We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to play tennis”
Review of Wailea Tennis Club

Wailea Tennis Club
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful place to play tennis”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I used the ball machine here three days. As guests of Andaz we had access to the tennis club, which is a quick drive or 15 min walk from the hotel.

The ball machine court is okay; a little worn but comparable to outdoor public courts in our hometown of Chicago. Most of the other courts look recently resurfaced. We mostly interacted with Morgan and he and the other staff we met we're very friendly and accommodating. They have rackets for rental and provide water and towels.

Helpful?
Thank achicagoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Tennis Program and Staff”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Excellent staff (Patrick, Chan ,Kathy, Ricky, and Morgan)
Excellent Instruction, well equipped pro shop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
“Tennis on Maui”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

While visiting Maui recently I called the Wailea tennis club to see if they could arrange a match.Morgan and Ricky at the front desk were very helpful and in fact I was able to play four times during our visit with players of my same ability .All the staff was friendly and tried hard to make sure I was introduced and thoroughly explained all the amenities. The facilities in general are in good conditiont but three courts on the lower level need resurfacing.This is a great place for tennis players to add to the Maui experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wldnphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb experience!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I played at the Wailea Tennis Club on numerous occasions while visiting Maui in November and December, 2013. It was a highlight of our trip. The new Director of Tennis, Patrik Ekstrand is an incredible teaching pro. He and the rest of the staff are extremely welcoming and supportive to all levels of players. Ricky in the pro shop was particularly helpful in scheduling court times and hitting partners. The fee structure is quite reasonable and the venue is beautiful. A superb tennis experience.
Eric

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing Tennis Offerings---”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were so looking forward to living next to an established tennis facility. It was very disappointing to learn that all they offered was one clinic early in the morning. We booked a court for $30 and were assured that they could find two other players for a mixed doubles game with us. A few days later we called to check if they had located two more players and were again told= no problem. We arrived on the day of our booking and the person on the desk said that the individual that was suppose to find us partners had messed up but that they would be able to gather someone for our next game. We never received a call in regards to a match at their facility. I would suggest that a sign-up sheet that would let players connect with each other might be the best way to go. There were always available courts as we wandered by and they are really missing out by not offering afternoon activities to gather folks together to enjoy this club. We would suggest a drop in round robin which includes a drink afterwards to meet & greet. They need a mixed doubles day, ladies' day, and a mens' day. These could all be money makers and fill the courts. Whoever is marketing this club is doing a very poor job and it will be sad to see that it must close due to poor management. If they are counting on being the only court in town they are wrong because along the beach in Kihei there are some nice public courts that were always available each day.(Next to the library and Maui Sunset condo complex which both have ocean views and parking.)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GinaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wailea Tennis Club also viewed

 

Been to Wailea Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing