We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wailea Beach Villas
Certificate of Excellence
newrock
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Ultra luxurious”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I loved the villas, though there were a few frustrations that had nothing to do with the staff or accommodations. Think of this resort as a very high end condo complex with some units that are available for rentals. It's a beautifully landscaped, gated and highly secured community, and the the unit we had was huge and top of the line in every way. Decor, appliances and build quality are top notch. The bed and bedroom were among the most relaxing I've ever had at any resort. The views are great and the complex is directly adjacent to the Weilea shops which include a few good restaurants. The frustrations I noted included the lengthy walk to the beach from the penthouse building, and the pools. The walk is very scenic, but it's at least 1/3 of a mile to the beach. Once there, the beach is fantastic and the staff is great, but it is a long trip. The pools are very attractive as well, but the family pool for anyone under 18 is small and shallow. Very nice when it's empty, but as soon as a few families show up, it gets cozy. Otherwise, this is a stellar resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    19
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
262
40
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Incredible marbled-floored multi-million dollar unit. Spacious carpeted master, with gorgeous bath, and walk in closet. Lovely second bedroom with two twin beds. Fully fitted kitchen, beautifully furnished inside with wonderful balcony with Viking gas grill. However, none of this compensates for the two irreconcilable 'but's': 1) Our penthouse unit is just under a thousand steps to the beach, down a steep hill, including lots of steps (approximately six DOZEN steps), past two pools, out the gate and down more steps. So we are near the beach (there is a distant view from penthouse unit) but not anywhere near the beach. There are some units that are much closer and a small handful that are truly beach villas. 2) And this second issue is why, despite it's loveliness, it is ultimately a "look for something else" property. The pool situation is unforgivable. It doesn't matter how much marble you line the floor with, or how well kept the place is when the"family" pool is three feet deep and fifteen feet wide. It's a kiddie pool! I was so appalled, I asked the front desk if I could bring my two lifeguard certified teenagers to the adult pool, and was rejected because it was 1) against the rules and 2) the 'adult pool' is also only three feet deep (In both pools there was a small corner that was 4 ft deep, but minuscule, because both pools are minuscule.) The first time we tried to go in the "family" pool we had to wait while the father/son duo finished tossing their volleyball to each other. THAT's how small the pool is! Surely there must be a place on Maui that has an actual pool and a kitchen (the kitchen is why we searched for a condo), that's as close to the beach as this place. The last thing to understand is that there is no infrastructure here other than a small workout area. No lobby store, no place for food. It is close to two supermarkets down the road in Kihei, but don't forget anything because you have to go there for everything. It is a shame that the builders didn't match the level of finish of the villas with any services (or a real pool!), because the property is so nicely situated next to the Waimea Shops. and once you finally get to the beach (it a thousand steps DOWN so it's worse coming back), it is a great beach with soft sand, no rocks, and beach staff to situate you with chairs and umbrella. But in the end, at this price point I am simply livid that the establishment opted to cram the place with units rather than build at least one adequate pool. To hammer the last nail in the pool coffin, I should say that anyone putting a pool in their back yard would build one twice as large and twice as deep as the Ocean Beach Villas "family" pool.

Room Tip: If the pool situation doesn't stop you in your tracks, try to get a unit closer to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KBBostonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Beach Villas, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Aloha,
It was so generous of you to rank our resort highly, although our facilities did not meet all your expectations. We were very sorry to hear of the dissatisfaction with our pools since we can clearly see how much that meant to you and your family. While our private villa resort differs from large resort hotels, we hope that you discovered some of the special services offered such as personal grocery shopping; private access to the boutiques, restaurants and art galleries at the Shops at Wailea or our beach shuttle service for guests staying in the upper Penthouse Building. Thank you very much for taking the time to detail your experience since it will help us to prevent similar disappointments in the future.

Mahalo nui loa,

Matt Smith
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Our condo 306 (rented thru vrbo) could have not been more ideal! The condo itself has everything you could want or need. The grounds are immaculate! The staff, especially Tracy, the concierge, could not have been more helpful for any of my requests. Anyone with a family of more than 4 should consider this location! The only thing missing is a bartender on the beach or by the pool! :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the Wailea Beach Villas for 8 nights. We stayed in suites 202,204 and 206. All were great Suites with good views of the water. Lisa and her team and the team at the Front Desk were great and they helped me and my family with all of our needs and wants during our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Beach Villas, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Aloha....It sounds like you had a wonderful family vacation at Wailea Beach Villas. Hopefully you will be able to do it again soon.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I usually stay at a hotel when on vacation but since we were bringing along kids we decided to try out a condo. I read a few reviews before deciding on Wailea Beach Villas. Although the base rate for the condo was pricey when you add up the cost of two hotel rooms (or a big suite) plus all the meals, the condo route definitely comes out on top.

Two trips to Safeway and food was done for the week. Although this may sound corny, I actually did have a good time cooking with the beautiful Pacific Ocean in the background. Housekeeping did the dishes daily which kept the work to a minimum. Don't get me wrong, I was on vacation and we did eat out for dinner twice and two lunches when we went to Hana and the volcano. However, not having to fight teenagers to get out of bed and go to a restaurant for breakfast every morning was definitely worth it.

WBV's were great. Top notch. There are cheaper condo's but you won't beat the furnishing, amenities (fabulous pools) and the location (next to the Grand Wailea and the Four Seasons). The staff treated us very well. On the last day we had a red-eye flight. Check out is at 11 AM but the front desk was kind enough to let us have a late check out. Very considerate.

Highly recommend WBV's. I will be back.

Room Tip: Suites above kids pool can be somewhat noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed for a week with 2 daughters, 13 and 12. We all loved it. You have a private entrance, your own garage parking spot (though narrow), and our place, unit 312, had all the amenities you could ask for. We were BELOW the negative review we read about from unit 512, and well, just have different conclusions. The trucks do come by, but they were pretty much in and out, no big deal. The luau at the Marriott is sort of a hoot....to hear people applauding every once in awhile, and hearing the music was kind of a kick....we could even see part of the fire ending which was cool, and it ends promptly at 8:45. There was even a wedding reception on the roof of the Marriott--maybe this would bother some people, but we just sat out on the lanai, had cocktails and played wedding critics...it was fun.
We did have two issues: once the giant doors did not work, and once the elevator key did not work....both handled immediately by staff.
We went over to both Makena resort, Grand Wailea, and the Westin near Lahaina during our visit. All three reminded us of the good decision we had made. As an aside, their balconies were about 1/10th the size of ours....oh, and ours had a grill....we felt spoiled...
If you want a quiet, private, beautiful place with great views, no crowds and good security, this is the place for you. Our expectations were high, and they were met. Dealing with the owner was very easy.
My daughters loved the upper pool and hot tub and it was never crowded. Most ever there besides us was four people You could sit where you want, anytime of day. Try that at any of the big resorts. Landing a beach chair there and keeping it is a strategy mission. No thanks.
It really did feel like a home away from home. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a corner unit if you can....balcony is twice the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just spent 6 fabulous days at the Wailea Beach Villas. We booked the top floor penthouse and the views were amazing! The penthouse building is closer to the family pool/gym and the "villas" are closer to the beach. The staff was wonderful (Chesha, the manager was great) and the accommodations were pure luxury. We loved that the pools were never crowded and that there was always someone to setup chairs and umbrellas when we were at the beach. The kitchen is FULLY equipped and the viking grill on the lanai was awesome. With two young children, we are so glad that we stayed at the Wailea Beach Villas (we were deciding between WBV or Four Seasons). Great location, direct access to the Shops at Wailea, and convenient parking right outside the elevator that leads to our unit. (Each unit has its own elevator access and assigned parking). We plan to stay here again the next time we're in Maui.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the Marriott seem to be noisier (especially if there is a rooftop event)- so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annjack9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Wailea Beach Villas, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Aloha.....Thank you for posting your review of Wailea Beach Villas. I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,076 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Beach Villas

Property: Wailea Beach Villas
Address: 3800 Wailea Alanui Drive, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wailea Beach Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a world of luxury at the most exclusive beachfront villa resort on Maui, recently voted the #1 Hawaii Resort by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and named a Top 25 US Hotel and one of the Top Resorts in the World. Above the golden sands of Wailea Beach, indulge yourself in the most exquisite villas in all of Wailea. Vacation in sophisticated and stylish two- to five-bedroom exceptionally furnished Penthouse suites and villas with a gourmet kitchen, designer furniture, and a spacious lanai with built-in barbecue. At this luxury resort, immerse yourself in a world of relaxation, without crowds or cares at the adult only beachfront infinity pool with complimentary cabanas for two, and pool attendants that care for your poolside needs. A separate family pool is available for guests traveling with children. A private chef for in-room dining, Concierge level attention and a VIP lei greeting with a personal escort are just a few of the decadent services available. Added values include $155 in resort dining and spa credits at nearby resorts, parking, Wi-Fi internet access, local calls, twice daily housekeeping and preferred rates at Wailea golf courses and tennis center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Wailea Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Beach Villas Hotel Wailea
Wailea Beach Hotel
Wailea Beach Resort
Wailea Beach Villas Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing