We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite”
Review of Ulua Beach

Ulua Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Hawaiian Outrigger Canoe and Snorkel Adventure
Ranked #4 of 42 things to do in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best snorkeling spot in Wailea.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
280 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Maui for three decades. With an abundance of great beaches to visit, Ulua has become our favorite. The small bay offers snorkeling along the coral reef and usually gentle surf. The parking is convenient but can be full. We prefer to sit on the grass or under the shade of the trees. The walkways provide a pleasant stroll or access to the larger resorts. Small but classy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OldOldBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    149
    24
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great beach for snorkeling, boogie boarding or swimming”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This beach is behind the new Andaz resort and (as the Maui beaches are) is open to the public off the boardwalk behind the resorts. The parking is somewhat limited, but rotates quickly. There are outside showers/rinsing poles and bathroom facilities with benches - a nice area. There was a report of a robbery in the parking lot (they popped the trunk) as we were there that was caught on a camera, so (as is also true for all beaches) don't keep anything of value in the car! We snorkeled there and saw turtles in the reef to the right (facing the ocean). We also boogie-boarded there (the surf comes and goes) and the waves were just high enough to be challenging to a moderate beginner with less undertow than Big Beach.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank life2short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Parking limited”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Small, private beach. Great snorkeling, soft sand. Get there early, parking can be difficult to find.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank logansaito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
195 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good intro to Wailea snorkeling”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The very helpful volunteers at Ulua beach explained about taking care of the corals, and told me how to adjust my mask so it wouldn't imprint its shape all round my face. There are lots of fish to identify, and a lovely sandy beach to bask on. Good facilities too.

Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice snorkeling and boogie boarding”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

You have to go early or late when the winds are calm. We saw lovely fish and turtles here. If it's windy, drive 10 minutes south to a more sheltered cove one of the Makena beaches.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxationseeker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulua Beach also viewed

 

Been to Ulua Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing