aloha from Maui,

Thank you for submitting your review of our property. Your feedback will be taken into consideration as we always aim to maintain the highest level of excellence.

Best regards,

Konrad Gstrein
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed at many a fine hotel but this one is the best by far. We had a garden view room with a partial ocean room that was big enough for me, my wife and two daughters aged 18 and 11. We found the beds to be incredibly comfortably including the sofa bed (best according to my daughters who've slept on many). We loved looking out over the perfectly manicured gardens. My older daughter wasn't feeling well the first few days but found the peaceful garden setting, including the hammocks, to be very therapeutic. We were early risers so did not find it difficult to get a cabana for the entire day. We thought the poolside service was amazing with attendants coming by with fresh water, snacks such as fruit and muffins and towels whenever needed. We also snorkeled over the reef a few hundred yards from the hotel beach and were observed many beautiful tropical fish and a turtle as well. The only slight "negative" was the cost of the food at the restaurants. The food was good but I found it hard to believe the buffet was worth $45/person. I also thought Spago was a bit overpriced. After a couple of nights of the hotel food we ventured out and had some wonderful meals for a lot less money. Overall, however, a most wonderful vacation in paradise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaFamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel. We had a partial ocean view and it was fine. The rooms are a good size and comfortable. Housekeeping was super fast on their delivery of extra pillows. There was so much to do in Maui, it was nice to come back to comfort. I loved that there was an adult only infinity pool, it was nice to be able to get away for quiet when needed. I had a 90 minute massage, beach side. If i had to do over, I would stay in the spa. The massage was amazing, but there is a walk way right under the window of the hut. You could hear kids and conversations of those walking past. :( The first day we had to wait a while to get a menu and then a long wait for the food (I'm comparing the wait times to the Four Seasons on Lana'i) I was a bit surprised by this. However, our pool attendant made up for this the next morning, he remembered who I was and recommended a better spot for the day. All in all, when we go back to Maui, this will be the resort we stay in!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cucchitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights on our honeymoon at the beginning of December, 2012, and our experience here was so above and beyond what we even expected - and we had very high expectations. From the moment we arrived at the resort, we were given such personal attention. The staff made us feel so special and their attention to detail is unmatched.

The adults only serenity pool has a spectacular view and great lounge chairs, and swim up bar - but be prepared to get to the pool by 7:00 am if you want to get a spot. They save your chair for up to an hour so we would save our chairs, then go to breakfast and/or walk the beach for a little bit first. Their main pool is also really nice with great service and we usually ordered lunch poolside.

The DUO breakfast buffet is expensive, but worth trying at least once. A good and much cheaper alternative to the DUO buffet breakfast is Snorkels Snack Stand, which is located on the walkway on your way down to the beach. They have grab and go sandwiches, salads, and pastries.

The Lobby Lounge was our favorite of the restaurants. The drinks are amazing and the bartenders are wonderfully friendly. Beautiful view!

Excellent service, beautiful view and beach, great hotel. Can't wait to go back someday!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Property: Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing