We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay...which is no surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Amazing stay...which is no surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My significant other and I just returned from a two part trip to Maui. During the first part, we spent 4 days at the amazing Four Seasons, and for the second part we moved on to another resort in Kaanapali. Our stay at the FS was so amazing that we realized we should have planned our entire time there!

The resort is located in the lush surrounds of Wailea. There is a nice sand beach (public access, but safe for snorkeling and diving), paved jogging path that follows the shoreline, and it's a short distance to the shops at Wailea. The pools, while not as expansive as those at the Grand Wailea, were well designed. We were there in October when there weren't as many children taking over, so we often didn't bother with the adults-only infinity pool. And, who can beat the free cabanas, stellar poolside service, and free otter pops?

Rooms are spacious--we were able to upgrade to a partial ocean view room for an additional $20 a night on checkin, which was definitely a better view than the garden-facing rooms. But I barely spent that much time in the room...so it's not necessary to have this view to have a quiet, relaxing time.

During our stay, I made use of the resort's onsite dive company, Maui Underseas Adventures, to complete my SCUBA certification. The hotel concierge service handled all of the communication to make the dive reservations, and while a bit pricier, it really helped extend my relaxation time to not have to drive to another dive shop or get on a boat. All the dives were conducted from the beach at the hotel. The company did a great job teaching me the ropes and providing all the equipment.

We also went to the restaurants onsite--Spago and Ferraro's for dinner and Duos for breakfast. My favorite meal was probably the dinner at Ferraros...they also had a better view of the sunset in my opinion. Also, they had noted from the concierge that we were celebrating my S.O.'s birthday, so they brought out a special cake for him! Now, that's connecting the dots.

Now, we didn't have some of the problems mentioned in earlier posts, namely the winds or the feeling that there were too many people/lines for cabanas. However, we may have had some luck with this. The trade winds weren't blowing during our stay, and the hotel was not booked to capacity. However, we've stayed at the FS Hualalai before and if you are going to head to a resort to relax and not do much else, I feel like the Hualalai is better suited for this. The Wailea is more compressed and in an area with multiple other resorts, while the Hualalai is more remote and focused on nature (especially with their fish-filled saltwater snorkeling pool!).

With that all said, here's the usual pros/cons list I write for these reviews:

PROS:
- Location: Nice sandy beach, lush surrounds, walking access to shops/other resorts
- Service: From the front desk to the pool, everyone helps you out with a smile
- Aloha suite: where you can shower/change/lounge if your flight doesn't fit into the checkin/checkout times
- High quality room
- Thoughtful housekeeping (they left a book light for my S.O. after seeing how many books he'd brought with him)
- Onsite dive shop had high quality equipment and was very knowledgeable. Cost for photo disc was reasonable
- Restaurants onsite
- Free wifi (if you really want to spend your time on the internet ;))
- Nice pools with well-kept cabanas/beach chairs
- Great list of daily activities
- Onsite art exhibits every day from 8AM - 1:30PM
- Spa facilities
- Scenic jogging path
- Stations with free water/coffee/tea

CONS:
- The resort is a little more compressed than the Hualalai
- Cost (for rooms and spa and breakfast)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fluff_astrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,892
    471
    195
    89
    47
See reviews for
1,100
2,531
73
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for just over a week for our honeymoon in Sep 2012. Absolutely loved it. It is very pricey, but for us, it was probably a once in a lifetime trip, so we splurged and had a wonderful time. The service is just impeccable - every need/want/desire is taken care of almost before you can form the words. All the staff are very kind and there to make your stay perfect. Housekeeping comes twice a day and leaves water for you in your mini fridge, and bottled water is also offered to you as you leave the hotel in your rental car for your day trips. Concierge goes to great lengths to get you exactly what you are looking for. The guest rooms are fantastic - we had a deluxe partial ocean view room, and it was much more than I expected. In most hotels, this room would make you have to lean your head around a wall to see the ocean, but here, we just rolled over in bed and it was right there. The lanai was just lovely - very large and with a table and chairs so you can sit out and enjoy the beautiful view. We enjoyed breakfast out there several times. Room service was great - the food always came quickly and well within the time frame mentioned when ordering. The menu also had a good variety of food available. The coffee was delicious. Even the in-room coffee was surprisingly very good. The hotel itself was very clean, spacious, and quiet....they won't come out and say it, but it's not really the kind of place you want to bring kids. No loud noises, no running, horseplay, etc. It's very calm and tranquil. Even cell phones must be on silent or vibrate. You don't realize how intrusive they are until you don't hear even one phone for a week! We came home relaxed and at peace. It was just what we wanted. Oh, and there is a wonderful beach just steps from the hotel. You can snorkel right there and even rent equipment for free (for one hour, paid after one hour) from the hotel.

You will want to rent a car. The island is beautiful and you will want to explore. The hotel has a handful of restaurants on-site, but for the price, we weren't wowed, so do yourself a favor and eat off the resort when you can. HIGHLY recommend Mama's Fish House in Paia. Lahaina is also a fun place.

Room Tip: Deluxe partial ocean view rooms - great value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMS707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Food was great, service excellent, staff beyond friendly. Half way through the trip we had a conversation discussing if we could change one thing what would it be?...The only thing I could come up with was a foot rest in the shower for shaving!

We casually mentioned what was in our drinks from the wait staff and JoAnn, the waitress, got them from the bartender. Specifically, the cucumber ginger smash. Yummy!!! While eating dessert, we asked about an ingredient (turned out it was dehydrated peanut butter powder) and a woman from the in-house pastry shop provided us with a sample of the powder to take home, as we had never seen such a thing. The waiter at the pool was able to make dinner reservations for us at Mama's Fish House by contacting a friend. And we never had a problem getting a chair or covered cabana by the main pool any day. We were worried about this before we left, but it turned out to be no big deal at all!

Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great vacations deal in good resort,nice and friendly ,clean and good for couple,nice ocean wiev and if you like sports you can enjoy. long trip and you have to have at lease 1 weak or maybe more .also try to come at fall season ,I think price be better

Room Tip: Asks for free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

A must have experience. Danny's drinks are awesome!!!!! Service is out of this world from valet all the way to room service. They have an Italian restaurant there that has great food. Reservations are required so plan accordingly. Must get a massage in the tiki hut.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruperto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Words alone cannot describe the beauty and luxury of this resort. The open architecture and expanse of gorgeous common areas defies description ~ stunning views of the island of Lanai and breathtaking flowers and floral arrangements give one the feeling that they are truly in paradise. But their signature achievement is the quality of their service ~ it is impeccable. Each and every staff member goes the extra mile to always greet you with a friendly "aloha" and a warm smile. Their knowledge of the resort and of the island of Maui is always given in an enthusiastic and helpful way, and if one had a special request, they went out of their way to try and honor it. The Four Seasons gets it right, each and every time...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyu52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I just came back from The Four Seasons Maui at Wailea after spending 8 amazing nights there! It was my 1st time at a Four Seasons resort and I was blown away - the service, attention to detail and amenities are worth a million dollars!
The location of the hotel is right in the heart of Wailea on a really great beach. You can paddle board and snorkel anytime and see a bunch of turtles and marine life. The outrigger canoe trip that is free at the FS is great - the guides give you a little bit of history about HI and show you some great spots to check out. If you like taking walks, the beach stretches all the way to the Grand Wailea (which is huge!) or you can take a nice path to the Fairmont along the cliffs.
The cabanas all over the resort are the best - you do have to wake up super early to get the best spots, but honestly there isn't a bad spot in the entire hotel. The cabana staff will service you all day - they bring water constantly, cold towels, as well as small snacks throughout the day (pineapple, Popsicles, brownies, rice krispy treats - all for free). You can also order food and drinks from a menu and even get spa treatments while u lounge. They even have sun block that you can use all day long - just in case you don't have yours!
The rooms are also excellent - we had the lower tier garden view room and it was spectacular. We were only able to see a small piece of ocean but who cares - the hotel is so great you don't spend anytime in your room anyway. The bed was super comfy and everything was extra clear. Housekeeping came to the room 2 to 3 times per day - constantly folded and changed towels, replenished toiletries, re-made the bed - they even folded our clothes that we just threw on the bed. They even give you fresh slippers almost every day!!!!
The food at the restaurants is very fresh and well prepared - my husband and I are foodies who are very critical. There wasn't a single dish we didn't like. Everything is expensive but so is everything everywhere in HI - the food prices at the resort were not any higher than a lower tier hotel or a great local restaurant.

I really can't say enough good things about the Four Seasons. While it is expensive, you definitely get a lot for your money and you will feel pampered like never before! I can't wait to visit one of their other tropical resorts in the near future!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNKA17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
29.9 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea

Property: Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Address: 3900 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wailea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui At Wailea Hotel Wailea
Four Seasons Resort Maui Wailea
Four Seasons Wailea
Wailea Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing