We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best kid friendly beaches”
Review of Ulua Beach

Ulua Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Hawaiian Outrigger Canoe and Snorkel Adventure
Ranked #4 of 42 things to do in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best snorkeling spot in Wailea.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best kid friendly beaches”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This wide sandy beach is a great place to introduce your young children to the beach. Almost always calm waves break gently with a long/deep beach that doesn't drop off quickly or unexpectedly anywhere. The water is usually clear and there is a great reef extending out 100-200 yards on the right side of the beach that is perfecting for introducing people the the joys of snorkeling in Maui. Public parking is plentiful but can fill up on weekends or high tourist season. Beach is usually crowded as several Wailea hotels are within a five minute walk to this beach but there always seems to be enough room for everyone.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    149
    24
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good to Snorkel”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Came here after some locals told us that it is a good place to snorkel, and it surprisingly had quite a large reef! The water was calm and there were tons of beautiful fish, and the coral was beautiful to look at. The beach was soft sand, but a bit busier due to it being right beside a few resorts.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty beach”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I wish we had gone to the beach early in our 11 day stay. We waited until the last day to venture to the southern beaches and chose this one. We found a parking spot by riding around and waited for someone to leave as we went here around 11am. We should have been here earlier because the beach was full, but we found a spot to relax. The water temp was warm, and everyone there looked like they were having a great time. It did get hot and we didn't have an umbrella, so we only stayed about an hour. I will head to this beach first when I return to Maui!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank glu4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This beach is so nice and within walking distance from the Marriott. We had a great time here and the snorkeling was great!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohdearwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Love this beach!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Within walking distance to the Marriott's - perfect sand, good swimming and snorkling and really good for a nice long walk on the beach. EVERY beach in Maui needs to be as good as Ulua Beach. Even when it was crowded, it wasn't TOOO crowded. We had a great time snorkling on both ends of the beach, and when the tide and winds are perfect, we wandered over towards the Marriott's for more advanced snorkling. Wish we were there now. Love this beach!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MonocleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulua Beach also viewed

 

Been to Ulua Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing