We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$945
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$924
$899
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$809
$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$479
$415
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$469
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$546
$441
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
$1,176
$839
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$329
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $343/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
190
47
6
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
47
6
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtsherb gardencondo complexdaily maid servicesea turtleswatching whalesgreat snorkelingtour boatsshort driveturtle townwest mauiquiet areaboogie boardingthrough destination resortspots and pansbeach chairsbody surfing
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 253 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We have been to all the Islands numerous times and stayed for the 1st time at Makena Surf - Unit B-203

There is nothing better! What took us so long to find it?

Our 2 bedroom 2 bath unit was well equipped and furnished. Oceanfront at its' best. Large Lanai with table & chairs, and lounge chairs. Doors to Lanai from family /dining room open up completely to bring inside out and outside in. Everything you need is already there..... Kitchenware, bedding, beach chairs, towels, umbrella, boogie boards, mask, snorkel, fins, sand toys, etc, etc, etc.

Walk down the stairs - you are at the pool & tennis courts. Go around the corner a few steps - you are on the beach. What could be better? Fabulous beach - this is where the people getting married come to have their weddings on the beach. Super body surfing , and a few yards off shore some of the best snorkeling on Maui. All the tour boats on this side of the island make their stop here for their clients and all you have to do is walk out of the condo. No need to pay for the tour!!! Just wake up - and go swimming/snorkeling.

Makena Surf is located in a very quiet area down the road from the major resort hotels on this side of the Island. Close enough to Wailea to get everything you need but far enough to get away from the crowds

If you want the best South Maui has to offer – stay at Makena Surf

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

I have been to Maui on three previous trips this was by far the best location I have stayed at. The beach by the condo was perfect for our kids, boogey-boarding, snorkeling and shell hunting all on site. If you are tired of the beach there are two fantastic swimming pools and a tennis court to occupy your time. An on site fresh herb garden for the residents as well as a lovely Koi pond. The staff keeps the grounds impeccably clean and beautifully groomed. We observed three weddings on the beach during our stay. Sunsets from our deck were incredible. We will go back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daughter_earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Destination Resorts never fails to provide superlative service. The grounds are maintained magnificently, and have been for the past fifteen years that we've been going there. They go out of their way to assist in finding the appropriate condominium unit, and are prompt with maintenance and other requests. If I had an unlimited budget, I would visit this Destination Resorts facility every few months. It is heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank particular55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We just returned from Maui and had the nicest vacation ever of the many times we have visited the islands. We stayed at Makena Surf in the Wailea area,a wonderful all ocean view resort. The units are second homes for mainlanders,beautifully furnished and maintained. Our unit had 2 bedrooms,2 baths,living,and dining rooms,a beautifully equipped kitchen,and patio with barbeque,all very spacious. Best of all for my wife,was the easy access the large rooms provided for her wheelchair,especially the bathroom Staff provided a ramp for the 3 steps from foyer to lower area,they also recommended a rental company [ Gammi ] that provided a beach wheelchair with huge rubber tires,enabling us to get to the waters edge for the first time.What athrill for my wife,no longer having to look on from afar. Roxanne and her staff were incredibly helpful. The rooms were cleaned every day,beds made,towels replaced,and large beach towels provided There are 2 swimming pools and spas,a vrey large tennis court, beautiful lawns and gardens,and 3 of Maui's best golf courses across the street. We willreturn asoften as possible Waller and Kay Prentice,Sacramento,CA

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsySacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I just returned from an eight-night stay at Makena Surf (unit F-208) with my wife, elderly mother, and two young children (6 and 3), and I can still hardly believe how fabulous the place was. Our two-bedroom condo was absolutely magnificent, with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean, West Maui mountains, and the islands of Lana'i, Kaho'olawe from the 250 sq. ft. balcony. The condo was beautifully furnished with a perfectly stocked, modern kitchen, comfortable living room (with full-size pull out sleeper), dining room with a fabulous view, a gorgeous master suite, and finely appointed second bedroom with a queen and twin beds. This unit is made all the more inviting by thoughtful details like accent lighting with dimmers in all rooms and on the balcony, ceiling fans throughout, flat screen TVs in living and both bedrooms, stereo system and DVD player in the living room, free, high-speed internet, large Weber grill on the balcony, washer and dryer, etc., etc. Wow! If this isn't one of the best unites at Makena, I would love to see the rest! We will return as soon as possible.

In terms of the property in general, one word comes to mind: Spectacular. The landscaping is really hard to believe -- lush, perfectly tended trees and shrubs, flours and tropical plants everywhere, two beautiful herb garden, which can be used by guests, new sidewalks with terra-cotta colored paving stones. Simply amazing. One could spend an entire day sitting on one of the many benches and just stare at the vegetation. If you don't have time to drive the road to Hana, just take a walk around Makena Surf! The two pools are great, and were virtually empty the entire time we were there. The beaches are also first-class. One of the two (often called Chang's beach) is especially attractive and offers great swimming for kids on calm days and excellent boogie boarding when the South Swell arrives (as it did for us). The snorkeling around the rocky point on the southern edge of the beach is excellent. During our stay we swam with sea turtles several times, saw three species of Moray Eels, and countless varieties of beautiful tropical fish. We snorkeled at Kapalua, Honolua, and other good spots, and thought that Makena Surf's snorkeling was right up there with the best places. Like the pools, the beach (especially the southern end near Makena Surf) was nearly empty, which made for an incredibly relaxing experience. Morning and evening walks in the powder-fine sand were fabulous.

Finally, we booked through Destination Resorts. A great move for many reasons: 1) our unit was spectacular, and is only rented through them. 2) They offer a very unobtrusive cleaning service and a daily newspaper. The women who came to clean our unit were incredibly friendly and professional. 3) They know how to deal with and resolve problems! Let me explain. On our first day it was discovered that our second bathroom had leaked into the unit below us during the days before we arrived and had ruined the ceiling. We were told we could not use the shower for a couple of days, but they offered to move us to another unit immediately. I told them I loved our unit so much that I would happily make due with one shower (no big deal, really). Without delay we were given one free night. No small consolation at a place like this! The staff at Destination resorts was incredible. Even the plumber who had to come into the unit a couple of times was unobtrusive, friendly, and professional. We received a couple of very sincere calls to make sure that everything was fine. Everything was fine. To be sure, everything was perfect. We will be back . . . many times I hope.

One last word. Makena Surf is not cheap. However, when you consider what you get for the money –- spacious unit (over 1,500 sq. ft.), huge balcony with unbeatable view, impeccable grounds, beautiful pools, and breathtaking beaches, it is really a bargain.

If you love to stay in spacious, private, relaxing, luxurious, but entirely unpretentious places, Makena Surf is the perfect spot

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ViajeroIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews