We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Four Seasons Maui!!!”
Review of Four Seasons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We just returned from our fourth visit to this resort and as usual in was amazing!!! It is definitely the best resort on the island. The hotel, staff, beach and overall experience is pretty close to perfect. If you want to feel pampered and be surrounded by beauty this is the place to stay on Maui.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lvtotravel44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,175)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,014 - 3,020 of 5,176 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

If there is a Four Seasons where we are going, we usually play it safe and stay there, but this trip to Maui we thought we would try a more kids friendly, or should I say teen friendly resort, so we booked The Fairmont Kea Lani, in Maui. We booked a Deluxe Ocean View Suite with a wonderful view, but very dated. Our kids walked down path to Four Seasons, came back and asked why we didn't go to Four Seasons, so making an executive family decision, we checked out of Kea Lani, and into the Four Seasons. Albeit, we added an additional $350 a night onto the room cost, it was well worth it! The resort is beautiful, pool has plenty of teens and grown ups alike, so fun for all! Not real impressed with restaurants, so went of property to eat most of time.

Room Tip: Make sure you book an ocean view...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JP Lido G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed 12/31/12 - 1/7/13. Had 3 Ocean View Prime Rooms. Second visit to this property. Been to Four Seasons Hualalai several times; same for both properties on Lanai. Also have stayed at the Ritz Kapalua; Princeville Resort; and Hyatts in Kaanapali and Kauai.
This hotel is nearly 400 rooms on only 17 acres. That's packing them in compared to say, Hualalai. 7:00am starts the mad dash for securing pool and ocean lounge chairs. Hate that when spending >$1,000 per night per room.
Wailea area is already very crowded with the Grand Wailea and the Fairmont sandwiching the Four Seasons.
Beach is nice and the Wailea weather is normally warm and dry. But it is crowded.
Hotel service was spotty, particularly housekeeping. Turndown missed twice; regular cleaning missed our room once. Not good for the prices paid.
Restaurants were very expensive and food and service was mixed. Spago was great, though very pricey. Lobby lounge food and drink was excellent. Duo dinner was average though prices were not. Duo breakfast buffet is huge, but for $45+ per head it better be. Ferraro's dinner was awful, but lunch was very good.
This is a solid, four star resort. Way too crowded. Way too expensive for what you get.
We stayed at Jumby Bay on Antigua and the Inn at Palmetto Bluff in South Carolina this year. Our experience at those two resorts including accommodations, food, service, etc., was vastly superior than at the Maui Four Seasons and the overall cost (lodging, meals, airfare, etc.) was significantly less than Four Seasons Maui.
Four Seasons Hualalai has been a much better Hawaii vacation for our family than the Maui property, and despite the relative isolation, our teens preferred the two Lanai Four Seasons over Maui as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NorCalFamily31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSMaui, General Manager at Four Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Aloha from Maui,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback, and are disappointed to hear about your concerns regarding service and business levels. If you would like to discuss your concerns, please contact me at 808.874.2212 or konrad.gstrein@fourseasons.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Konrad Gstrein
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A beautiful resort with stellar staff and service. I was here on business and brought my family with me. They had an amazing time and did not have to leave the resort. After work I was able to enjoy my time relaxing by the poolside. The food was outstanding. If you want to treat yourself, you will not go wrong here!

M.R.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4,361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel property is good but it's crazy expensive.The resort staff i think they have reduced maybe to cost cut I think I read somewhere that they are not able to meet their bank commitments.I would suggest splurging at at reasonable hotel.We had to walk like half a mile to come to our room.and also they charge for everything possible and very high like for the Parking.room service was slow in delivering things we order.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Don1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Service was superb and everything else i.e. the food, the feel the facility as well. Dinner at the Spago was a treat - the food was absolutely awesome, but we didn't feel very,,,, "special". Pools are lovely and the beach easily accessible, Pool staff excellent, However one drawback was our inability to find a spot at the adults only pool. Apparently you need to be there early if you want a chair!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

After staying at several hotels the past 2 weeks in Maui and other islands, I say hands down, The Four Seasons Wailea wins for room quality and beach and ambience.

Here is why:

1. It is incredibly expensive but worth it for privacy, sunny side of island, large bathrooms and closets, likable servers who are trained to please. Bed quality is also best on island.

2. Kids are safe on the beach- excellent sand and water depth- so relaxing!

3. Pretty gardens not sprawling like the Ritz but well kept and cared for.

4. Food quality is very good although not enough selections on Room Service menu and buffet needs more polish.

All in all- with the stylish shops and golden sand beach, it's a winner.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNowVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
29.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons

Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Green Hotel in Wailea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $591 - $1,406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea, Maui
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing