We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fine Place to Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Joe's Nuevo Latino - CLOSED

Joe's Nuevo Latino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Wailea Ike Drive
Description: Joe's Nuevo Latino celebrates the incredible diversity of food from Latino communities around the world. Guests enjoy a culinary journey designed to introduce the best, most inspired Latin flavors blended with fresh, local ingredients. The menu features small and large plates, all equally sharable, and includes dishes such as Peruvian ceviches, Argentinian-style beef with chimichurri, Puerto Rican pastele, spicy shrimp with Ecuadorian corn cakes, Cubano conchita pibil (slow roasted pork shank), chicken tamale with Oaxacan mole, Mexican-style roasted fresh fish, and traditional Spanish pulpo a la plancha (grilled octopus). Guests will experience a contemporary, communal, high energy atmosphere and a bar featuring traditional and imagined cocktails with a particular emphasis on tequila and mezcal. The creative force is Chef de Cuisine Gary Johnson, one of Maui's top up-and-coming young culinary talents and an avid traveler with a passion to share his interpretation of nuevo latino cuisine. The award-winning management team includes partners: Chef Roger Stettler, Chef Bev Gannon, Greg Shepherd
Welland, on
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Fine Place to Eat”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

It is a piece of Americana when you walk in with pictures of the owner with various celebrities who have eaten here. It was casual with good food, we enjoyed the various salads and appetizers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank onnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    116
    66
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Introduction to Maui Cuisine”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Sunday night, our first night in Maui. A little gloomy and drizzly, but Joe's was a short ride from our hotel.
We were seated quickly by a window overlooking the tennis courts.
We knew this was one of Bev Gannon's restaurants so we were looking forward to some great food. We weren't disappointed.
We shared the crab dip appetizer to start, accompanied by a martini for me and a mai tai for my better half. The martini comes in a unique chilled glass, basically a stemless v-shaped glass sitting in a small bowl of ice.
The crab dip is a rich dish, accompanied by triangles of crispy flour tortilla. We made sure to swab up every creamy bit. Definitely come hungry if you want this appetizer.
For entrees, my wife had a mahi mahi special and I had the short ribs special. When first served, we thought the portions looked modest, but we soon realized there was plenty of food on our plates. We had no room for dessert, unfortunately.
The service was brisk, but not obtrusive. We were finished in a little over an hour, but we didn't feel rushed. As we were leaving the place was absolutely full and the noise level was happy and festive.
We liked Joe's!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The chain and this location seem to be capitalizing successfully on the population of the well to do resort area vacationers. I doubt it would be successful in a setting requiring discerning, repeat, local business. Fortunately, there are better choices close by.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GSPARKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Way over priced & plan on a walk to your car.”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

How can a 6 oz piece of Mahi Mahi fish caught a half mile away cost 37.00? Go figure. The place is next to a tennis stadium.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A nice spot for dinner”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We went to Joe's twice in our 7 day trip to Wailea. It was a nice, low key break from the $$$$ other options Wailea has to offer (Resort restaurants and Merriman restaurants). Crowd noise can be a bit of a problem, but the food was generally good and the price was more in line with other areas of Maui (e.g., Lahaina, etc).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ex-expats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing