We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite a mix” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Nuevo Latino - CLOSED

Joe's Nuevo Latino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Wailea Ike Drive
Description: Joe's Nuevo Latino celebrates the incredible diversity of food from Latino communities around the world. Guests enjoy a culinary journey designed to introduce the best, most inspired Latin flavors blended with fresh, local ingredients. The menu features small and large plates, all equally sharable, and includes dishes such as Peruvian ceviches, Argentinian-style beef with chimichurri, Puerto Rican pastele, spicy shrimp with Ecuadorian corn cakes, Cubano conchita pibil (slow roasted pork shank), chicken tamale with Oaxacan mole, Mexican-style roasted fresh fish, and traditional Spanish pulpo a la plancha (grilled octopus). Guests will experience a contemporary, communal, high energy atmosphere and a bar featuring traditional and imagined cocktails with a particular emphasis on tequila and mezcal. The creative force is Chef de Cuisine Gary Johnson, one of Maui's top up-and-coming young culinary talents and an avid traveler with a passion to share his interpretation of nuevo latino cuisine. The award-winning management team includes partners: Chef Roger Stettler, Chef Bev Gannon, Greg Shepherd
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite a mix”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We checked out the location during the day, so no problem finding it at night, the ride to the restaurant in the golf cart was exciting, with no waiting. My wife is vegetarian, and we were told they have a vegetarian menu, so we were excited about our meal. I had the ahi carpaccio, which I suspect had been made well ahead of time and stored in the refridgerator; the plate was speckled with condensation, and the sauce was somewhat congealed. It was good but surely would have been better if made fresh. My wife had the beet and goat cheese salad, which she loved. I had the prime rib, and it was awesome, one of the best pieces of meat I've ever had, cooked just how I like. My wife had a tofu dish, which was two big chunks of tofu, breaded and deep-fried, with a scoop of vegetables. She hated it. The waiter was like, "Sorry," but no offer to try something different. (The service is a tag-team affair with a half-dozen different people coming by, which I find impersonal.) We mentioned the early-bird offer, so the tofu disaster was taken off the bill, but still left a bad taste in our mouths!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diner48103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    116
    66
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas USA
Level Contributor
240 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good Dinner but hard to find”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Joe's Bar and Grill is definitely hard to find especially after dark, Surprisingly the menu had quite a few items but not much choice of fresh hawaiian fish. Our dinner was good but very rich and filling and definitely a health food menu and a little less than what I had expected.
We have great service though .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve48Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
288 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Lots of gimmickry, and in the end unremarkable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I will start with a bias. It is our experience in Hawaii that the cuisine tends to be (a) sweet and (b) overly loaded with sauces and ingredients. If that's a style you like, then discount this review.

Joe's is hyped as an offshoot of the Haile Maile General Store, and claims some of its recipes from there. Its ambiance (once you find it -- not easy) is steakhouse funk, and it's a large, very loud room -- not a quiet tete-a-tete dining spot. The wine list is good, and their by-the-glass offerings are unusually good ones. Cocktails were kind of resort-typical: a pomegranate margarita that was nice enough but in a blind tasting wouldn't have said 'pomegranate', and a ginger cosmopolitan that got good comments. Service was adequate, although we had a rather expressionless waiter who didn't add much warmth to the evening.

The food was at best unexceptional. The crab appetizer with avocado topping was rich but had no real subtlety to it -- and was, oddly, dominated by the avocado. The Beet Tower was quite tasty, though once again more an exercise in richness, courtesy of the goat cheese, than in beets. The ahi special was tasty, seared rare as it should be, but again an amalgam of tastes and ingredients that detracted from the otherwise excellent bits of fish. The "Black Market" ribs, allegedly from the parent restaurant, were overpoweringly sweet and sauce-heavy, so much so that even this rib glutton couldn't get through them. But our sundae at the end was great.

If you like over-the-top sauce and richness it might be a good place to dine. Otherwise, no.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ok meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The creme brûlée was great ! The rest of the food was average ie prime rib. The service was pleasant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelkingVicbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ask about their 2 for 1.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Good food and service located at the Wailea Tennis Club. We liked the fact we could play tennis late in the afternoon and then go upstairs dressed in our tennis clothes and take advantage of their 2 for 1 special between the hours of 5:30 and 6:30 while enjoying a drink from the bar.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DanB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Nuevo Latino also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing