We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place to spend an afternoon or evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shops at Wailea

The Shops at Wailea
Ranked #9 of 39 things to do in Wailea
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Shops at Wailea is Maui's premier shopping and dining destination with more than 70 distinct boutiques, shops, restaurants and galleries.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend an afternoon or evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We've been few times checking out this place. There are lots of brand name stores which we liked to check out even if we haven't bought anything. We are not the type who will spend $2,000 on a purse but we enjoyed looking at that stuff. There is a place there which sell those pictures / drawings/ writings of the big famous artists which we enjoy looking at, all the time we visited the shops. You can see the picture of the owner of that shop together with all the big names in music and film industry. It's kind of cool. We are from Canada but we were suprised to look at the wooden watches (surprisingly made in Canada!!!) shame on us that we didn't know that.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Travelerspain75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    118
    56
    21
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“WARNING FOR PARKING AT THE SHOPS AT WAILEA!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We have been parking at the Shops at Wailea in the morning, going for a walk and then returning to have a coffee. We have also frequented the shops at other times of the day to purchase. This is not our first trip to Maui and have always enjoyed the Wailea experience. This morning a security guard issued us a warning that in the future we will be ticketed for parking in the lot and leaving to walk...even if after the walk we end up there to purchase! You've got to be kidding!! With this fragile economy the mall administration is willing to annoy potential customers? I wonder if this new rule has been passed through the retailers as they will surely notice it in their bottom line.....most malls want your business!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
18 Thank Marilena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This was a nice...some big brands, 2 general stores, and other stores in case you need something.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank live4thebeach072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shops at Wailea: Way overpriced!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Do all your grocery shopping, souvenir hunting, liquor buying, tee-shirt searching, restaurant eating, etc., in Kihei. Since most folks have a rental vehicle the drive, which is all of 10-15 minutes straight north on South Kihei Road, is worth it. This mall is so ridiculously overpriced it's sad. A little tip on the Foodland supermarket in Kihei. They have a loyalty rewards card called the Maika'i Card and it's available to everyone, tourists included. They'll register you right at the till and each time after just punch in your home phone number and you get all the special prices. What a deal! I preferred Foodland to Safeway as it's much more central to the main drag in Kihei.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank DCinVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor mall for shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We went to this shopping area a few times during our week stay in Wailea. Lots of nice shops - of all sorts for things you might need (or want) to buy on your trip. A few nice restaurants here too (Tommy Bahamas was great. Very attractive shopping center.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggydavidandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shops at Wailea also viewed

 

Been to The Shops at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing