We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!”
Review of Makena Surf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Makena Surf
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Makena Surf Condos:
This condo complex is a series of 3 story buildings of 1-4 bedroom condos all with beautiful lanais and ocean/oceanfront views! Each condo is furnished and equipped differently by their owners, but all have full kitchens and washer/dryer and large lanai. The grounds are beautiful and immaculately kept! There are 2 herb gardens on the property and you can pick some of your own dill, rosemary, parsley and arugula for your meals. There are 2 pools/2 jacuzzis that are in great shape and cleaned daily.

Our Condo:
We stayed in B305 for a week over Thanksgiving. This 2bd, 2ba condo is the perfect place! Words can't describe how comfortable and well-equipped this unit is! The kitchen has everything you need and more: high-end pots and pans, loads of Tupperware, bakeware and every utensil a cook could dream of! We ate in most days for breakfasts of fresh fruits and dinners of grilled fish chicken and pineapple on the BBQ on our lanai. The beds were extremely comfortable. Like I said...perfect! We rented directly from the owners through VRBO and the owner was a pleasure to work with.

Snorkeling/Beach:
There is superb snorkeling right out front of the condo, good for beginners and younger kids. In fact, every morning we watched all of the snorkel trip boats drop anchor right off Makena point to snorkel this beautiful reef. I think the area is called Turtle Town and it is true to its name...lots of turtles that sometimes surprise you and glide right by as you are checking out the beautiful fish and coral! The beach is easy, no big waves or strong currents. Great place for families with kids or people who are not strong swimmers.

We will return again and again!

Room Tip: We liked the 3rd floor/top floor for privacy and spectacular sunsets, but you really can't go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    37
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
145
44
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It is outstanding in so many ways. But the catch is that you have to get the right units with the right furnishings. Especially given the price. E102 is on the first floor within steps to the beach. it has maybe the best furniture, kitchen, lighting and bathroom. it has automatic blackout shades! E302, we prefer a little bit better. It is a little bit smaller, but its details are a tiny bit better in most of those same aspects. You can see the beach and feel the breeze from your bedroom.

The beach is public, but virtually no one comes. The snorkeling is outstanding -- especially in the morning. All kinds of coral, colors, fish in varying sizes and guaranteed to see turtles. This is not a surfing or really a boogie board beach, but in the afternoon, the surf can be more active and fun.

its a good walking beach and if you walk far enough, there is a private area where you can lay in the sun naked should that be interesting to you.

We've been here twice and will be coming back. Only down side is the housekeeping. Its pretty inconsistent. The beds are not that great as well. Otherwise this is a 5-star resort. Make sure you look hard at the pics. E and B buildings are the best. A and C are near the road and F and G are off the beach aways. Furnishings are key, so make sure you do due diligence otherwise you can be disappointed. Pools are average, but you don't come here for the pools.

Last point, if you wait till the last week before your trip you can get some pretty sizable savings. And the money you save on eating in will be staggering. Bring some of your own stuff like teas and nuts and such. Bring binoculars.

Room Tip: See note above. E102, E103, E302, B104, B302 seemed the best options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wein0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Aloha......I would like to thank you for your extensive and flattering review of Makena Surf. It is a wonderful property with a lot to offer visitors to Maui who prefer to stay way from the large hotels. I would also like to thank you for bringing your housekeeping concerns to my attention. I will be following up with the housekeeping manager and we will continue to work hard to live up to your expectations in the future.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a very nice and quiet property. We got a great price on an ocean front unit. The staff is efficient and helpful. Really the only complaint would be that the pictures destination resorts showed on the website were not anything like the unit we got. Our unit was an old version of what is shown. We were greeted by ants, which staff responded to quickly. The unit could use some paint and a really good cleaning but for the price and view is a good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed in G-301 which had 4 bedrooms and over 3000 sq ft. Right on a perfect secluded beach area. Swam and snorkeled with the sea turtles everyday we were there. Condo was clean and well stocked with all the amenities you would need for a week in Maui. The sunsets on the lanai (balcony) are worth every penny you pay for this place. We shared with two other couples but the condo is so big that we were spread out and still had plenty of space and privacy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Makena surf is a great location on what we think is the best beach in maui. Watching whales on the balcony everyday was a big highlight; and it's so nice to have a place to rinse off the toys and kids before heading back to the unit. We already have another stay planned for next year!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmd_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Aloha....Thank you for your review and continued loyalty.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautiful condos with all the conveniences of home, spectacular views, great snorkeling. I'm on a first name basis with several sea turtles, was greeted by a Christmas wrasse on Christmas Day. A beautiful expanse of beach, great for walking. Watched several weddings from our balcony. Oh, and the sunsets!!!

Room Tip: We always request a condo with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjjacksonmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 7 enjoyed breathtaking views of the sunset, Molokai, sea turtles, and the Makena coastline from our corner condo. We had 3 lanais to enjoy panoramic views. First floor is the way to go at this property just steps from the surf and the beaches. This is our second stay at the Makena Surf and we loved it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rkhoffman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Makena Surf, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Aloha...I am so glad that you enjoyed your return visit to Makena Surf and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wailea hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
1.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,083 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makena Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makena Surf

Property: Makena Surf
Address: 4850 Makena Alanui, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Makena Surf 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet retreat on secluded Paipu Beach. Located along a half-mile stretch of Paipu Beach, the Makena Surf resort is a fantastic choice for a secluded Hawaii beachfront vacation offering spectacular ocean views and luxurious appointments. Retreat to a world of peace and privacy through a gated access and meander along cobbled pathways and lush tropical foliage. Select from two- or three bedroom oceanfront suites that open onto your private lanai with glass balconies that overlook the Pacific Ocean. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. This beachfront resort features two swimming pools, two whirlpool spas, four tennis courts and 90 holes of championship golf at the nearby Wailea and Makena Golf Courses, where guests enjoy preferred rates. Amenities include $155 in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makena Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makena Surf Hotel Makena
Makena Surf Wailea, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing