We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“F112”
Review of Makena Surf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Makena Surf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this 3 bedroom unit. The kitchen was incredibly well stocked. We had family dinners on the lanai at sunset every night. The views were incredible. The beach is steps away and it was wonderful. We had a turtle swim up to us one afternoon while we were playing in the surf. The snorkeling was great right in front of our unit. The pool was right in front of our unit and was very well maintained. There were beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. We did see mice, but this was taken care of promptly. Maui has had a mouse issue this spring. Destination Resorts was easy to deal with and very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Afliesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Aloha....We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of Makena Surf. It is a beautiful beachfront property and as you experienced, the snorkeling in front is outstanding. Turtles often frequent the area and they are beautiful to see, from a safe distance. Hopefully, you can come back soon to get reacquainted.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 232 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed in F-110 on this our 2nd visit to Makena Surf
Perfection
Large grass area in front. No walls, bushes, or trees blocking any views from inside or on the lanai.

Comfortable two bedroom two bath unit. Condo had everything you would want or need. Including own BBQ grill. Just a few short steps to the pool and a short walk to either beach this property sits on

Breakfast on the grass overlooking the ocean every morning as the sun begins to rise over Haleakala. perfect

After breakfast, Snorkeling each morning as soon as the sun hits the water on the point out front. Perfect. Clear water, lots of fish, (even a pair of reef sharks cruise here most mornings) abundant colorful corals, turtles even day (low day was 3 with a high of 9 in a 1 hour snorkel) no crowds. Later in the morning most of the Molokini boats and the kayak tours from Wailea are here bringing crowds. We had it to ourselves every morning before they arrived and just walked in from the beach.

This complex does not have the restaurants or shops the large properties have, but that is all close by as of Wailea is a quick drive or nice walk; as is Kihei just a few minutes up the road by car.

If you want all the "action" look elsewhere. But, if you want comfort, luxury, great beaches, beautiful landscaped grounds, best snorkeling, amazing sunset views every night, excellent service from on-site staff, Makena Surf is your place

Multiple booking methods, Destination Resorts is the primary and they do an excellent job and have a great website where you view all the units they offer here. Look for yourself

12 trips visiting all the islands. Stayed many places, For us Makena Surf is perfect

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank BeachCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Aloha....I was thrilled to see that you enjoy Makena Surf so much and that you have found it to be your "perfect" place to stay when visiting Maui. Also, thank you so much for mentioning us as your Rental Management Company of choice. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Can not say enough glowing remarks about the unit and property. The pictures do not do it justice. We stayed in b 103 and the unit was wonderful and the property well maintained. Good pools, nicely sized not crowded beaches. Security at night. Had a relaxing stay with our 3 kids. The unit was spotless and all communication I had was professional and prompt.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 98,765,432,198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

The Makena Surf G304 is amazing. This condo was recently renovated and it's beautiful all the way through. 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. It has two lanai's that overlook an unobstructed view of a small beach. Also unsurprisingly, the best views of a Maui sunset you could ask for.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Kimren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Aloha...Thank you for your review and I was happy to see that you were able to enjoy some of Maui's gorgeous sunsets from your lanai.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just returned from our stay at Makena Surf. I still miss sitting on our lanai and visiting the beautiful beach and pool. We had a wonderful time. The condo unit was well equipped, very clean and perfect for our family of 6. We saw whales from our lanai and from the beach. My kids loved boogie boarding at the beach. It was shallow enough that they could still touch the ground while gliding on their boards! The pool was never busy and we loved the calmness of the area. A short drive to Kihei for groceries and restaurants was not a problem. The unit was managed by Destination Resorts. We had daily maid service which was fabulous. Very content and happy after staying at Makena Surf.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank sparklulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here March 5 to 12 during whale season. Two bedroom condo managed by Destination Resorts. Made reservation thru Travelocity. Great service. Large spacious condo and large lanai with great furnishings Everything clean and frig had ice maker. Kitchen well stocked with new pans and nice dishes/glasses/silverware. This unit was right on the ocean with quick access to a small isolated beach that had great snorkeling and lots of turtles. Area is known as Turtle Town and is very true. The pool and spa were close and we used spa every night. This condo was right on the ocean with great views. We saw whales every day from our lanai. Highly recommend Makena Surf. Away from all the tourist areas.

Room Tip: F building is close to ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Aloha...It sounds like you had a lovely visit to Makena Surf. It is a wonderful property right on the ocean away from all the crowds. I was also pleased that you were able to enjoy all the marine life that Maui has to offer. The winter months when the humpback whales are visiting is truly a special time, even for those of us who live here.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This unit is probably hard to beat for comfortable living – watch the video: http://youtu.be/Z6q3kepW4XI - Some details are below.

We planned this trip around the whales. We kayaked out to whales, took the Pacific Whale Foundation boat to see a whole lot of whales, sailed to Molokini and saw lots more whales, and I stand up paddled offshore to almost catch up to a whale. This condo made a super-comfortable base for all of these, as well as providing a large lanai as an awesome whale watching platform. With the restaurants and shops of Wailea a short drive away and all of Kihei a little farther north, we never traveled beyond Maalaea Harbor for anything other than the airport. Bonus: Willie K at Mulligans on the Blue is a great show and just over a mile away.

The lanai is the main reason to stay here. There are views of Molokini (and February sunsets) to the left, a nearby beach and distant Maalaea Harbor to the right, and lots of ocean in between. Close in, near shore, you get snorkelers and kayakers who come to see the sea turtles (we snorkeled here and encountered two turtles close enough to touch, which is, btw, illegal). We saw many, many whales from the lanai, some breaching not all that far away – but bring binoculars.

There’s a fairly ordinary master bedroom with king bed, which has no view of the water, but with a really nice en suite bathroom, including a very large shower, dual sinks and lots of counter space and outlets.

A second bedroom has two beds and an adjacent full bathroom.

There’s a smallish washer/dryer (and laundry soap), so you needn’t pack a lot of clothes. The unit comes with four very large beach towels – two of these fill up the washer.

The kitchen is excellent. Fine refrigerator/freezer; two coffee makers, one Keurig, one Cuisinart drip; I can confirm the oven works perfectly, but we never used the stovetop. Also a blender, a rice cooker, plenty of dishes (but an odd assortment of glassware), plenty of utensils and silverware. You should find most everything you need, including tools for grilling.

The grill is on the lanai – an excellent Weber Spirit gas grill. It’s in great shape. I recommend grilling some fresh fish – the best source we found was Eskimo Candy, just north of Foodland in Kihei.

Dining room is perfectly adequate and has a good view over the lanai. The living room is comfortable for six or so (there were just two of us). Good flat screen TV – be sure to use channels starting with 49 for high def; lower channels get you a much lower quality picture (e.g., NBC on 8 is awful compared to NBC on 49-3). The internet modem and wireless router are here – on-site help is available if you need it.

We didn’t use the swimming pool. We loved the courtyard and lavish landscaping, but spent no time here except to walk to the car and back. Housekeeping was very good, especially compared to other condos we’ve stayed at.

This is a great location for enjoying Maui away from the relative craziness of the west side of the island. I’m sure many of the other condos at Makena Surf are excellent, but we’ve only been inside this one. I can enthusiastically recommend it, especially during whale season.

Room Tip: Some noise from unit above, so if you can handle stairs, perhaps take a top floor unit. This unit is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChadH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Aloha.....I would like to say thank you for taking the time to post such an extensive review of your visit to Makena Surf. With the location of the property being right on the ocean, whale watching from your lanai does become an addictive activity this time of year.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wailea hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
1.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.7 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makena Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Surf

Address: 4850 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Wailea
Price Range: $464 - $1,238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Surf 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet retreat on secluded Paipu Beach. Located along a half-mile stretch of Paipu Beach, the Makena Surf resort is a fantastic choice for a secluded Hawaii beachfront vacation offering spectacular ocean views and luxurious appointments. Retreat to a world of peace and privacy through a gated access and meander along cobbled pathways and lush tropical foliage. Select from two- or three bedroom oceanfront suites that open onto your private lanai with glass balconies that overlook the Pacific Ocean. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. This beachfront resort features two swimming pools, two whirlpool spas, four tennis courts and 90 holes of championship golf at the nearby Wailea and Makena Golf Courses, where guests enjoy preferred rates. Amenities include $155 in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Makena Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Surf Hotel Makena
Makena Surf Wailea, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing