We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Seasons Maui -- As Expected”
Review of Four Seasons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Four Seasons Maui -- As Expected”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Superb lobby entrance with overall subtle design elements, with dramatic high ceilings and ocean vistas welcoming you the minute you step from your car. Art works are impressive, as is the lighting scheme, featuring oversized iron wall sconces with seeded glass and rustic chandeliers, sage green shutter panels with bronze hardware and limestone floors. A touch of British West Indies in feeling, low key as with most FS Resorts, until you gaze upon the unbeatable beauty of the Maui coast and sunsets surrounding public spaces. Don't miss the walking path between the Four Seasons and Fairmount--this must be a daily event for the sunset.

Without a doubt the best hotel in the area – by a mile – we toured the other two main/large adjacent properties, the Grand Wailea and The Fairmount, neither of which can come close, really no comparison at all. We had an ocean front room and though it goes without saying that the view was super, the room was otherwise unremarkable, albeit a decent size with a nice large bathroom and lanai. The room featured ample closet space, comfortable beds and was relatively quiet, but not crazy luxurious or anything.

The hotel has a very nice gym, game room, spa, yoga and aerobic classes, and appears to be a very popular family hotel, though not to the point of negatively impacting the other guests. There are three pools, the main large one with center fountain, a kid’s pool, and the relatively new, and awesome, Serenity (infinity) pool with dedicated bar area and private cabanas (and no kids or teens).

There is a beautiful powder-sand beach with immediate/easy access, with all the expected activities such as kayaking, snorkeling, beach-refresher dives and paddle boarding. The hotel features a few good shops and some impressive restaurants, such as Spago (tasty), though one casual “normal” priced venue would be appreciated—i.e. even fish tacos and a quesadilla with a couple of poolside cocktails will run you close to $100.00 for two, and, while not shocking considering the venue, it would still be nice to have a good casual dining choice on site.

Service overall was very friendly and helpful, as you would expect. The Shops at Wailea are nearby and the hotel offers complimentary transportation to this and other nearby venues. Some of the common areas need minor refurbishment, like public bathroom interior doors, molding, hardware, wall covering, common area carpet in some locations, and a few other small things (mostly unnoticeable by “normal people”). Overall the Four Seasons Maui is a dramatic and lovely property in a stunningly beautiful location with excellent service that you won’t soon forget.

Room Tip: it's always a good idea to preview room first, but anything with a clear view of the ocean is de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misshotelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,222
    497
    209
    96
    52
See reviews for
1,258
2,711
76
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I have no idea why this hotel is so well rated. So many people can't be wrong, yet I'm having real trouble seeing where the reviewers are coming from.
This was the second leg of our honeymoon after a great time skiing in Hokkaido, Japan.
We were really looking forward to it. I've stayed at 3 other four seasons hotels, all of which were excellent. From the offset, the hotel is not impressive. The setup is mundane and felt just like many other 4 star hotels I have stayed at (at the fraction of the cost).
The main pool is small, and dominated by an unnecessarily large, featureless concrete fountain. We were there from Jan 11 to 17, and almost everyone was there with children. This is a hotel for people with children and lots of money to waste on an average experience.

The staff were well trained and faultless, being polite and expert at all times. But I don't know if that is enough for $1000 a night room...

We had an 'ocean view' room and, all credit to the four seasons, there was a bit of ocean visible if you walked to the edge of the balcony and looked around the corner! At check in we were offered an upgrade to a front facing room (presumably with a proper sea view) for $3000 per night!!

There is a pool for adults (called the serenity pool). It is an average pool you would expect in any 4-5 star resort of this nature. It has an 'infinity' view over the distant yellow sand. The major problem with this pool is that it is near impossible to get a sunbed. You have to be there by 0730 or else your name goes on a waiting list and you may or may not get one. I noticed during my stay that exceptions to this were made for 'special guests', or people with somehow more eminent positions in society. There was also the option to reserve and rent a wooden hut with 2 sunbeds next to the pool for $500 per night...in a hotel which I'm already paying $1000 per night to stay in. Insane! I don't mind paying the money, I've stayed at 5 star hotels all over the world for the last 25 years, but there has to be some semblance to value for your money. This is a four star hotel pretending to be 5 star.

I may get the usual reply from the manager saying he's sorry and would I like to contact him, but I'm afraid this disappointing stay has put me off four seasons.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Happydays2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSMaui, General Manager at Four Seasons, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Aloha from Maui,

Thank you for your review. I do appreciate your feedback, and am disappointed to hear about your concerns regarding the pools and hotel condition. If you would like to discuss your thoughts further, please contact me at 808.874.2212 or konrad.gstrein@fourseasons.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Konrad Gstrein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed 9 days early December 2012 and found attention to detail, customer service, and anticipation of needs went beyond our expectations many, many times. Most hotel staffers remembered our name and preferences---this includes beach staff, house keeping, and staff at on-site restaurant. We have stayed at FS 4 times over the past 4 years and have already made reservations for our 5th visit. The hotel itself is beautiful. The beach is gorgeous. Bonus: Saw whales and dolphins swimming together from the beach---doesn't get much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceilokla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Either on site or close by. Stayed on the club level and it was worth it for us. Food and beverages available most of the day. Upgraded concierge service and great views from the 8th floor. If I were going to Maui again, I would stay here. Excellent facility, large rooms, extremely well maintained grounds. Very aesthetic resort......world class.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

WOW I don't know where to begin there are so many amazing things to speak on regarding this outstanding Four Season's property! From the minute you walk on property your treated like royalty and all through out your stay. Rooms were large and comfortable (loved the extra touch with music sterio in the bathroom) Resort has 3 pools, one large Foutain pool, kid pool with waterfall next to this pool, and the Serenity Pool (adult only)which is the infinity pool. Difficult to get a chair here as it's a fairly small pool area. You either have to get to the pool by 7am for first pick or come later in the morning to get on the waiting list for that day. Personally I just brought my bag and placed it on the chairs next to the swimup bar (these are open chairs for people waiting if there on a waiting list) and relaxed in the water. Wasn't too much of a hassle. Staff at all the pools were very friendly and would come by pretty often with free fresh fruit slices, cold towels, ice cream, freezer pops, etc... Very nice touch! The spa was great, I got a oceanside massage (only downside you have to walk through the pool area in your robe) and facial, both were great. Room service was always on time. Concierge staff were very resorceful and informative. Outstanding resort, highly recommend! Great for special occasions because your treated so special and not just another guest or number.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Room was spectacular, room services were amazing, the concierge lounge provided a great breakfast, lunch, hors d'oeuvres, late night snacks, vodka, cognac, fresh cooked cookies, amazing helpful friendly staff, great beach, best massage ever ( she walked all over my back) , excellent workout facilities, amazing pools, secluded cabanas witha view out of everything. You name it -- and they excel at it.

Room Tip: Spring for the concierge floor looking at the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wow, such a fantastic place to stay... from the absolutely fabulous diving experience to the various activities we did every day. The food, the service, the resort, the spa, the whole place was just unbelievable... it is expensive but the most relaxing and indulgent holiday we have ever had.... and I hope very much to be able to afford to go there again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeccaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
29.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons

Property: Four Seasons
Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#1 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea, Maui
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing