We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, delicious food”
Review of Joe's Nuevo Latino - CLOSED

Joe's Nuevo Latino
Price range: $35 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Wailea Ike Drive
Description: Joe's Nuevo Latino celebrates the incredible diversity of food from Latino communities around the world. Guests enjoy a culinary journey designed to introduce the best, most inspired Latin flavors blended with fresh, local ingredients. The menu features small and large plates, all equally sharable, and includes dishes such as Peruvian ceviches, Argentinian-style beef with chimichurri, Puerto Rican pastele, spicy shrimp with Ecuadorian corn cakes, Cubano conchita pibil (slow roasted pork shank), chicken tamale with Oaxacan mole, Mexican-style roasted fresh fish, and traditional Spanish pulpo a la plancha (grilled octopus). Guests will experience a contemporary, communal, high energy atmosphere and a bar featuring traditional and imagined cocktails with a particular emphasis on tequila and mezcal. The creative force is Chef de Cuisine Gary Johnson, one of Maui's top up-and-coming young culinary talents and an avid traveler with a passion to share his interpretation of nuevo latino cuisine. The award-winning management team includes partners: Chef Roger Stettler, Chef Bev Gannon, Greg Shepherd
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, delicious food”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Located above the Wailea Tennis Center, it is a little difficult to locate but once you arrive you will not be disappointed. We were met by a friendly hostess and excellent server who treated us like one of the Gannon family. This visit I ordered the Kobe Burger and my wife ordered Joe's Famous Meatloaf. Each entree was delicious and cooked to perfection. You cannot go wrong with any item on Chef Bev Gannon's menu. It is always a treat for us to visit Joe's when we are on the island of Maui.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    116
    66
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“This place is great”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a great meal at Joe's. The specials were wonderful and the atmosphere is very laid back.

It is a little out of the way, overlooking the tennis garden in Wailea so it may be a little hard to find, but really worth the effort.

This place has a great selection on the menu, and the Meatloaf got rave reviews from the table next to us. The slow roasted Prime Rib is huge, perfectly medium rare and delicious.

Portions are seizable. Service is very good and you don't get rushed but aren't left waiting either.

We had a nice table with a view of the sunset.

Joe's is definitely on the schedule for my next visit to Maui.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daytripp-r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A very nice birthday dinner”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We went here as it came highly recommended by friends who had been to Maui in December. The restaurant was a bit hard to find but food was delicious. Service was wonderful as well. I had meatloaf - not something I was expecting to get, but was told it was one of the house specialties.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank G1032AJbarbarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
709 reviews
546 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great food in Wailea”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

This is one of our favorite places in Wailea. The service is great and the food is very,good. I enjoyed the MahiMahi tonight, and my husband ordered the meatloaf. Delicious ! The Kula salad with blue cheese is fresh and crisp. Find Joe's early in your trip because you will want to go back for seconds !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank larrchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfort food!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by our visit to Joe's. it was a bit hard to find due to minimal signage that was not lit. It is very dark in this area! We finally figured out that you park in a lot for the tennis club and a golf cart shuttle takes you down the hill to the restaurant. Nice open air seating that overlooks tennis courts. Not a scenic view or anything, but this restaurant probably would have a nice view of the sunset, but we arrived after dark.

I had the surf and turf special which was quite a good deal at $40 and consisted of a tasty steak, large prawns and mashed potatoes and broccoli. My husband had the ribs, which he said were fantastic and falling off the bone tender. My daughter loved the chicken tenders from the kids menu.

All around good food at a reasonable (for Maui) price!

Helpful?
1 Thank Scratchycat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Nuevo Latino also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing